Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackberry Pudding Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackberry Pudding Cake

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2010

      I have made this about a dozen times now & it's perfect every time. I have tried it with blackberries, pitted cherries, strawberries & blueberries...they all work beautifully. Fresh or frozen too. The last few times I have let it cook for about 5 mins longer as it creates this gorgeous chewy strudel like texture - yummo! Also great with vanilla ice-cream, cream, or custard. I would recommend this to everyone! Thank you for providing the recipe...it's become a regular weekly highlight in our home. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Fabulous, easy, and I had all the ingredients on hand. I used 2 c. frozen blackberries and the whole family devoured it :) (edited to say: this is pretty much foolproof. The second time I made, I forgot the second 1/2c. of sugar, so I topped with sifted powdered sugar once it cooled--still delicious! Also, used 1c. blackberries and 1c. cherries--still delicious!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      What a great recipe for a quick fruit pudding cake, I used a mix of blueberries and raspberries and it was delicious, will try it with blackberries next time :) thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      It's August on the Canadian west coast and the walking path near my home is dripping with ripe blackberries. After making blackberry jam I was looking for something sweet n easy and came upon this recipe.<br/>The only changes I made were to use organic coconut sugar. I did not use all of the 1/2 c. of sugar used at the end ... perhaps 1/4 - 1/3 c. and it was plenty sweet enough altho my berries were very ripe and sweet. *note: blackberries do not continue to ripen once picked.<br/>Also in addition to the vanilla I added some organic almond extract. I just made it for the second time this week and added lemon extract ... both complimented the blackberries.<br/>The only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 is that I know there are blackberry pudding cake recipes out there that are not as easy but "might" be tastier? <br/>I thought the adding of boiling water at the end was strange but it comes out beautifully. This recipe is a keeper for it's sheer simplicity and taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      I liked that this was a low-fat dessert and I know that the "pudding" part is what differentiates it from most cobblers; however, I didn't like the texture that the water created. It just seemed like it wasn't done (and I cooked it for 40 minutes). The overall flavor was pretty good, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      this was wonderful, easy and quick! I followed the instructions and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      This was a good, easy dessert to make. Nothing pudding-like about it though! The "cake" part was a bit odd in the texture. I served it with homemade whipped cream and everyone said it would be a great breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Great cobbler-like dessert! Quick to fix, lowfat, and super yummy. Used frozen blackberries with great results. Will use this recipe again and again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      What a great recipe!!! I had a 1/2 pint of blackberries that needed attention, so I halved the recipe and omigoodness I could have eaten the entire plate in one sitting! I will definately be making this again soon! Thank you for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      WOW! This was super easy and very tasty! The name fooled me a little, because I was expecting it to be more creamy and pudding-like. But it turned out more like a cobbler --- a delicious cobbler! Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Batter seemed to be to thick. Might try it again and add a little more milk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      I made this with freshly picked wild blackberries, and although I didn't have any (dieting), my husband said it was delicious. We shared it with my husband's parents, who also said it was very good. Thanks, ktdid!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      Adjusted this to 2 servings and used a bit less sugar and a bit less water. It was easily more tasty than the blackberry cobbler I made the night before. My husband said it was "WAY better than the cobbler". It'd probably be great with peaches and apricots too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      This has got to be the quickest and easiest dessert I've ever made. As I was pouring the boiling water over the berries at the end, I was really wondering how the heck this thing would ever turn out! But it did turn out, and it was delicious! We tasted it just by itself this afternoon and loved it, but I can't wait to have some over ice cream! I will definitely make this many times over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      This was a delicious and easy to prepare dessert. The only complaint I had was that I didn't double the recipe. This really doesn't make very much and as it cooled, it seemed to "deflate" a bit. It wasn't a very thick dessert to begin with, and with five of us in the house, we each only got a very small serving. I could really have gone back for seconds! Next time, I will definitely double the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      I tried this as I was looking for a recipe to make something with the blackberries I picked the day before. I must say the cake blew me away, the blackberries were still a little tart despite the sugar on top, but seriously the cake was extremely easy to whip up, and so tasty :) I hope to try this with strawberries someday, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      The hardest thing about making this, is waiting for it to come out of the oven (it smells devine while baking)! A super easy and super tasting dessert; I know I'll be making this again! Thanks ktdid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      Really good, quick and easy too. Goes great with vanilla ice cream for a summertime dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      This was delicious!! My husband is a blackberry "freak", and loves anything with blackberries in it. He couldn't stop eating this!! I loved the fact that it went together in just a few minutes and was very yummy. Thank you for sharing this keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I made this a while ago and i forgot to review it. Luckily i printed out the recipe or i probably would've lost it forever! Anyways, it was very delicious. I'm just about to run into the back to pick some blackberries to make it again. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackberry Pudding Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.2
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    10%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 7.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 246.9 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 35.7 g
    142%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites