Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Tie Mousse Cake 2 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Tie Mousse Cake 2

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2003

      Made this today for our Christmas dessert... the chocolate cake makes two cakes...one is to be frozen for another time...this does not state that... mousses were very easy to make and both tastey. I made this in advance and froze.. the day of serving I made the gnache toppong...easy and very rich...it also made a cup to much as I did not make rossettes for top... Also a tip would be to make sure the cake bottom layer is nice and even to match the shocolate mousse and custard layers in sizes... many raves on this...but please remember this is very rich, the gnache makes it this way.... thanks for the recipe, and I will make it again with a few assembly changes..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Everything turned out except the ganache. It was runny and didn't thicken. Taste great, but not appealing to the eye.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      This was more time consuming than I expected but worth it, however the recipe does not say when to add the gelatin in the chocolate mousse layer, so I added it to the chocolate cream cheese mixture and it seemed to be fine. I used both cakes for the bottom layer, as I had not read the reviews first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This recipe has a few problems. It really makes more sense to make two cakes and freeze one (it freezes wonderfully). The first layer makes two cakes anyway. I tripled the second and third layers and divided between the two. The Ganache is wonderful but definitely enough for two cakes as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      Excellent recipe. I personally would make the chocolate mousse layer with more sugar and the chocolate cake layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      This is a really good recipe- not quite as good as the cake at Olive Garden- but very good anyways. I agree that you need to double the Custard layer (its the best part of the cake!). Making the Parchment collar is kind of a pain, but I found that a stapler works very nicely to secure the paper, then you just have to manuever it onto the cake layer. I took the leftover ganache and "whipped" it with a hand mixer to give it a thick, frosting like texture and piped a nice edge along the top. (I have also made a whipped ganache as a cake filling for a friends wedding- got rave reviews). Other than that its a great recipe that's not too hard to follow. Also note that you only need one of the cakes that you bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      Absolutely delicious! Great copycat recipe. Both of my sisters have asked for the recipe and to make it for the next family gathering. The second time I made it I doubled the italian mousse layer. Pretty easy to make except trying to get that wax paper collar together but well worth the effort...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      Easy to make, great taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Tie Mousse Cake 2

    Serving Size: 1 (296 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1086.5
     
    Calories from Fat 843
    77%
    Total Fat 93.6 g
    144%
    Saturated Fat 48.4 g
    242%
    Cholesterol 254.6 mg
    84%
    Sodium 554.0 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.6 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 10.6 g
    42%
    Sugars 32.0 g
    128%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes