Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackened Catfish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackened Catfish

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2012

      I loved the flavor of this. I would have been disappointed had it not been spicy. It was just right. The only thing is that I found it difficult not to burn the outside of the fish to a crisp had I left it in the pan for the recommended time. Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I thought this was a good recipe. I generally like spicy things, but I thought 1 tsp was just a bit much for the rub. If I make this again, I would reduce it to 3/4 tsp. Thanks for posting, it was first time cooking catfish, easy and yummy. EDIT: I used the leftover catfish in burritos the next day and they were great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Out of the catfish world! Nice bite, but not too much. We have a glasstop stove, so I cooked in a hot skillet for the cooking time suggested. Delish. Made for an Epicurean Queen for ZWT5. My pic isn't as nice as nimz, so I'll just post to the forum. Will certainly make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      This was my first try at blackened catfish, and the 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper concerned me. So, to be sure my lips wouldn't catch fire, I only used 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne. Which turned out to be perfect for us. We have so much catfish on hand, and this is going to be a great alternative to the fried we have always had before. Thanks PaulaG for the recipe and great directions. Made for ZWT5 for the Saucy Senoritas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      This was good, but I, too, thought it was too spicy. My husband, who I can't usually over-spice, agreed that they were too spicy. I'll cut back on the cayenne as well next time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Really great! Easy to do either on the grill or stovetop. Nice heat, but not too much. Served with tomato jam and was out of this world! Will be trying this on shrimp and chicken, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I thought it was good but a little too spicy...we had to scrape off some of the seasoning after it cooked to eat it. I think I will cut back on the cayenne pepper next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      Just the way we like it. My husband loved this! Very tasty, very easy, nice and spicy. What more can you want? Thank you for posting a great recipe. ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      this was real good, but next time I will cut back on the cayenne pepper. I didn't heat my skillet upside down either, but got it hot right side up. Try it, you'll like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      I made this on Christmas eve. It was delicious. Then I made it again yesterday and the only thing is I rubbed the salt on the catfish before adding the seasonings. Very easy to make. Low calorie. Just delicious. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      OMG this was fantastic. Loved the combination of spices and the cooking technique was right on for us. (Did get the house a little smokey but that was okay) thanks so much Paula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      Fantabulous! This was very easy and tasty! It went together fast with little fuss and muss! My fave kind of recipe for a weeknight! I caught the fish myself so I wanted a special recipe for it! IT was a HUGE catfish that lived in our tank (pond). This recipe was the perfect choice. It came out perfectly and had a wonderful combination of seasoning that was just right! I would not change a single thing! Thanks for sharing this with all of us Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      I absolutely loved this recipe. I added basil,lemon pepper and a dash or two of seasoning salt to the seasonings and I squeezed a slice of lemon over catfish while in the cast iron skillet along with more melted butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      This was a great recipe. Instead of catfish, I used salmon and shrimp. I have been looking everywhere for a blackened seasoning recipe and I've finally found the best! With the shrimp, I add butter and olive oil to the skillet and then the seasoning. I then tossed in the shrimp. we soak up the seasoning with toasted garlic bread. YUM!! We've cooked this recipe many times already.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackened Catfish

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.0
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    57%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 62.2 mg
    20%
    Sodium 405.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 18.1 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites