22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this about a dozen times now & it's perfect every time. I have tried it with blackberries, pitted cherries, strawberries & blueberries...they all work beautifully. Fresh or frozen too. The last few times I have let it cook for about 5 mins longer as it creates this gorgeous chewy strudel like texture - yummo! Also great with vanilla ice-cream, cream, or custard. I would recommend this to everyone! Thank you for providing the recipe...it's become a regular weekly highlight in our home. :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tarte February 26, 2010

Fabulous, easy, and I had all the ingredients on hand. I used 2 c. frozen blackberries and the whole family devoured it :) (edited to say: this is pretty much foolproof. The second time I made, I forgot the second 1/2c. of sugar, so I topped with sifted powdered sugar once it cooled--still delicious! Also, used 1c. blackberries and 1c. cherries--still delicious!!)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honey Bee T May 01, 2010

What a great recipe for a quick fruit pudding cake, I used a mix of blueberries and raspberries and it was delicious, will try it with blackberries next time :) thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonya/art October 04, 2013

It's August on the Canadian west coast and the walking path near my home is dripping with ripe blackberries. After making blackberry jam I was looking for something sweet n easy and came upon this recipe.<br/>The only changes I made were to use organic coconut sugar. I did not use all of the 1/2 c. of sugar used at the end ... perhaps 1/4 - 1/3 c. and it was plenty sweet enough altho my berries were very ripe and sweet. *note: blackberries do not continue to ripen once picked.<br/>Also in addition to the vanilla I added some organic almond extract. I just made it for the second time this week and added lemon extract ... both complimented the blackberries.<br/>The only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 is that I know there are blackberry pudding cake recipes out there that are not as easy but "might" be tastier? <br/>I thought the adding of boiling water at the end was strange but it comes out beautifully. This recipe is a keeper for it's sheer simplicity and taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
addicted2food August 06, 2013

I liked that this was a low-fat dessert and I know that the "pudding" part is what differentiates it from most cobblers; however, I didn't like the texture that the water created. It just seemed like it wasn't done (and I cooked it for 40 minutes). The overall flavor was pretty good, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech May 29, 2011

this was wonderful, easy and quick! I followed the instructions and it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
easpurk June 16, 2009

This was a good, easy dessert to make. Nothing pudding-like about it though! The "cake" part was a bit odd in the texture. I served it with homemade whipped cream and everyone said it would be a great breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newmama March 28, 2009

Great cobbler-like dessert! Quick to fix, lowfat, and super yummy. Used frozen blackberries with great results. Will use this recipe again and again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama August 27, 2007

What a great recipe!!! I had a 1/2 pint of blackberries that needed attention, so I halved the recipe and omigoodness I could have eaten the entire plate in one sitting! I will definately be making this again soon! Thank you for posting! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasey'sMom July 20, 2007

WOW! This was super easy and very tasty! The name fooled me a little, because I was expecting it to be more creamy and pudding-like. But it turned out more like a cobbler --- a delicious cobbler! Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janny7 July 16, 2007
Blackberry Pudding Cake