27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these tonight for New Year's good luck black eyed-peas and we really enjoyed this. I used half garam masala and half curry. I actually would have liked this to reflect the spices more, but thought it was very delicious and hearty. Although I am not a big black-eyed pea fan, I could totally see this being a chole recipe with some chickpeas, yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny January 01, 2010

this was really good. i want to try making it with spinach next time, as the flavors seem like they will lend themselves well to that. i used about 2 little cut pieces of a thai chili, and it was pretty spicy. i have no idea on peppers and such, but next time i think i am leaving the peppers out, as my hubby isnt into the heat like i am. dont leave off the cilantro at the end- its is so yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gracielagata June 22, 2009

this is the kinda of indian food flavor i crave from time to time, creamy and flavorful. I also used canned beans and it came out great. thanks alot

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sakeenah May 12, 2009

Wonderful, spicy dish with complex flavors. Beautiful color - best when it has a chance to "sit" for a few hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salesgirl January 18, 2009

This was outstanding. I left out the chilies because I have young children who don't like spicy heat, but I left everything else the same. We adored this, and the 4 yr old had seconds! A lovely vegetarian option for lucky New Year's black eyed peas! Thanks, love4culinary!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too January 01, 2009

Next time I will make this spicier but I tried to follow the recipe step for step. My husband liked it just fine, but me I like the heat!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monkeylar December 02, 2008

This recipe is so good... I used about 2 tablespoons of oil and an entire pound of dried peas. I used a 6 oz. container of nonfat yogurt. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I served it over brown basmati rice. Lovely, healthy, tasty food. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windhorse23 December 23, 2007

This was so delicious. Like the other reviewers I used less oil. I had no fresh ginger, so I used the ground stuff. I can only imagine how great it would be with the real stuff! Mine was also a little watery but it wasn't that big a deal. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oloschiavo July 20, 2007

Made this last night and it was heavenly. Served it with some basmati rice and there is none left. Everyone had seconds. Things I changed: only used 2 tbsp. oil, added some cayenne and used half veggie broth/half water. This recipe is a keeper. I will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misslilad23 April 12, 2007

This is outstanding. I took a short cut and used two cans of black-eyed peas, adding them along with the tomatoes and omitting the water. I didn't have green chilies so used bottled (marinated) jalapenos. The recipe turned out wonderfully. It is very spicy/hot and tastes just like the masala I had in the Indian restaurant a few weeks ago. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vtopp March 14, 2007
Black-Eyed Pea Masala