16 Reviews

To state it simply, I was told by more than a couple of tasters that this was one of the best bean salads they had ever tasted! I made this pretty close to the way it was posted, except I did cheat a little. I steamed the frozen black-eyed peas in the microwave, which still took about 18 minutes. Surprisingly, my supermarket was out of jalapeno, so I substituted a serrano chile and 2 red chiles (that looked like jalapenos). I then used green bell pepper (instead of red). Besides taste, this salad looks lovely, with all the beautiful colors. The dressing has a great combination of unique touches (the sage especially). We look forward to enjoying this again! Made for Fall PAC 2012.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! November 16, 2012

An odd combination of ingredients, but they blend together so well. Followed to a T, but only added 1/4 c sugar and was happy with that level sweetness. Thanks for submitting such an attractive and tasty salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers March 18, 2014

Nice salad and easy to make. I took some of the other reviewers' advise and reduced the amount of sugar. I also reduced the amount of oil by about 1/3. My husband and I loved it, the kids were indifferent, but what do they know, they're kids. We will be having this salad again. THANK YOU.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 August 07, 2008

Wordeful recipe! Perfect for the summer and very healthy! Its obvious why it was at the best of ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia July 10, 2008

this was amazing and very colorful! i didnt use jalapenos and i totally omitted the sugar, but did everything else the same. it was lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 June 26, 2008

Mixed reviews...THE PICKY ONE & her friend didn't care for it (dd saw zucchini, friend didn't care for the sweet/sour), the 2 megavores loved it & i liked it. I think I'd like it better with scallions vs. red onion & less sugar. I used 1/2c but added more vinegar after tasting. A wonderful dish! I was surprised that it wasn't hotter than it was w/3 jalapenos. Thank you, Susie! Made for 5/08 Summer salads tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo May 29, 2008

This was way too sweet for our taste, and I only used half the sugar. Nice vege combo, though, but I'll tweak the dressing significantly next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower May 12, 2008

I loved this sweet/spicey/ earthy salad. I would decrease the sugar a little next time,but possibly because I only used one jalapeno. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaniceJean January 01, 2008

Wonderful stuff!! I loved the flavor of the dressing on the veggies! I used spenda instead of sugar...otherwise I followed the recipe. DH and I really enjoyed the heat. Thanks Susie. Happy New Years!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP January 01, 2008

You know how much I love this salad,thanks for at last sharing the recipe with your mom.As we both know is hard to get one from you. Keep cooking my favorites, and I might get them all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy Granny October 10, 2006
Black-Eyed Peas Salad