15 Reviews

OH Parsley! This is really, really good! I scaled the recipe down for a nice little treat for myself for lunch! TG I didn't make more because I would've eaten it ALL!! The only thing I did different was to sprinkle the cayenne on top rather than adding it to the mixture. I was afraid it would turn it orange LOL! VERY addicting and will be made often!! Thanks so much!! :) Made for the ZWT4

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflour June 11, 2008

This was pretty tasty! I used California black olives, and made this exactly as posted. I found that the onion gave it a strong taste that really lingered, though. I think I might use less next time. Made for ZWT6.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! June 30, 2010

We enjoyed this dip when we had company over and it was very well received! I served them with wheat crackers, bagel chips and toasted pita triangles.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MixingItAllUp August 24, 2009

I made this for a party the other night, and it got rave reviews, especially from the teens! They tried it, loved it, and asked what it was. When I told them it was black olive dip, they said, "I don't like black olives, but I really like this!" Thanks for a really easy crowd pleaser.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie December 15, 2008

After seeing Wildflowers lovely photo I knew I had to try these. I did cut the onions in half and increased the cayenne by half. It was wonderful and we really enjoyed them. Next time I think I might try adding some finally diced jalapeno's for a little more kick. They were so simple to make and tasted wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 23, 2012

this was yummy but i did change it up a bit. i put in black, green, and kalmata olives instead of just black and sprinkled some feta cheese in before serving. i also used green onions. i like it spicy so lots of hot pepper. but i thought it was very flavorful and yummy. great dip, thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sprue April 08, 2010

YUM! We liked this! it's easy to make and has a nice flavour which I really liked but DH said he would have liked to have seen bumped up considerably. His words: 1/4 teasoons of cayenne and garlic isn't NEARLY enough. Please see my Rating System: DH would have given 3 stars and I 4 stars, so we gave this 4 to give it the benefit of the doubt as it definiately has potential. For us personally this is a "basis" recipe that we would like to bump up a notch or three in the future. I look forward to playing around with this recipe soon, Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 30, 2008

I make a recipe very similar to this. Only thing I do different is that I add chopped walnuts and omit the Cayenne. Last time I made this I used plain yogurt in place of the sour cream to try to make it a little healthier, but it didn't taste as good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeAnn T. February 26, 2016

I can't believe I haven't rated this. We've been enjoy it for years in our family. I only noticed I hadn't rated it when I pulled the recipe up to make it again for the holidays. 5 stars for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina*S December 18, 2014

Very enjoyable dip - and quite popular with my brood as well! I will definitely make this again for my next party since it was a hit and oh, so easy to make. I like the savory, spicy so i did add everythi8ing ( and maybe a little heavy). I can think of a few fun ideas to serve this with..and plan to try them next time out (my kids had it on ritz with pepperoni slices - and wothout). **Made for ZWT6 - GREECE**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva June 13, 2010
Black Olive Dip