Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black-Eyed Peas Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black-Eyed Peas Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2012

      To state it simply, I was told by more than a couple of tasters that this was one of the best bean salads they had ever tasted! I made this pretty close to the way it was posted, except I did cheat a little. I steamed the frozen black-eyed peas in the microwave, which still took about 18 minutes. Surprisingly, my supermarket was out of jalapeno, so I substituted a serrano chile and 2 red chiles (that looked like jalapenos). I then used green bell pepper (instead of red). Besides taste, this salad looks lovely, with all the beautiful colors. The dressing has a great combination of unique touches (the sage especially). We look forward to enjoying this again! Made for Fall PAC 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      An odd combination of ingredients, but they blend together so well. Followed to a T, but only added 1/4 c sugar and was happy with that level sweetness. Thanks for submitting such an attractive and tasty salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Nice salad and easy to make. I took some of the other reviewers' advise and reduced the amount of sugar. I also reduced the amount of oil by about 1/3. My husband and I loved it, the kids were indifferent, but what do they know, they're kids. We will be having this salad again. THANK YOU.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Wordeful recipe! Perfect for the summer and very healthy! Its obvious why it was at the best of ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      this was amazing and very colorful! i didnt use jalapenos and i totally omitted the sugar, but did everything else the same. it was lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Mixed reviews...THE PICKY ONE & her friend didn't care for it (dd saw zucchini, friend didn't care for the sweet/sour), the 2 megavores loved it & i liked it. I think I'd like it better with scallions vs. red onion & less sugar. I used 1/2c but added more vinegar after tasting. A wonderful dish! I was surprised that it wasn't hotter than it was w/3 jalapenos. Thank you, Susie! Made for 5/08 Summer salads tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      This was way too sweet for our taste, and I only used half the sugar. Nice vege combo, though, but I'll tweak the dressing significantly next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I loved this sweet/spicey/ earthy salad. I would decrease the sugar a little next time,but possibly because I only used one jalapeno. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Wonderful stuff!! I loved the flavor of the dressing on the veggies! I used spenda instead of sugar...otherwise I followed the recipe. DH and I really enjoyed the heat. Thanks Susie. Happy New Years!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      You know how much I love this salad,thanks for at last sharing the recipe with your mom.As we both know is hard to get one from you. Keep cooking my favorites, and I might get them all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      This turned out fantastic! I used pre-cooked and then frozen black eyed peas, which made preparing this salad a breeze. Served with bread sticks for a light, cool supper on a hot night. The only change I made was to leave out the sugar. I found the dressing to be plenty sweet with just the honey and then I added just a tad bit of whole grain mustard for some tang. Thanks for posting this recipe, it is now in our 'to make again' list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Thank you, thank you Susie! for sharing this lovely dish. My family & I enjoyed this tremendously, wish we could give you more than just 5*s. I didn't change a thing. I let it marinate for about 9 hours. A new famiy favourite, we love bean salad, but yours takes it steps above with the addition of vegetables, olives, fresh herbs, balsamic vinegar and the sweet dressing. I love the spice combinations...Kudos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2004

      This is really outstanding! I'm always looking for yummy bean salads; this one is tasty and different. I actually used a 14-ounce can of black-eyed peas (with 3.5 servings listed on the label) and cut the recipe in half. I like the grated carrot in this; I pulled one right out of the garden and its sweetness was so perfect with the other ingredients. The green olives cut the sweetness of the dressing nicely; I had to add mine separately since the fiance doesn't like them, but he didn't miss them. Very nice contribution to RSC!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2004

      I made this for my bridge group & it drew raves! The salad has a marvelous blend of tastes..sweet, hot, sour, and salty. The salad was still delicious the next day. I did cut the jalapeno to 1/2 a pepper because this group does't like fiery! Thanks for a great new dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2004

      This tastes slightly different from what a bean salad would taste like, being sweet and lightly spicy. The olives and sage do give it a certain edge. There is plenty enough dressing to add a little bit more of something to the salad, be it more black eye peas, or whatever someone would want. Very good! Good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      Colorful, sweet and spicy salad. I left out the stuffed olives (personal taste). The dressing recipe calls for 2/3 cup sugar along with 2 Tbs honey. I only added 3 Tbs sugar which was good for our taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black-Eyed Peas Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.8
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    31%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 324.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 23.6 g
    94%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pimento stuffed olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites