Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Eyed Peas With Herbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Eyed Peas With Herbs

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2013

      Got home from work tonight and wanted to watch the Red Sox in the ALCS, so I needed something simple that didn't require a lot of attention. This definitely fit the bill. Like another reviwer, I used canned black-eyed peas, and per that review used a bit less water. I also used chicken boullion and served over Rice Verde as the aforementioned reviewer suggested. Brilliant! I'm definitely making this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      This was very good! I appreciated the instructions on how to quickly cook the dried beans when you don't have a night to soak them. And it really did work well! I halved the recipe since bean recipes tend to yield a lot but 4-6 servings, halved, ended up being just enough for me and my girlfriend with no leftovers. Next time I'll make the whole batch so we have food for lunch the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Easy and delicious! We ate this with rice; it was a good and filling meal. Thanks for sharing this economical and tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This was absolutely wonderful! I used this recipe as one of my two New Year's black eyed peas recipes for good luck (this was definitely my favorite). The herbs paired wonderfully with the beans. I decided to add half a chicken bouillon to the pot with the herbs and seasonings. Like other reviewers, I too missed ham hock with black eyed peas, so I used some crumbled bacon to serve on the side, since I was also cooking for a vegetarian. I am not even a black eyed pea fan; however, I would consider making this recipe again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

    • on January 05, 2009

      I used canned beans to shorten the cooking time, but I always dump the cooking water twice to avoid them causing gas. I just dumped the water from the can and rinsed the beans, refilled some water and cooked for about 10 mins, dumped again and refilled slightly, then added chicken broth to make up the rest of the liquid. Didn't have a chili pepper, so I used red pepper flakes. This even got a thumbs-up from my finacee' who usually does not like beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I've always enjoyed traditional black-eyed peas or black-eyed peas made as hoppin' john, but this is really good. I will definitely do this again. A nice change for dried peas/beans. Thanks so much for posting this. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This was our new years day meal-its good luck to eat black eyed peas for the new year! This was delicious and we will definatly eat it again soon! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This was a nice change for us from the typical spicy black-eyed peas (or bean) recipes I often use. I did add in extra herbs and we served this with brown rice. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      I discovered partway through the process that I had run out of multiple herbs, so I just cooked the peas as specified, and randomly kept throwing in herbs I had on hand: marjoram, coriander, garlic salt, etc. It was great. Mine was not spicy, but definitely was not bland. We all enjoyed it. Try different combinations of herbs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Finally! A great recipe for dried black-eyed peas that doesn't involved extra fat. I used about 1/8 tsp ground cayenne pepper instead of the dried hot red chili pepper. Very flavorful and not too spicy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      Soooooo good! Sooooo flavorful! Soooo easy if you use canned beans like me. Using canned beans I wasn't sure how much liquid to add...so I added the liquid from the can plus 1 1/2 cups water and a vegetable boullion cube...ends up that was probably too much as I had to boil it for about 45 minutes to get most of the liquid to evaporate...it didn't hurt the end result though! I only used 1T of oil and used 4 garlic cloves and everything else the same. We really enjoyed the flavor explosion of eating this with Rice Verde. Thanks for this healthy keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      This is the first time I've been able to eat black-eyed peas on their own. I'm just not a fan of the bacon/salt pork method. And I thought I just didn't like black-eyes! I could eat these by the bowlful, all by themselves. But they're also really yummy with some cooked (from fresh or frozen for me, not canned) green beans thrown in just for the variety of texture. And they're good with rice and corn bread too. This is going in my list of proven winners. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      We love BE Peas and enjoy them several different ways. This was hearty, savory and satisfying. We will be enjoying these again soon! Thanks Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      Excellent flavoring in this one. Kinda missed the southern ham hocks, but were excellent anyway. The only thing I did different was to use low sodium chicken broth instead of water to cook the peas in and I used Sharon's Paprika oil in place of the olive oil and paprika, which turned out great. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      This recipe was so good! I used dried beans and let them soak overnight, so they were a bit softer then they should have been, but the taste - outstanding! I added some African Hot Sauce to them and could not stop eating them. I ended up eating them for dinner instead of them being a side LOL! Thanks toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      The best black eyed peas I have yet to try. On New Year's day, I had the opportunity to try at least 3 other recipes this year and this is the BEST, even if it isn't "Southern" USA. My kids loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      I love these things!! Had to use canned beans, but followed the recipe...and they were very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      The kids didn't like this dish so I most happily ate it all by myself (not all at once!). This is delicious! Thank you, Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      This is well seasoned, inexpensive dish. The kids and dh turned up their noses, but I thought it was really good. The only thing is my peas started falling apart, so I wonder if I simmered too vigorously or for too long. Guess I'll have to figure that out next time I make this! Thanks toni, fo another healthy dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Eyed Peas With Herbs

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 135.5
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    48%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 851.6 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites