Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackened Chicken and Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackened Chicken and Beans

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2010

      This was a great recipe for a new mom to make. I have a two week old baby, husband was still working and mom was napping. I was still able to put this together easily and it was delicious. I added cumin to the spice blend and a tiny bit of cayenne pepper. Delicious. Had to simmer the chicken a little longer to get them cooked through.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Excellent dish! Instead of rubbing my chicken with the seasoning, I rubbed it with taco seasoning. Oh, I also used chicken tenders instead. The dish was very pretty and tasty. Hubby said I could have made it without the chicken and it still would have been great. Next I plan to cut chicken up in bit sized pieces after it has been cooked, then through the beans/corn/salsa mixture on top and toss it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2013

      This was just ok for us. I made exactly as written but I just didn't think it had a lot of flavor. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Great recipe! Easy, quick, and most of these things can be found in your pantry- no need to run to the store. I used olive oil instead of canola oil, and added some Tabasco to the beans and corn. Thanks for the delicious recipe! Will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Five stars for ease and eatability. I had this on the table in probably fifteen minutes and my kids did not protest any more than they usually do when something new shows up on the table. The younger one actually said "I don't mind if there's corn in this."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This is a great go-to recipe for an easy, healthy, yummy dinner! I am making it for the second time tonight! I used canned corn the first time but tonight I'll use frozen. Love the flavor, may use just a little less chili powder and add a little cumin. Thank you for the recipe, its now a favorite of ours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Wonderful Recipe Quick and Easy Served w/ some brown rice. Great weeknight meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This is a fantastic recipe. It has all of the thing that I look for during the week: quick, simple, basic ingredient, and great flavor. I made pretty much as is. I did add a little bit of cumin to the rub and after blackening it put it covered in the oven to finish cooking. I returned the chicken to the pan with the beans, corn and salsa and simmered for another 7-10 minutes. The flavors all blended and created an amazing dish. THANK YOU!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Fantastic! I had to make a few changes due to what ingredients I had in: used a fajita seasoning mix to coat the chicken (which I cut into bitsize pieces to make it go further!) I also sauteed 1 red pepper finely diced and 1 red onion roughly chopped once I had removed the chicken to keep warm and before I added the salsa (mild) and beans. Used a can of mixed beans in a spicy mexican tomato sauce. Absolutely divine served over brown rice. Will definitely make this again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This was a really simple low-fat dinner. Great for when you are trying to watch the calories and the fat. There was a lot of flavor and it was a nice change from grilled chicken. I will definately make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I needed a super easy dinner using things we have on hand. This was perfect! I used Prudhomme's blackened seasoning instead because that's our favorite. This was healthy and very filling too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      This is a fantastic recipe! I love the mix of the beans, corn, and salsa. I enjoyed this with Restaurant Style Mexican Rice. Thanks for the recipe! I have made this twice and will continue to enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Everything it's advertised to be. I added some red bell pepper and used a mango chipotle sauce. You can do this one in 20 minutes, easily. I served this with toast with melted Monterey Jack cheese and a dollop of Greek yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Tasty, visually appealing, inexpensive...great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      This was very good. I also added spices to the spice rub just for personal preference. Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      I was looking for a change when I came across this recipe. This was wonderful and ever so easy. The changes I did (as you know all us Zaar people just must change something) is that I used chicken tenders and to the chili powder I added a dry chipotle seasoning and garlic powder as well for the rub as we love it spicy. I didn't have any home made salsa on hand so I used (which is great by the way) Joe T's medium salsa (the hot is excellent but felt it may be too much for some of the ones having the meal). Thanks for this easy tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This is easy and delicious. My whole family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This is amazing, quick and so easy to make. I served this with Pico de Gallo and a dollop of sour cream and everyone loved it! Definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      This dish was quite good. The recipe couldn't BE any easier! I used a cast-iron skillet to achieve more of a blackened quality that other cookware cannot. Served it with steamed buttery brown rice. This would be great for a weeknight meal when you might not feel like doing much in the way of dinner prep. Thank you, SweetySJD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      WOW WOW and WOW! This couldn't be any better! I made this for dinner last night and it was just as tasty as our expensive dinner the night before at a fancy restaurant! I used mild salsa and added a little bit of cajun seasoning to it...it was PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackened Chicken and Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.7
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    16%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 68.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 625.6 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 36.4 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites