11 Reviews

Fabulous. Great taste, excellent texture. Could do with a little more Tabasco than mentioned, but otherwise I wouldn't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy February 18, 2014

I have made this several times and we love it. A great way to eat black eyed peas. I often double the recipe and add bell pepper instead of jalapeno (for the kids). The leftovers keep well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gaylasikes September 10, 2010

I had a lonely can of black eyed peas in my cupboard that I needed to use up. This was definitely healthy and had a good amt of heat. I would probably omit the celery next time as I am not a huge fan and I could do without the tomato. I really think the balsamic and mayo worked well together. I wish they had half stars as this is a 3.5 in my book for my taste. Thanks for an easy recipe PaulaG!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 October 20, 2009

This salad has a lot going for it. Low in carbs, high in fiber, and tastes great while using a minimal amount of dressing. I especially like the addition of jalapeno and tabasco--gives the salad just the right amount of zip and heat. Glad I found this before summer arrives. It will be made often then and throughout the year. Thanks once more, PaulaG.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers April 22, 2008

WONDERFUL and HEALTHY! I used white onion, pickled jalapeno and garlic salt. I added garlic powder, black pepper and green bell pepper. I think black olives would be good in this also. Next time I'm going to need to make 4x the amount because my Hubby and I were fighting over this in one sitting. Thanks for a new FAVORITE! Made for the Zaar Stars game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed January 30, 2008

This was a very refreshing side dish to our chicken dinner last night. It has just enough spice make it interesting. I didn't read the directions very well and put the tomatoes in with everything else and let the salad sit overnight. It was great and the vegetables were still crispy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristiandjames May 18, 2007

My oh my, Paula, this was so good even when I didn't follow directions to well. Started out great with black eye peas and celery then as I had no red onion I used several green onions, no jalapeno so I uses a 4 oz can of diced green chili'srinsed and drained, Added a large handfull of chopped fresh parsley just for health. Made the dressing just as the recipe calls for. DH, my chief taster said some cheese would be good in this so I added about 1/4 cup finely diced cheddar. Refrigerated for several hours and forgot to take the dice tomato out so we ate with out tomato and it was still good. I will try next time to have the proper ingredients on hand and try again. Thanks for a great meal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beancooker August 24, 2006

Paula, this is one fabulous salad! Just enough heat to get your attention and enough flavor not to need alterations of any kind. I used crushed dried jalapeno and it worked nicely! I let the salad sit in the refrigerator for 3 hours and decided I couldn't wait any longer to give it a taste even though I had not added the tomato yet. When I tasted it, I couldn't stop eating it. My husband had to have a taste and he couldn't stop eating it. So now I have a tomato without a recipe! ....Now, if you will excuse me I am going to the store to buy more black-eyed peas to make some more of this incredible salad that I know I will be making very often!! Thanks, Paula! : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 21, 2006

I made this the night before and chilled it to blend the flavors, I also added in some honey mustard to the marinade and increased all ingredients slightly, nice and spicy just the way we like it! Great recipe Paula, thanks Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 13, 2006

This recipe was an excellent side to barbequed chicken. I could not help but add a minced clove of garlic. Also I did not have a jalapeno pepper as I thought I did so I improvised with a bit of green pepper and a touch of cayenne. Greet flavor. Thank you Paula for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ April 07, 2006
Black-Eyed Pea Salad