Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackberry Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackberry Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2002

      This was fantastic, my dear hubby loves blackberries. I think I found one that he wants me to keep. I only used 3/4 cup sugar and next time will only use 1/2. It was plenty sweet, but very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      I omitted the lemon extract and salt and it was very good. I simmered it for 20 minutes and the texture of the dumpling was nicer. I will definitely make it again, but would like to use either raspberries or strawberry-rhubarb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      Wow was this sweet, the kids loved it. Next time I'll use half the amount of sugar for the fruit mixture. Sure wish I had some whip cream to go on top like Inez said!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      I had to chuckle when I saw that most folks liked a little less sugar. It's a Native Appalachian cultural trait to LOVE sweets and this recipe is reflective of a true Appalachian dish. I had these for the first time (same recipe) 40 years ago when an old woman made them for us boys. She used canned blackberries the first time I had them but we were quick to pick her all she wanted after that. Blackberry Dumplings ultimately became my favorite desert but hardly anyone makes them anymore because kids won't go out and pick fresh blackberries these days, (too many video games!). Blackberry Dumplings are also benefitted by some vanilla ice cream on top. This is a super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I used a variation on the blackberry mix with 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of Splenda (the equal measure type), and it was very good. I'm from Kentucky, so I like the traditional sweetness. Instead of the dumpling recipe here, I used a Bisquick and milk recipe and rolled them, which is how I prefer my dumplings. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      Went out on a limb to try this-never tasted a dumpling I liked. This was great. Tasted more like pieces of cake floating in a sea of blackberries and the topping ( I used fat-free Cool Whip) is, in my opinion, absolutely necessary. Followed recommendations and used 1/2 cup sugar in the sauce and almond rather than lemon extract. Ingredients list 1 tsp sugar for the dumplings and directions say 1 T. I used the T. and also simmered the dumplings for 20 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      These were very good, though they were a little too sweet. Next time i'll use about 3/4 cup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Awesome! My sons love fruit desserts and this was a great last-minute addition to dinner. Used frozen blackberries with good results. Wouldn't change a thing, except next time I'd use a huge pot and double the recipe so we can look forward to leftovers. I didn't choose the recipe because it was more healthy, but looking at it now, it's a great lowfat dessert, too. Lucky us! Will make this again soon! Thanks, MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This was pretty good. I, by no means, thought this was too sweet. Next time, I will only simmer 13 minutes so juice will still be in bottom and keep it moist. It was dry after it cooled off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      My family liked this very much. The only thing I did that was different was to leave out the lemon extract. I would rather use a little lemon juice or lemon zest, if I thought the recipe needed it. It is very sweet; I might reduce the sugar next time. But this is pretty much the traditional way of making stewed fruit with drop dumplings -- in my experience, at least.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      This is soo good--perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I used frozen blueberries since I couldn't find blackberries. Yummy! Soo good eaten hot from the stovetop! Lol. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      These were just soooo nice...I did do a mix of berries though because I find blackberries have a very strong taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      This is a wonderful old fashioned treat! We loved it. Thanks MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      WOW~I mean WOW! These are addicting! This morning I went down the road to pick blackberries specifically for this recipe! What a treat! (In the ingredients' list it states 1 teaspoon sugar in the dumplings, but in the directions it states 1 tablespoon. fyi) Oil the utensil first to help in dropping the dough. Next time I will try these with strawberries. Thanks for posting. cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackberry Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 467.7
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    21%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 5.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 642.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 105.3 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 60.2 g
    241%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes