Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black-Eyed Pea Salad

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2014

      Fabulous. Great taste, excellent texture. Could do with a little more Tabasco than mentioned, but otherwise I wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      I have made this several times and we love it. A great way to eat black eyed peas. I often double the recipe and add bell pepper instead of jalapeno (for the kids). The leftovers keep well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I had a lonely can of black eyed peas in my cupboard that I needed to use up. This was definitely healthy and had a good amt of heat. I would probably omit the celery next time as I am not a huge fan and I could do without the tomato. I really think the balsamic and mayo worked well together. I wish they had half stars as this is a 3.5 in my book for my taste. Thanks for an easy recipe PaulaG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      This salad has a lot going for it. Low in carbs, high in fiber, and tastes great while using a minimal amount of dressing. I especially like the addition of jalapeno and tabasco--gives the salad just the right amount of zip and heat. Glad I found this before summer arrives. It will be made often then and throughout the year. Thanks once more, PaulaG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      WONDERFUL and HEALTHY! I used white onion, pickled jalapeno and garlic salt. I added garlic powder, black pepper and green bell pepper. I think black olives would be good in this also. Next time I'm going to need to make 4x the amount because my Hubby and I were fighting over this in one sitting. Thanks for a new FAVORITE! Made for the Zaar Stars game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      This was a very refreshing side dish to our chicken dinner last night. It has just enough spice make it interesting. I didn't read the directions very well and put the tomatoes in with everything else and let the salad sit overnight. It was great and the vegetables were still crispy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      My oh my, Paula, this was so good even when I didn't follow directions to well. Started out great with black eye peas and celery then as I had no red onion I used several green onions, no jalapeno so I uses a 4 oz can of diced green chili'srinsed and drained, Added a large handfull of chopped fresh parsley just for health. Made the dressing just as the recipe calls for. DH, my chief taster said some cheese would be good in this so I added about 1/4 cup finely diced cheddar. Refrigerated for several hours and forgot to take the dice tomato out so we ate with out tomato and it was still good. I will try next time to have the proper ingredients on hand and try again. Thanks for a great meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      Paula, this is one fabulous salad! Just enough heat to get your attention and enough flavor not to need alterations of any kind. I used crushed dried jalapeno and it worked nicely! I let the salad sit in the refrigerator for 3 hours and decided I couldn't wait any longer to give it a taste even though I had not added the tomato yet. When I tasted it, I couldn't stop eating it. My husband had to have a taste and he couldn't stop eating it. So now I have a tomato without a recipe! ....Now, if you will excuse me I am going to the store to buy more black-eyed peas to make some more of this incredible salad that I know I will be making very often!! Thanks, Paula! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      I made this the night before and chilled it to blend the flavors, I also added in some honey mustard to the marinade and increased all ingredients slightly, nice and spicy just the way we like it! Great recipe Paula, thanks Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      This recipe was an excellent side to barbequed chicken. I could not help but add a minced clove of garlic. Also I did not have a jalapeno pepper as I thought I did so I improvised with a bit of green pepper and a touch of cayenne. Greet flavor. Thank you Paula for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      Quick, easy & delicious. Served it yesterday with Baby Back Ribs and it was great. Thanks for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black-Eyed Pea Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.9
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    34%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 509.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites