8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful recipe! I have made it several times. I've also made it using strawberry wine and jello. It was just as good, if not better! I'm about to try it with peach! I also have to add more powdered sugar, and use less wine in the glaze.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tilleylail June 17, 2009

A great cake. I used StJames blackberry wine. I think St James wines are the best wines that you can buy. It put this cake over the top. I used pecans because that is what I had on hand. A company cake for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mr gene April 06, 2006

My husband tried a piece of Blackberry Wine Cake at a farm auction. He came home and told me to try to make one. I made this one. He loved it. Will be sure to make it again... Thanks for posting this recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lillbit April 15, 2011

Have made this cake several times and get rave reviews. I leave out the nuts as a personal preference. cake comes out the same every time. I get asked to make it for bake sales and school functions all the time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srhp69 February 13, 2009

This is the same recipe I use. My daughters just love it; they requested it for their birthday one year (they're triplets). The color is just awesome--amazing to see a cake that deep color! The glaze is a necessary component, don't omit it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie August 17, 2008

This is a fantastic cake--I baked it for my Aunt's birthday and everyone raved!! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaGrl May 16, 2007

Dreamgoddess, you are bad, you made me eat 2 pieces of this. LOL. My step mom had given me a bottle of blackberry wine (and it was Mogan David, I coudln't believe it). I dont drink wine, but I ran across this recipe. I had to use black cherry Jello. I added quite a bit of powdered sugar to the glaze to make a thick glaze. I got two cakes out of the one bottle of wine. It is such a pretty cake. I will be making this again. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right February 12, 2007

Never tasted the cake but it must of being good as my son made this for a bundt cake cook off and won second place.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texasmom61 December 27, 2006
Blackberry Wine Cake