Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Pepper Butter Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Pepper Butter Cookies

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2003

      These are quite good. They taste is pretty subtle, just a little bit of a kick every now and then. The vanilla in them is to die for. It made so many that I adapted a few batches- added some mini choc. chips to some and cinnamon to others. Both are good. The cinnamon is great- makes it a really flavourful spicy cookie and seems to go well with the pepper. These are going in all my xmas gift tins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      These cookies are great! I have made them several times, and sometimes I seperate the dough and make some without the pepper just so I get a variety (also, some times I ice some). A trick I use is to put the dough into logs in the fridge for a while. That helps me make even balls as I can just slice evenly and then form the balls from the slices. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      I made these on a snowy Saturday, and boy, did the house smell like the holidays. I really like these a lot - delicious, almost like a snickerdoodle. The pepper gives these cookies quite a unique taste. I made these exactly as directed. I ended up with slightly over 5 dozen (I may have been making the cookie balls a bit on the small side). On one of my cookie sheets, I had trouble getting the cookies off, so for the next batch, I sprayed it lightly with PAM - no problem. I wasn't sure how much to smoosh the cookie balls, so I'm not sure if my cookies are too thin, but I didn't have any problems getting them off the baking sheets (see above exception). They're wonderful with tea - thin and crispy. I wish I'd thought to dip the glass in green and red colored sugar - that would be pretty for the holidays. Simple, but delicious cookie with a complex taste - thanks for sharing this one, HeatherFeather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2003

      You definitely get about 4 dozen cookies out of this recipe and flattening with a glass dipped in sugar is a great easy idea. I am a fan of pepper cookies and the pepper in this one is reasonably subtle so if you put more in, don't panic. Very nice butter cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2003

      This is a WONDERFUL cookie. I was amazed how the pepper and the butter cookie combination worked so well. It's a soothing, comforting cookie that will taste like nothing you've ever had and you will love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      Oh wow, this is just a classic. Easy to make and very different. The pepper does give them a nice kick, but blends so well with the vanilla, you'll love the combination of flavors. I can see why HeatherFeather loves these so much. I'll make these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Love. Them. These cookies are wonderful and intriguing. I like making people guess what the secret ingredient is. I've made them twice now, and the second time I changed three things. I didn't flatten them, i rolled them in sugar, and I ground some fresh pepper on top of a few of the hot ones. I whole-heartedly recommend all of these things (only the extra pepper if you like the kick). When you don't flatten them they come out a little more fluffy but they still flatten nicely - I prefer that to how they are when you flatten them. Thanks Heather!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      WOW! i love these cookies. the pepper is just the right touch to make these just a little bit different and delicious. a real keeper. the basic cookie recipe is great, would lend itself to any other flavoring...cinnamon or lemon come to mind.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      These were part of my holiday cookie trays. I melted and dripped semi-sweet chocolate on half of them so there would be a little variation. Everyone loved them I think the black pepper is good and not overpowering at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      I have never had pepper cookies before and I had such high hopes after reading all the reviews .. I am sorry to say that I really did not like them .. the basic cookie recipe is excellent, the cookies turned out tender and tasty .. but the black pepper totally ruined them for me, so I will use the basic recipe and add some nutmeg and cinnamon, or maybe lemon zest, instead .. thank you heatherfeather! I really wanted to like this

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      My curiosity got the best of me and I just HAD to try this recipe. I got about 36 cookies, and they baked up wonderfully with an awesome smell filling the house! I had a bit of trouble mixing the dough at first, then just decided to use my hands which seemed to work much better. I also used salted butter because that is what I had on hand, and they turned out just fine (but will use unsalted next time). I took these little gems to work and everyone gobbled them up! Their eyes lit up when I told them the "secret" ingredient, and nobody could believe it! Will definitely make again, and might try these with almond extract just for a different taste. Thanks for posting!! ~Manda

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2004

      I followed the suggestion and made these using colored sugars and they turned out beautiful. However, no one in my family cared for the black pepper part, including myself. I did make another batch without the pepper and those disappeared rather quickly. Very easy recipe to make, but just not what I was expecting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      I made these to take to work tomorrow for my office party and my DH said, "they are too good to take to work!" That really means he wants them for himself! :) I'll have to agree with him, they are delicious! This is a very simple cookie with a kick! I baked them for 10 minutes, and they turned out soft... just how I like them. The only change I made was using vanilla sugar for flattening the cookie. Thanks for sharing... I will be adding this recipe to my box of favorites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      These are wonderful!!! I made these tonight to give as a gift to dh-to-be's mom and dad from us. He couldn't believe there was pepper in them...they are really exquisite! I used freshly ground black pepper and it was great. I can see why these are your favorite cookies. Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      This recipe was bad. I made it exactly as it said and the cookies came out way too greasy and spicy. Will not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      A very odd cookie. I expected it to be a little different but it really wasn't my favorite. They would excellent cookies without the pepper but with it they are simply okay. My family had a similar reaction, it's a weird taste, but edible. For me 7 minutes was perfect. I greased one of my cookie sheets and left the other ungreased both came off very easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I liked these, but I thought they would have been better without the pepper. Thanks for sharing, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      I wasn't sure how much I liked them the first time I made them, but other people thought they were great. The second time I added finely grated zest of one lime, lovely and subtle....I would try adding a little more zest next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      I love this cookie. I already added a little extra pepper. I am going to experiment with 25% more, 50% more 75% more and double pepper. Today though, I am baking them for a High Tea after the dedication of the library at church. Added after the event: people were really talking about this cookie AND going back for more and more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      These cookies came out super tasty and youre right people say: "Mmm, this is good, but what is it?". :) Everyone loved these buttery delights. I had a bit of trouble with the dough, though. It was too buttery and the cookies spread a lot, I almost ended up with one giant cookie. lol
      Next time Ill simply reduce the butter by maybe 1/3 cup. I milled my pepper very finely, but only used 1 ts as I thought it might be stronger than the store-bought stuff. Also I reduced the soda by half as the German soda seems to be a lot stronger.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this unusual, but great recipe with us, Ill add it to my cookie tray this year. Cant wait to give these to all of my friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Pepper Butter Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (770 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 73.2
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    49%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 14.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 28.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites