Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black-eyed Peas with Garlic and Kale Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black-eyed Peas with Garlic and Kale

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2007

      A keeper! I had this week and am finally getting to review it... YUM! The only problem is I had no idea how much kale- 1 1/2 lbs seemed like soooo much! So I just used one gigantic bowlful, lightly steamed instead of boiled. I halved the other ingredients, except the garlic, which (tastily) resulted in me becoming a walking vampire repellant LOL. Oh, and it's great without vinegar too- because I forgot it :-) thanx!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Incredible. Absolutely fabulous. Instead of boiling the kale, I sauteed it in several TBS olive oil with the onions and garlic. I also added a chopped up/ leftover baked potato. The balsalmic vinegar added the perfect flavor. I cannot wait until the next potluck so I can offer this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This was a yummy and healthy recipe. However, I did not use all of the kale either. I also added diced, fire-roasted tomatoes and extra garlic. Next time I think I will sautee the onions, garlic, and kale witht the balsamic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      I have never tried kale before, but purchased some at the farmer's market. This was a great recipe, especially for first timers. I really appreciate the instruction to remove the leaves from the stem. A lot of people may know this already, but I didn't. I tried making beet greens before and they were quite bitter, (I think because I didn't remove the stems!) This is a good tasting and healthy recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      I did this recipe exactly as it says, except I used a brown onion instead of a sweet onion. I'm a little bit confused still about this recipe, especially as to which vinegar to use: cider or balsamic. They taste totally different, so how can it be interchangeable?! Maybe that is why the dish didn't really "pop" to us. Next time I'll try with balsamic vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Not sure why this dish didn't stand out for me, as I love kale and black eyed peas. I think if I make this again I'll double the kale and keep the peas the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      I didn't have kale, so I used collard greens sliced thin and cooked for about 25 minutes, because they are a little tougher than kale. It turned out great! Had it with oven-fried drumsticks and cornbread. Definitely a menu we will repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      I left out the vinegar, as my husband hates the stuff. I really loved the resulting dish! I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black-eyed Peas with Garlic and Kale

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.4
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    21%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 288.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites