13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe had the kick we were looking for!!It was esy to follow.thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spanish_Barbie March 10, 2004

Just what I was looking for. I wanted to make blackened chicken to go on top of my alfredo and this worked perfectly. I reduced the salt to 1 Tbs and cooked the chicken on the grill to keep the smoke out of the house. Thanks for a great recipe that I can use again and again - I put the leftovers into a spice bottle for next time. Should last us a while!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veatergal July 12, 2009

this was great I bought the blackened season already mixed and did hit it with a little liquid smoke, so it would taste like it came off the grill. My kids told me it was the best chicken ever. My husband ate until he got sick. Will make again thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtney Bailey April 23, 2009

Yum, yum, yum! After reading other reviews, I cut the salt back by half, and it tasted great. I did add about 1/4 c hot sauce to the butter, but didn't drizzle the additional butter on both sides of the chicken as it was cooking. I was trying to mimic the sandwiches at one of our favorite bar and grills here, so I added 2 tsp butter to the pan after removing the chicken, tossed in some thinly sliced green pepper and onion and sauteed it, scraping up some of the crusted black goodies from the pan as I did. I toasted Kaiser rolls, placed the chicken on, topped with provel cheese, stuck it under the broiler until the cheese was melted and then topped with a good helping of the onions and peppers with lettuce, tomato, pickle on the side. Only change I will make next time is to cut back on the cumin just slightly, and use smoked paprika. But this was just fantastic. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eknecht March 09, 2009

Loved the seasoning! The spice factor was perfect - a little too much salt ... but I measured by eye, so probably my fault. Delicious .... and yes, my smoke alarm went off. My boyfriend found it hilarious.... Served on an onion roll with lettuce, tomato, red onion and mayo. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
likethebird January 18, 2009

Ok it was a bit to spicy for me but I loved it and so did my fiance. Next time I'll use less black pepper. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sica January 17, 2009

Great seasoning mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea February 03, 2008

This was a very good seasoning mix. I thought it might be a bit strong to rub directly on the chicken so I threw it in the blender with some bread crumbs and used the mix as a fried chicken dredge. It was fantastic, but a bit salty. I will make it again, but next time I'll cut the salt to 1tbls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShanWho July 31, 2007

I am not a cook, but wanted something to go with some red beans & rice (Zattirans out of box - I know, I know), and thought I would look for a Blackened Chicken Recipe. This was delicious and so easy even for me. I thank you very much for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoCookDonna August 16, 2005

This was very good. I did put the blackened seasoning on both sides. I thought this may have been a little much. Very tasty though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KingJackQueen April 27, 2005
Blackened Chicken