18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The Louisiana blackening experience as described by a local Cajun songwriter, "...Paul Prudhomme burnt a fish and it all went through the roof!" lol...and that's the way it is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 11, 2011

This is absolutely AWESOME. The seasoning mix is so great! I have non-stick pans that aren't safe for extreme high heat, so I had to make do with medium-high heat. It still worked just fine, about 4 minutes per side. Next time I will cut down on the seasoning just a little bit, as it got to be overpowering. I think that is due to the fact that my medium-high heat didn't "burn" a lot of it off. Anyways, since my pans are non-stick, I used only 1/2 tsp of oil for my filet, and it was just awesome! This is a favorite for us now, thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear October 17, 2007

The whole family liked this recipe. I served the tilapia on top of Mexican rice. Lime juice was squeezed on the fish rather than lemon as it was what we on-hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoe D. November 18, 2014

I found this to be very simple and a quick dish to make... This is really good with some mango salsa... Additionally, as a reviewer said before... The salt is a bit heavy,.. And I cut back a lil as well as used sea salt... But with the adjusted salt it's super awesome

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nieceytrini November 05, 2014

This was a great way to season fish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover March 01, 2014

Perfect seasoning and cooking time - for medium to thin fillets. Thicker cuts, add 30-45 seconds per side. This is my first time ever cooking fish and it came out better than I get in a seafood restaurant. Bless you digifoo and food.com.<br/>Note - definitely cut down the cayenne if you don't like hot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gregwappelt February 14, 2014

This is the first time I made Blackened Tilapia. It was quick, easy and It turned out very good. We don't like a lot of hot, so only used 1/4 tsp cayenne. Would make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Truffle Lady46 July 22, 2013

This was fantastic. One of the best Tilapia recipes I have ever tasted. I only used 1 tsp of salt instead of 1 Tablespoon and I did not have any celery seeds. Will be making this again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 January 24, 2012

Delicious and easy to make, my husband and I loved this and I will make it often. Thank you for posting this :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon V. Holmes February 08, 2011

This was very very good! Just the right amount of spice and very quick and easy to make! I loved it! This is officially my favorite way to make tilapia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJMarie November 10, 2010
Blackened Tilapia