29 Reviews

5 stars for giving me an awesome idea! I think chili powder with just salt, and pepper is too plain. There's a ground turkey I make where I add a whole mess of spices, including dried oregano, cumin, tumeric, garlic, and onion powder, and garlic salt. I rubbed all that including the chili powder, salt and pepper, and it was amazzzinnnggg. Didn't make the salsa the recipe says. Just made a basic one with tomatoes, red onion, yellow bell pepper, lime juice, and some cilantro. Served it with some brown rice and avocado slices!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilet Maria Reyes May 14, 2015

This was a great recipe for a new mom to make. I have a two week old baby, husband was still working and mom was napping. I was still able to put this together easily and it was delicious. I added cumin to the spice blend and a tiny bit of cayenne pepper. Delicious. Had to simmer the chicken a little longer to get them cooked through.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy March 30, 2010

Excellent dish! Instead of rubbing my chicken with the seasoning, I rubbed it with taco seasoning. Oh, I also used chicken tenders instead. The dish was very pretty and tasty. Hubby said I could have made it without the chicken and it still would have been great. Next I plan to cut chicken up in bit sized pieces after it has been cooked, then through the beans/corn/salsa mixture on top and toss it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyMonteiro May 08, 2009

This was just ok for us. I made exactly as written but I just didn't think it had a lot of flavor. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coastiehoney October 25, 2013

Great recipe! Easy, quick, and most of these things can be found in your pantry- no need to run to the store. I used olive oil instead of canola oil, and added some Tabasco to the beans and corn. Thanks for the delicious recipe! Will make this again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fifi La Beefy June 22, 2010

Five stars for ease and eatability. I had this on the table in probably fifteen minutes and my kids did not protest any more than they usually do when something new shows up on the table. The younger one actually said "I don't mind if there's corn in this."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noejas March 09, 2010

This is a great go-to recipe for an easy, healthy, yummy dinner! I am making it for the second time tonight! I used canned corn the first time but tonight I'll use frozen. Love the flavor, may use just a little less chili powder and add a little cumin. Thank you for the recipe, its now a favorite of ours!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karamia August 31, 2009

Wonderful Recipe Quick and Easy Served w/ some brown rice. Great weeknight meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rach Court January 22, 2009

This is a fantastic recipe. It has all of the thing that I look for during the week: quick, simple, basic ingredient, and great flavor. I made pretty much as is. I did add a little bit of cumin to the rub and after blackening it put it covered in the oven to finish cooking. I returned the chicken to the pan with the beans, corn and salsa and simmered for another 7-10 minutes. The flavors all blended and created an amazing dish. THANK YOU!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmoseley January 20, 2009
Blackened Chicken and Beans