Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blackberry Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackberry Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2002

      I made this when my inlaws were visitng. They rise at dark-thirty and want to know what is for breakfast. So instead of handing them a cereal box and a carton of milk, I whipped this little jewel of a cake up. Easy enough to make with my eyes half opened. Berry, berry good!! Moist and delicious. Your recipe sure made me look good. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      I thought that this coffee cake was great because it was sweet, but not too sweet. I used 1/4 a cup of sugar to sweeten the berries, and that was enough. I also used a 8" square baking dish, which requires about 15 extra minutes of cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2004

      Very good on day one, but left out on the counter due to being so moist, it molded by day 2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      Wonderful! I almost ate all of it myself. I didn't have fresh blackberries so I used frozen blackberries(drained) and it turned out great. Very easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      soooooooo good. nice and moist and the cake was just sweet enough and let the flavor of the blackberries take over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2002

      Great cake! Substituted blueberries for blackberries and loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      I made this this afternoon and it was pretty good. I didn't have any berries of any kind, so I used seedless blackberry preserves. I followed the directions except left out the 1/2 cup of sugar which I didn't need. I used about 3 tbls. of preserves and put it in the microwave about 15 seconds it would pour better on top of the batter. Then I swirled it a little. Didn't taste like a coffee cake, but it was really moist and delicious. Will make again like I did today. Will try it with the berries one day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      This cake is WONDERFUL! I have two bushes full of blackberries in my yard and always love different ways of using them. This recipe is a keeper for sure. My family loved it, we can't get enough. Oh, and I made it in a glass pie plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      I will preface this by saying that I am not a huge blackberry fan. I bought a bunch to make some jam with and had a 6 ounce container left over. I was looking for a way to use those up since I don't like them plain. I added an additional teaspoon of vanilla extract and used only 6 ounces of blueberries instead of 8. I knew that I didn't want to leave any of the berries whole so I mashed them up with the sugar and just mixed that into the batter. I ended up with a lovely purple cake that was actually pretty good! I am not a huge fan of the texture of the blackberry seeds in the cake and have been picking out an remaining large chunks of blackberry but all in all this was a great way to actually eat the blackberries I had left over and not waste them! I think I would love this recipe if I substituted blueberries like another reveiwer did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Yummy! I had a bunch of blackberries in my fridge I needed to use up, and this was perfect! To make this vegan-friendly, I subbed soy milk, vegan margarine (Earth Balance), and Ener-G egg replacer for their respective counterparts. I also doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 cake pan for about 45 minutes. We don't usually eat dessert on weeknights, but my whole family gobbled this up after dinner. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      June 13/04 Great coffee cake Sue, DH says better than a 5*, he couldn't wait 'til supper had to try it this afternoon. I used Splenda and frozen berries from last year, turned out wonderfull. (I also used buttermilk, had excess around left from the contest, this was a good way to use it up.)We found we liked it a lot because it didn't seem too sweet, maybe it was the buttermilk and Splenda. We will definately be making this one again, thanks for sharing. May 19/10 - Made this again but made them into 3 individual cakes to sell at a fund raiser bake sale. turned out great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      This was just ok for me. I didn't care for the texture of the cake itself, but the flavor was ok. Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      It was good, but not great, needs a bit of a kick, maybe a touch of lemon rind?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      This was pretty good. It was the first time I've made coffee cake. I baked it in an 8" round pan, so it took a little longer. I liked the crunchy top. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Yummy! I made this cake for breakfast and my family loved it. It was super simple to make (which is good early in the morning). I made this with half of the sugar called for in the batter because I didn't want it to be too sweet and we are trying to cut back on sugar. My berries were also very naturally sweet. If the berries were more on the tart side I would have needed the extra sugar. My family loved this cake. I will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Super cake! Nice, not too sweet and everyone loved it. I poked my berries down in the batter a little too much, next time, I'll let them set on the top. Maryanne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      This cake is delicious and super easy to make. Everyone at dinner tonight (seven in all) gave it five stars. I used buttermilk instead of milk, because I had some on hand. The mixture was thickish, so I pressed, rather than stirred, in the berries. I couldn't bring myself to put 1/2 cup of sugar on the berries. I used 1/4 cup and it was plenty. And no, I won't tell you where to find my secret supply of blackberry bushes in Canberra. :-) BTW, in Australia, a 'coffee cake' usuallly includes some form of coffee. We would call this a tea cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      DH loved this!!. Used 1/2 Splenda and skim milk. Baked in toaster oven so it had to have about 10 min more. Knowing DH there won't be any left tomorrow. Thank you Sue L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      My husband and I really ejoyed this cake! For once, I'm glad my kids are so picky - it left more cake for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      Very easy to make and wonderful taste - though I will use at least twice as many berries next time. The batter was so thick that there was no way I could 'swirl' the berries into the batter - I just gently pressed them in with the back of a spoon. I also only used 1/4 C sugar with the berries - I prefer more 'berry' taste. Thanks for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackberry Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 301.9
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    18%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 37.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 149.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 38.4 g
    153%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes