Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Forest Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Forest Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2008

      I didn't rate this because I made some significant changes to the recipe. This is a nice idea, but each layer is so sugary it is overkill to me. I found that the flavors just didn't blend like they do in a black forest cake. However, I brought this to a german class and got positive feedback. So for those who could stand to OD on sugar, chocolate chips, and cherries, go for it, otherwise, skip dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      I am happy to be the first reviewer of this beautiful coffee cake. I made this for our church coffee hour. It sliced up nicely and looked great on a platter. It went very fast! I might try apple pie filling next time and omit the chocolate chips. Roxygirl update: 5/7 made the cake again using apple pie filling and adding tsp. cinnamon to the Bisquick topping. Served it for coffee hour. This was so scrumptious!!! I think this is the BEST coffee cake! I can tell I'll be making it a lot. Thanks Leeza!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      I LOVED this coffee cake and I don't normally like fruit mixed with chocolate. It was so good! More like a rich cookie or a bar...which is fine with me because it's perfect for breakfast, dessert and a midnight snack!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      I used canned raspberry pie filling instead of the cherry (preference) and reduced the amount of sugar and chocolate chips as per others' suggestions. The cake wasn't dense at all, but nice and light. Thanks for sharing such a delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      WOW! I honestly could not tell you what I liked most about this cake! The cherry pie filling was the perfect balance for the chocolate and the topping was fantastic! We enjoyed this very much, and will definitely have it again. Thanks so much for posting your recipe, it is fantastic :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      I decided to try this and take some to work. This was a real hit with my colleagues.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      Leezah 4, thank you so much for such a great coffee cake recipe! I made this for a school silent auction and it sold for $10.50. The proud new owner of the coffee cake was thrilled to have scored a win and get this. I made a second one the next day and it really is good. No, it's a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      This is the yummiest coffee cake I have ever tasted. I made this for a volunteer appreciation luncheon at our church and there wasn't one crumb left! This is a perfect cake for someone who wants to make something really special. Thanks for an outstanding recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      made this to take to work...it went over very well...very easy recipe....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Just mixed this together now anxiously awaiting for it to be done;) will try the apple and raspberry suggestions, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      Have to agree with other reviewers --- flavors did not blend as expected and it was overall too sugary. I particularly thought it was too chocolate-y (which I cannot believe I'm saying because i adore chocolate). Thought maybe it was just me, but my taste-testing team declared it "okay, but not great".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      After all the other 5 star ratings, it must be me -- but we found this to be DENSE and much too sugary. I followed directions exactly, and cake was definitely "done", but after a few heroic bites, my guests could not finish the slice. Am sure I won't be trying again. Sory, Leezah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Forest Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.3
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    34%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 45.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 185.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.9 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 34.7 g
    139%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes