Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black-Eyed Peas With Mustard Greens and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black-Eyed Peas With Mustard Greens and Rice

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2012

      Changed a few things for personal preference's sake. I used vegetable broth instead of just plain water to give it a little more flavor, and cut back to just one onion. I also used olive oil instead of sesame because it was what I had on hand, and canned peas, and turnip greens instead of mustard greens. Hearty, delicious on white rice. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      We really loved this! I was really surprised by the complexity (and meatiness) of the flavor, and never would have thought that smoked paprika, butter, and sesame oil would have produced that result. I used pinto beans (all I had on-hand) instead of black-eyed peas, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I will definitely make this again, once our farmer's market starts back up and I can get some mustard greens. Thanks so much for sharing this!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      This was very good! I used a can of black eyed peas rather than frozen, added 3 strips of diced bacon (put them in with the onions), and 2 cups of chicken broth instead of water. I mixed it in with the brown rice to make it more of a one-dish meal than a soup. It was delicious and I'm sure I'll make it the next time I have mustard greens!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      For a quicker meal, I substituted two cans of black-eyed peas (drained and rinsed), and used a quart-sized box of vegetable broth instead of two quarts of water (these changes also meant I needed to decrease the quantity of salt called for in the recipe). I used all the other ingredients and quantities as listed. This was delicious and SO good with brown rice! The leftovers were even better-- I'll definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This was a great warming meal, but it had a bit more to it than a usual soup or stew. I think the sesame oil with things like cumin and garlic is the thing. I did a few things differently: omitted the butter, used [gasp!] canned peas, and used kale rather than mustard greens because that's what was available at the store. I also just served this with a multigrain baguette rather than over rice. It's a tasty and healthy meal that works well as a make-ahead...put the cooled pot in the fridge and just re-simmer when you're ready to enjoy it. The 'sturdy' greens can take all that punishment and still stay green!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      It is really hard to go wrong with black eyed peas in my house. DH loved this delicious soup. I used canned peas to make this a quick to fix dinner. I tossed the mustard greens into the soup and allowed to cook until tender. This was served over brown rice, about 1/2 cup per serving. I will be freezing leftovers for a later date.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      A good and spicy lowfat dish that sticks to your ribs. I slow-cooked frozen BE peas for 5 hours or so then added canned/drained turnip greens (personal taste)to cook for another hour or so. I didn't measure the hot pepper flakes but probaly used a tsp. or more. Lots of flavor and easy to make. Thanks for posting your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      My DH said this was a 6 star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black-Eyed Peas With Mustard Greens and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (351 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.6
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    33%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 353.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mustard greens

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites