18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfect blackened chicken. A really hot skillet is a must for this....I used an old cast iron skillet that belonged to my grandmother. The chicken was so moist and flavorful, with a nice crispy, spicy coating on the outside. I loved this, and I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 03, 2010

I liked this blackened chicken- it was perfectly seasoned. I didn't use the melted butter though, but it still turned out fine. The chicken was tender and the blackened crust that formed on the outside was great. I served this on top of mashed sweet potatoes, and the two dishes really went well together. [Made & Reviewed for PRMR]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer April 15, 2013

Simple to make and delicious. This will make its encore as an addition to my salad for my lunch at work tomorrow. Thanks, Noo! Made for Best of 2011 Cookbook tag game as recommended by alligirl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 30, 2012

This was a great success! Came out tender, juicy and flavorful!
It was really and light! I've completed this with a yogurt sauce (plain yougurt, coriander ground, garlic powder, pepper and salt) and whole wheat penne.
With this recipe you will make your family happy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde September 15, 2011

This is so good and easy/quick. DH, DD (toddler) and I enjoyed it. I definitely used the melted butter (unsalted), garlic salt, to taste as that is what I had on hand, I fried some onion on the side of the chicken in my cast iron pan which worked well instead of adding onion powder which I did not have, I used cayenne pepper to taste, no additional salt because of using garlic salt, no white pepper, freshly ground black pepper, and marjoram in place of dried thyme per preference. I served this with a tasty rice dish, yogurt with a bit of sea salt added, and a fresh salad. I will definitely make this again as a quick meal. Made for, Please Review My Recipe: from 10 July 2011 ~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat July 29, 2011

Yum - you don't get any easier or tastier than this! Great combination of spices, great dinner on the table in minutes - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof May 12, 2011

I so love blackened chicken and this one was great! Spicy and crispy on the outside, and moist inside. Not sure how life gets any better than this. Thanks Noo for an awesome meal. This has now become a favorite with my grandson. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme April 19, 2011

Great chicken!!! I used bone-in chicken breast and blackened them on a hot pan and finished them off in a hot oven. I did not use any butter, but brushed the chicken lightly with oil before sprinkling on the spice mix. The chicken was booming with flavour and oh so juicy. I for sure will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini March 22, 2011

This recipe is going straight into my "best of the best" file! Excellent, spicy chicken and sooooooo easy! This is an instant favorite for us. I used a cast iron pan, no need to oil it because of the melted butter drizzled atop the chicken. When the chicken was done, I sliced it up and served it over a green salad. We loved this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 11, 2011
Blackened Hot Chicken