Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackened Tilapia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackened Tilapia

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2011

      The Louisiana blackening experience as described by a local Cajun songwriter, "...Paul Prudhomme burnt a fish and it all went through the roof!" lol...and that's the way it is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      This is absolutely AWESOME. The seasoning mix is so great! I have non-stick pans that aren't safe for extreme high heat, so I had to make do with medium-high heat. It still worked just fine, about 4 minutes per side. Next time I will cut down on the seasoning just a little bit, as it got to be overpowering. I think that is due to the fact that my medium-high heat didn't "burn" a lot of it off. Anyways, since my pans are non-stick, I used only 1/2 tsp of oil for my filet, and it was just awesome! This is a favorite for us now, thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2014

      The whole family liked this recipe. I served the tilapia on top of Mexican rice. Lime juice was squeezed on the fish rather than lemon as it was what we on-hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2014

      I found this to be very simple and a quick dish to make... This is really good with some mango salsa... Additionally, as a reviewer said before... The salt is a bit heavy,.. And I cut back a lil as well as used sea salt... But with the adjusted salt it's super awesome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      This was a great way to season fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      Perfect seasoning and cooking time - for medium to thin fillets. Thicker cuts, add 30-45 seconds per side. This is my first time ever cooking fish and it came out better than I get in a seafood restaurant. Bless you digifoo and food.com.<br/>Note - definitely cut down the cayenne if you don't like hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      This is the first time I made Blackened Tilapia. It was quick, easy and It turned out very good. We don't like a lot of hot, so only used 1/4 tsp cayenne. Would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      This was fantastic. One of the best Tilapia recipes I have ever tasted. I only used 1 tsp of salt instead of 1 Tablespoon and I did not have any celery seeds. Will be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      Delicious and easy to make, my husband and I loved this and I will make it often. Thank you for posting this :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      This was very very good! Just the right amount of spice and very quick and easy to make! I loved it! This is officially my favorite way to make tilapia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      This is now my FAVORITE way to make tilapia filets. It's so good. I've had it over a cesar salad and as an open face sandwich with tarter sauce. I LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      This was a really amazing recipe, I didnt have oregeno so I added parsely and didn't have celery salt so added a little old bay seasoning. The result was absolutely delicious and incredibly simple to prepare. I served this with plain basmati rice and butter - what a great weeknight meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Delicious and so easy. Husband absolutely loved it, although a little too spicy for young children.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This recipe is awesome! I was able to find blackened seasoning at my grocery store, it was perfect. This was my first try at pan-frying fish, I bought the Tilapia filets fresh, they were very crisp and flavorful, this will be a regular meal in my home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Very yummy and super easy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      the seasoning goes great with other fish too, i followed the recipe the first time, the second time I used it on salmon and baked it, both we great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      I just mad this dish. The season mix was very good. The one table of vegetable oil in the pan was not enough for me. I had to cook two pcs at a time. This may have been the problem. Overall the dish was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      I just made this for the third time and really should have commented before this. It is excellent! My husband and teenager cheer when they know I am making this. I have even mixed up a batch of the seasoning to keep in my lazy susan so I can make it often and cut down on the time. I didn't have white pepper so omitted that. Great fish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackened Tilapia

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.3
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    32%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 56.7 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1809.2 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 24.1 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites