8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious and reminds me of the cutest riddle: Q: What's the difference between Cajun zoos and other zoos? A: In front of each exhibit, other zoos have a plaque with the name of the animals, its habitat, etc. Cajun zoos have a plaque with the name of the animal---and its recipe. (It's a riddle...just a riddle.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 18, 2011

The seasoning is the best that I have tried! The fish turned out great, I used Walleye. I tried the leftover seasoning on the outside of a Prime Rib Roast after a gentle Rub with EVO, it turned out Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave of Tucson January 24, 2014

This was just fantastic! I added half smoked paprika and actually doubled the cumin, because I love it. I will be making this again and again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barrdbarrbarr August 11, 2013

Fantastic! I tried it on tilapia, think I'll do chicken breasts next. Thank you for an excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thedixongang July 12, 2011

This spice mix is excellent! I have used it a couple of times now on mahi-mahi. I was very happy with the taste, perfect amount of salt and heat. My husband is not much of a fish eater and he loved it! I plan on using this mix to blacken chicken and tofu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoxieMama February 13, 2008

I did not actually prepare the fish as instructed but I did use the spice blend. It was excellent! The only change I made was to use oregano since we don't like thyme.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeenzCPA February 08, 2008

I wish I could give this more than five stars! I used the rub on two fillets, and I wish I'd made more. It really was the perfect blend of flavours with a nice level of spice. This is going into my Zaar favourites file for sure. Thanks AniSarit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz January 10, 2008

I am rating this recipe on the taste of the rub only. We made the rub for some snapper we had gotten (neither of us have ever eaten snapper before). We thought that the recipe was easy to follow and it was a breeze to sprinkle the fish and we grilled it. I have to say that the flavor/texture of snapper is just not for us and we don't plan on ever eating it again, but we liked the rub so much that we plan to use it on chicken, and my husband also used it to season some turkey burgers that he grilled last night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly January 07, 2008
Blackened Fish