Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Forest Pumpernickel Bread Machine Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Forest Pumpernickel Bread Machine Loaf

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2010

      I made this bread exactly as stated. I kept it in the machine for the whole process, not taking the dough out, forming it into a loaf and then placing it in the oven (why do some people do that?!) ... It was VERY good and came out in a perfectly shaped loaf ... I just want to add that my bread machine has Medium, Large and X-Large settings. I used the Large setting based on the amount of flour stated in the recipe. I hope some of you find this useful. Thanks for the recipe andypandy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Awesome recipe. Somehow my bread didn't rise in the middle - but it was a beautiful texture - had excellent flavor and my husband & I both loved it. Maybe I made a mistake. But even if it turns out exactly the same way - we would definitely make it again. I also subsituted 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 cup of spelt flour instead of regular whole wheat and bread flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Excellent! Used ingredients exactly as recipe indicated. I was afraid it wasn't rising adequately in the so I removed it to a pan for the second rise. It turned out a big beautiful loaf with wonderful texture and flavor. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Perfect recipe! I often don't care for the way bread turns out in a bread machine but this bread had the perfect texture. I followd it exactly as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      andypandy, My first attempt at making Pumpernickel bread but not my last now that I have found this wonderful recipe. No more store purchased loaves for me. Served it with spinach dip. I will have this recipe close at hand. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      What a delicious recipe! I made rolls out of the dough and my family just loved them! Used potato water instead of plain water and added wheat gluten because I used white whole wheat flour in place of bread flour...the rolls were so soft and moist! Wonderful with my homemade soup! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Love this recipe! Made it in my bread machine and it turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Have to rate this one right now - so I can find it in a hurry! Snow and weather warnings have cancelled a city shop - off to make a loaf to assure pumpernickel for our Christmas Eve appetizer - just wouldn't be Christmas without that hollowed out loaf filled with that Knoor recipe which has been tradition at our house 'like forever' This is a wonderful pumpernickel bread which the family loved and the teenager proclaimed his favoraite. Only had two tablespoons of cocoa on hand at the last baking, we found it just right for our tastes. Added to my Bread Favorites Cookbook. Thank you for posting a recipe for pumpernickel that we will be making again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Great pumpernickel bread. I made ham and swiss cheese sandwiches and they were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I just made this bread and it turned out great. This will definitely be my pumpernickel bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      WOW, Excellent! I can't believe I can make my own pumpernickle bread. I followed Engineer in the Kitchen's tips and added a Tbl. of vital wheat gluten and just used the dough cycle on the bread machine...divided in two, let rise until double and baked at 375 for 25 min. This bread is truly wonderful. It did put some strain on my breadmaker, but not enough to concern me. Also, I rewrote the recipe so that it would be in the order that my bread machine suggests because I almost forgot the molasses. Thank you for posting this amazing recipe andypandy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

    • on April 28, 2008

      I would give this 10 stars if possible! A few months ago, I bought a Breadman machine and every recipe I tried was a disaster - even the ones from the manufacturer! Pumpernickel is my FAVORITE, and this came out PERFECTLY! Thanks for sharing, andypandy...You made my day! Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      Wow! This is a very delicious bread. Dark and nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Excellent recipe. One of the best Pumpernickel bread I ever had. The only addition is 1 TB Vital Wheat Gluten. I have been using this on the dough cycle, then I divide the dough into 2 pieces, shape as loaves, let them rise in a warm place covered for 1 hour, pat them gently with cornmeal, slash them and bake them at 375 for 25 minutes. All my friends think that I am pro after seeing and tasting this bread, have given the recipe out numerous times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      I was concerned that this wouldn't rise properly since the dough was stickier than I'm used to, but this was Fantastic! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      It used to be hard to make a good pumpernickel bread until I discovered this recipe. Now I can make it quickly. Love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Forest Pumpernickel Bread Machine Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 128.4
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    13%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 222.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites