Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackened Hot Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackened Hot Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2010

      Perfect blackened chicken. A really hot skillet is a must for this....I used an old cast iron skillet that belonged to my grandmother. The chicken was so moist and flavorful, with a nice crispy, spicy coating on the outside. I loved this, and I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      I liked this blackened chicken- it was perfectly seasoned. I didn't use the melted butter though, but it still turned out fine. The chicken was tender and the blackened crust that formed on the outside was great. I served this on top of mashed sweet potatoes, and the two dishes really went well together. [Made & Reviewed for PRMR]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Simple to make and delicious. This will make its encore as an addition to my salad for my lunch at work tomorrow. Thanks, Noo! Made for Best of 2011 Cookbook tag game as recommended by alligirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

    • on September 15, 2011

      This was a great success! Came out tender, juicy and flavorful!
      It was really and light! I've completed this with a yogurt sauce (plain yougurt, coriander ground, garlic powder, pepper and salt) and whole wheat penne.
      With this recipe you will make your family happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      This is so good and easy/quick. DH, DD (toddler) and I enjoyed it. I definitely used the melted butter (unsalted), garlic salt, to taste as that is what I had on hand, I fried some onion on the side of the chicken in my cast iron pan which worked well instead of adding onion powder which I did not have, I used cayenne pepper to taste, no additional salt because of using garlic salt, no white pepper, freshly ground black pepper, and marjoram in place of dried thyme per preference. I served this with a tasty rice dish, yogurt with a bit of sea salt added, and a fresh salad. I will definitely make this again as a quick meal. Made for, Please Review My Recipe: from 10 July 2011 ~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Yum - you don't get any easier or tastier than this! Great combination of spices, great dinner on the table in minutes - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      I so love blackened chicken and this one was great! Spicy and crispy on the outside, and moist inside. Not sure how life gets any better than this. Thanks Noo for an awesome meal. This has now become a favorite with my grandson. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Great chicken!!! I used bone-in chicken breast and blackened them on a hot pan and finished them off in a hot oven. I did not use any butter, but brushed the chicken lightly with oil before sprinkling on the spice mix. The chicken was booming with flavour and oh so juicy. I for sure will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      This recipe is going straight into my "best of the best" file! Excellent, spicy chicken and sooooooo easy! This is an instant favorite for us. I used a cast iron pan, no need to oil it because of the melted butter drizzled atop the chicken. When the chicken was done, I sliced it up and served it over a green salad. We loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      I smoked up my house and I'm SOOOOO glad! We really thought this blackening seasoning was 'da bomb'! It was HOT, though that was OK with us....just how we like it! I used butter in the pan (cast iron), but didn't use on the chicken breasts, and I feel like the seasoning adhered to the chicken fine without the extra butter...I didn't slice my breast, but rather pounded it out fairly thin, reducing my cook time. The breast turned out juicy and tender on the inside and spicy/crusty on the outside! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Noo. I know your seasoning will be my 'go-to' for blackening mix! Made for Best of 2010 'tag game.'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      Mixture gives plain chicken great flavor! We did ours on the grill and served with steamed green beans for a healthy summer-time meal. Would make again! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This is a very easy recipe to make, so please don't past it by. Wow, what a great spicy recipe for chicken! DD and I loved it. The only thing I may change next time will be to use only 1/2 teaspoon salt. Alright maybe two things, but this is only for my tender mouth DH and that would be use less cayenne pepper but only for him. Thank you so much for sharing this fantastic recipe!!! I'm going to make extra of the rub and keep it on hand. Made for *Please Review My Recipe 2010* game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Mmm, delicious. I skipped all the butter and blackened in 1 tbs olive oil. I used half smoked paprika. I also reduced the cayenne as I made a fairly spicy pico with cucumber.to top the chicken. A keeper, healthy and easy, will make often. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      Love the spiciness of this recipe. I used chicken tenderloins and instead of butter I sprayed them with "I can't believe it's not butter". This is perfect for a quick meal. I only made enough chicken for two but made the full amount of rub. Now I can make these for another couple really quick meals. Thanks for posting a keeper. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      One of my favorites! This is so easy and makes such a great meal. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Loved this. Other than cutting the cumin to 1/8 tsp (DH only likes a pinch lately) I made this as directed. Perfect blend of spices. Can't wait to have the leftovers for my Spinach Salad at work. Made for PRMR :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      I adore any food with the taste of a southern drawl. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackened Hot Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.4
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    47%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 674.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 30.6 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes