Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackberry Sour Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackberry Sour Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      It is blackberry season here in Oregon so I thought I would try this recipe. This did not work very well as a pie. The sour cream does not mix with the berries during baking, so you end up with a some very juicy berries on bottom and a soaked crust. The top part is good where the berries and sour cream mix and the crumbs on top are really a nice touch. Probably best to mix berries and sour cream before adding them to the pie shell. Adding corn starch rather than flour would probably work better as well. I used a standard pie crust, this might work best with a graham cracker crust instead. All in all, this recipe needs a bit of work but should be worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      This pie is out of this world! My berries are a bit juicier tha normal and I will need to add a bit more flour next time. I wonder if this would freeze well?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      I made this pie for a family reunion and it was gone in a flash. I used fresh blackberries. I increased the flour to 5 tablespoons and added two tablespoons of cornstarch. It was not runny at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      I make this recipe with blueberries. I found it in "The Southern Living Cookbook". I love it. It works perfectly for me every time, though sometimes, I reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup if the blueberries are extremely ripe and sweet. I do always use fresh blueberries. My elderly next door neighbor asked me for the recipe--only recipe of mine that she ever asked for--that's a true compliment in my book!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Didn't have that many blackberries, but proceeded with this, anyway. My husband said that it's easy to take great ingredients and make something good, but that I took good ingredients and made something great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

    • on March 25, 2010

      At first I thought, "Sour cream in a pie? You must be mad!" but it was delicious! I used 7 tablespoons of flour, combined the sour cream mixture and blackberries, and ended up cooking it for an hour. I was told that my pie, "tasted like heaven!" Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Yes, the pie needed some work,but after my changes was delicious and out of this world.My neighbors told me ,they never had eaten such a good pie. I first added 3/4 cup of the sugar and 3 Tabl.of tapioca to the blackberries ( once I used half blackberries and half strawberries)and after mixing the berries,sugar and tapioca, I let them ,sit for 15 minutes,to soften the tapioca. I mixed the sour cream with the rest of the sugar (1/4 cup) and added the flour and salt and a little of juice from the berries. I put the berries into the pie crust,put the sour cream mixture on top of the berries. I mixed the bread crumbs,2 Tbls.of sugar and butter and sprinkled it on top. I think I had to bake the pie for on hour. I made the pie already three times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2003

      I would add "pie shell" to ingredients list, as well as what kind of pie shell (standard, pre-baked, graham cracker, etc.) Recipe looks good, but I haven't tried it yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackberry Sour Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (1291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2766.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1090
    39%
    Total Fat 121.1 g
    186%
    Saturated Fat 49.0 g
    245%
    Cholesterol 150.1 mg
    50%
    Sodium 2007.9 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 406.5 g
    135%
    Dietary Fiber 38.9 g
    155%
    Sugars 262.9 g
    1051%
    Protein 29.9 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites