Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackberry Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackberry Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2014

      Ohhhh..... so delicious! Kind of tweaked it a bit after reading the reviews. I was just making this for me and Dh so I was going to make a third of the recipe but then read that people wished there had been more sauce and it ended up getting kind f complicated, so I halved the biscuit mixture and made a full batch of sauce using half blackberries and half strawberries. As I started cooking the dumplings,I realized that I was making way too much for the two of use and ended up only cooking half of the half, so really just a 1/4 of the dumpling mix. Anyway they turned out so delicious! I used buttermilk and would again and next time I think I would reduce the sugar by about 1/4. Served this with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream and it was a great way to taste summer on a cold winter night. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      I love how easy this was, and how tasty. I rather hated cooking blackberries, I love eating them fresh, but this recipe was definitely worth it. The recipe was not too sweet, and I look forward to making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Oh the memories this brings back! A dessert almost identical to this has a long history in our family and is still enjoyed to this day. I made this as written which was to everyone's delight. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Looked great on the table for company. Served with homemade vanilla bean ice cream, and I did add a bit of lemon zest, nutmeg (tiny bit) and ginger to the dumplings to give them some oomph, and it was delicious! Will definitely make this again. Would be great over buttermilk biscuits too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      What a great dish loof. My dh is still talking about how great the dumplings and sauce tasted. A great pairing between the bright, sweet & tart sauce and the tender and fluffy dumplings. The dumplings showcase the sauce perfectly. Quick and easy to make, I'll be making this often. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This was so good and so quick! I don't ordinarily make desserts like this (we are cookie monsters in my house) but I must say that this was so wonderful and will make it on my table again. I had a bag of frozen blackberries and that worked out great. I did get 8 HUGE dumplings out of the dough. I do think that next time I will make them even smaller. Dumplings generally aren't all that flavorful so I used buttermilk in place of plain milk to add a bit of flavor but it didn't help all that much ;). The sauce was just fantastic and really made this dessert. I would imagine this would be easy to do with other fruits as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      flavor was out of this blackberry world. I cut the dumpling mix in half and still had more dumpling than blackberry stuff. Next time I'll make the half recipe of dumpling and thriple the blackberry mix. We served with vanilla icecream and loved it that way. Made for 123 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      I too scaled this down somewhat and shouldn't have as I didn't have enough sauce for all. I may have simmered for too long, but I don't think that was this issue. This is a great tasting recipe and I'm so angy w/myself for not making more of the sauce. I was litterally scaping the pan for more drippings:-( I will make this again definitely and know better as the bit I got was fab. Thanks alot Loof. Oh and BTW I should mention, DH picked these blackberries in our back pasture. They grow wild and so I have an abundance that I keep fresh and frozen. They're wonderful!!! Made for 123HitWonders~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      What's not to like about this dish ~ I cut the dumpling ingredients in half but kept the fruit sauce ingredients the same & had a lot of GREAT TASTING, FRUITY SAUCE, which was wonderful! Served mine over frozen vanilla yogurt for a great treat! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I scaled this down to 1 serving and got 4 wonderful dumplings from it. This is quite a unique recipe. The dumplings were just a little bit bland, but the blackberry sauce livened them up quite a bit. I thought I may have leftover sauce, but we licked the bowls clean. Thanks for sharing this very 'company worthy' recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackberry Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.2
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    10%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 38.6 mg
    12%
    Sodium 640.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.8 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 46.6 g
    186%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes