Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackened Redfish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackened Redfish

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2011

      Caught fresh redfish in Perdido Bay and used this recipe to feed it to the extended family when we returned from the coast. My mother-in-law said it was some of the best fish she had ever had. This coupled with Paula Deen's Southern Crabcakes for an appetizer.....truly amazing. Serving it up again tonight for some friends. Check-out the photos of both that we took. I will have to add her recipe if it is not already online. Also may add her tartar sauce recipie which goes nice with this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I made this reciped with very minimal changes. I didn't have any white pepper so I used mustard powder instead. I also used salted butter and the final product was just a little to salty. Like the recipe said, the most important part is the supper hot pan. The rub created this great crust on the outside leaving the inside moist

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      This is a winner!!! After reading the review from the member who made the dish and then had a guest BUY his cooking kit, leftovers and all, I decided that this was the recipe I was looking for. All I can say is wow!!! First time I made this I used tilapia. All my wife could do was tell me how "wonderful" the fish was. Second time I made it I adjusted the salt and cayenne in the seasoning mix to my taste and made it for company. A huge hit. No offers to buy my pan, yet, but this is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Well Dreamgoddess, you beat me to it! The first time I made this recipe it was to see what all the hipe was about, "Blackened Redfish!" Well, armed with a bottle of Chef Paul Prudhomme's "Blackened Redfish Magic" I was off to the back yard.(You can't do this indoors) I followed the directions to a tee. Absolutley the best fish I ever ate, bar none, still. The second time I made this, was for a swim party for about 30 people. I used striper, common in Texas lakes. It was so good, a guy bought my pan, my rig, the left over fish and the seasoning I had left over, everything I came to the party with, except my wife and my truck. He paid me enough to improve my rig from good, to awesome. So, it works, just follow Chef Paul's directions in his seasoning package. I must add, however, I did find a few things besides following the directions that you "must" do. Have the pan white hot, and have the fish at room temperature. I didn't have the fish at room tempeature one time and I fought the process. Try it! I think you too will agree it is the best fish "YOU" ever ate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

    • on August 04, 2006

      I don't use quite as much butter when I make this, but it's still very good. The blackening seasoning is a good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      Just some info - this recipe appears in Paul Prudhomme's Louisianna Kitchen, so you Know it's going to be great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Oh, this was so good! I am a wimp when it comes to hot spicy, so I only put in a pinch of cayenne, left out the white pepper(don't have any).I halved the recipe, using tilapia. Loved it! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      Another great blackening seasoning. (And I thought I was the only one who likes my fish on extra butter!!) Here's a tip if you are lucky enough to have a fisherman in the house. If you freeze your redfish for later use, leave the skin on. Helps to ID the fish (oops I thawed the sea trout!!) And if you don't have a food sealer, freeze in a Ziplock with water to cover the fish. This makes an ice block around the fish that prevents freezer burn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackened Redfish

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 651.8
     
    Calories from Fat 504
    77%
    Total Fat 56.0 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 31.4 g
    157%
    Cholesterol 248.7 mg
    82%
    Sodium 1125.2 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 35.6 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes