22 Reviews

Very versatile. Made for the simanim for Rosh hashana.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel October 02, 2014

Got home from work tonight and wanted to watch the Red Sox in the ALCS, so I needed something simple that didn't require a lot of attention. This definitely fit the bill. Like another reviwer, I used canned black-eyed peas, and per that review used a bit less water. I also used chicken boullion and served over Rice Verde as the aforementioned reviewer suggested. Brilliant! I'm definitely making this again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich October 18, 2013

This was very good! I appreciated the instructions on how to quickly cook the dried beans when you don't have a night to soak them. And it really did work well! I halved the recipe since bean recipes tend to yield a lot but 4-6 servings, halved, ended up being just enough for me and my girlfriend with no leftovers. Next time I'll make the whole batch so we have food for lunch the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain January 20, 2012

Easy and delicious! We ate this with rice; it was a good and filling meal. Thanks for sharing this economical and tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie May 08, 2010

This was absolutely wonderful! I used this recipe as one of my two New Year's black eyed peas recipes for good luck (this was definitely my favorite). The herbs paired wonderfully with the beans. I decided to add half a chicken bouillon to the pot with the herbs and seasonings. Like other reviewers, I too missed ham hock with black eyed peas, so I used some crumbled bacon to serve on the side, since I was also cooking for a vegetarian. I am not even a black eyed pea fan; however, I would consider making this recipe again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny January 02, 2010

I used canned beans to shorten the cooking time, but I always dump the cooking water twice to avoid them causing gas. I just dumped the water from the can and rinsed the beans, refilled some water and cooked for about 10 mins, dumped again and refilled slightly, then added chicken broth to make up the rest of the liquid. Didn't have a chili pepper, so I used red pepper flakes. This even got a thumbs-up from my finacee' who usually does not like beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iggy January 05, 2009

I've always enjoyed traditional black-eyed peas or black-eyed peas made as hoppin' john, but this is really good. I will definitely do this again. A nice change for dried peas/beans. Thanks so much for posting this. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 07, 2008

This was our new years day meal-its good luck to eat black eyed peas for the new year! This was delicious and we will definatly eat it again soon! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vincent Van Ravis January 02, 2008

This was a nice change for us from the typical spicy black-eyed peas (or bean) recipes I often use. I did add in extra herbs and we served this with brown rice. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl January 02, 2008
Black Eyed Peas With Herbs