15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As a chilehead, I truly enjoyed this dish not only for its taste but for its simplicity. Most likely, I'll be making a big batch of this rub to have at the ready for future meals. My one change might be to add a little oregano or thyme (or both) to the spice blend to create a little more dimension in the rub. Right now it's just heat and heat alone. Also for others making this dish, consider pounding your butterflying your chicken so that it's fully cooked in the time suggested. I neglected to do this initially and and had to split the breasts 1/2 way through the cooking to prevent it from incinerating or getting too dried out. I prepared mine in a cast iron skillet (nothing better) and served it with a baked sweet potato and collard greens for southern comfort meal. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni December 01, 2005

Truly a great seasoning. My whole family loved it! Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bow Down October 23, 2013

I really enjoyed this chicken. I had blackened chicken in Charleston, SC a while ago and thought that this was so similar to what I was served. Thanks for a new great way to make chicken with ingredients that I have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carrie g in south eastern north carolina December 03, 2009

My husband wanted this for dinner, so I let him at it. It turned out pretty good, and he said it was really simple to make. It seemed even spicier the next day. We wil be making again, but maybe add a little less spice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KillerTasteBuds March 21, 2008

This was a pretty good blackened recipe. BEWARE! Cooking this one will not only blacken the chicken, but your kitchen, living room & neighbors! As mentioned by another reviewer, might add something else for dimension next time I cook it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beachbum7786 February 03, 2007

My family and I loved this recipe! We used Pam cooking spray instead of the oil and it still worked out just fine. We also used nonfat sour cream in the topping and that was great too. Thank you for a quick to prepare, spicy, and delicious addition to my recipe collection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracykuz January 27, 2007

Can it be true that no one has reviewed this wonderful recipe since 2005? This is the one of the best ways I've ever made chicken breasts. They're spicy without overpowering the flavor, very healthy and extremely easy to prepare. My husband, who loves chicken breasts, gave these two thumbs up! We've been trying to eat healthier without sacrificing taste and this recipe manages to do that for us. I had two very large breasts (ahem) and the spices were just enough. Also used a grill pan which gave it some fancy grill marks. I subbed plain lowfat yogurt for the sour cream, and mmmmmmmm was it good. Even better? Today I put the leftovers (told you they were large) on a bun with yogurt and cilantro...AWESOME. My poor husband was supposed to eat it for his lunch today, but he forgot it and I lucked out. Thanks, thanks, thanks for this great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 January 12, 2007

Absolutely delicious, wonderful combination of spices! My whole family loves this simple-to-make chicken so much that it's become a regular dinner staple at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lparmoc October 07, 2005

My husband could not get enough of this chicken. He LOVES spicy food and it was one of the first times he said it was hot enough. He was excited he had some to take to work the next day... and he has requested that I make it again on a regular basis! Thanks!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` September 17, 2005
Blackened Boneless Chicken Breasts