Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black-Eyed Pea Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black-Eyed Pea Masala

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2010

      Love this! Delicious combination of flavors and spice. This has become a staple recipe in our house. I often use canned beans and add a sweet potato or two which works really well. Also have tried using less oil which works fine too. Can easily be extended to serve a few more by adding a little more yogurt or liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      This recipe completely exceeded my expectations! I made this for new years day, thinking it would be fun to have black eyed peas for the new year. I will be making this again before next year. I used half indian curry & half garam masala. This was a great slow cooked on the oven all day vegetarian dish that makes the house smell wonderful and you can't wait to eat. Next time I might experiment with chickpeas, I think that would be great too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      This dish is easy and delicious. I used 2 whole, large jalapenos and wished I had only used one. Really spicy, but good. The yogurt makes it nice and creamy. I will make this again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      WOW - I just made my first Indian curry from scratch tonight following this wonderful recipe. 2 thumbs up for simplicity and fab taste. The house has the beautiful aroma's of the curry wafting through and I am excited!! I, too, cut back on the ghee/oil. As I didn't have green chilli's , I used red instead otherwise used all ingredients shown in recipe. The only step I changed was in step 2, before frying the chillis, garlic, onion and ginger I threw these ingredients in a food processor with some oil and blended it too a paste. Then I threw this mixture into pot with a mixture of oil and ghee. Otherwise , I followed the recipe too a tee. THANK YOU, THANK YOU for a wonderful dish. I could easily cook this up on a weekly basis and have it part of our main meals. As its now 11pm while I type this, I have to wait until dinner tomorrow night to enjoy with hubby. (He did comment, just before he went to bed, that whatever I was cooking smelled YUMMO!) This is a keeper in our household....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      Made this easy dinner a few nights ago. It is really hearty and healthy to boot. I agree with Olive Owl and Andrew's Mom's reviews that this needed more flavor/spice for us. I, too, used half garam masala and half curry powder. Followed all the directions/ingredients as listed. We served over basmati rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      I have been making vegetarian curries a long time and I only have one favorite so far and this by far will be my second favorite! I had to go eat a second bowl after eating the first bowl even though I was full, I just couldn't help it, it tasted so good. I have very few curry recipes that call for actual curry powder (just turmeric) so I was anxious to try this recipe. I used black eyed peas that I had already pre-cooked and had frozen in my freezer so I didn't let it simmer as long. This recipe will be made at least once a week in my house and I will try adding potatoes etc to it from time to time just to change it up a bit. very healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

    • on July 10, 2013

      This is so delicious. Spicey and flavorful and easy to make. I made exactly as posted and would not change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      Very good! I love that it doesn't require pre cooking the beans. I subbed lite coconut milk for the yogurt (vegan) Other wise made as written. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      This was pretty good, but I think it could have used some more flavors/spice. I only strayed from the recipe by using canned green chiles from the mexican section of the store (i'm not sure if this was the right type or not). I wonder if I did something wrong since it got such high reviews from everyone else. I will def try again! PS: my 7 year old actually ate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I made these tonight for New Year's good luck black eyed-peas and we really enjoyed this. I used half garam masala and half curry. I actually would have liked this to reflect the spices more, but thought it was very delicious and hearty. Although I am not a big black-eyed pea fan, I could totally see this being a chole recipe with some chickpeas, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      this was really good. i want to try making it with spinach next time, as the flavors seem like they will lend themselves well to that. i used about 2 little cut pieces of a thai chili, and it was pretty spicy. i have no idea on peppers and such, but next time i think i am leaving the peppers out, as my hubby isnt into the heat like i am. dont leave off the cilantro at the end- its is so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      this is the kinda of indian food flavor i crave from time to time, creamy and flavorful. I also used canned beans and it came out great. thanks alot

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Wonderful, spicy dish with complex flavors. Beautiful color - best when it has a chance to "sit" for a few hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This was outstanding. I left out the chilies because I have young children who don't like spicy heat, but I left everything else the same. We adored this, and the 4 yr old had seconds! A lovely vegetarian option for lucky New Year's black eyed peas! Thanks, love4culinary!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Next time I will make this spicier but I tried to follow the recipe step for step. My husband liked it just fine, but me I like the heat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      This recipe is so good... I used about 2 tablespoons of oil and an entire pound of dried peas. I used a 6 oz. container of nonfat yogurt. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I served it over brown basmati rice. Lovely, healthy, tasty food. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      This was so delicious. Like the other reviewers I used less oil. I had no fresh ginger, so I used the ground stuff. I can only imagine how great it would be with the real stuff! Mine was also a little watery but it wasn't that big a deal. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      Made this last night and it was heavenly. Served it with some basmati rice and there is none left. Everyone had seconds. Things I changed: only used 2 tbsp. oil, added some cayenne and used half veggie broth/half water. This recipe is a keeper. I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      This is outstanding. I took a short cut and used two cans of black-eyed peas, adding them along with the tomatoes and omitting the water. I didn't have green chilies so used bottled (marinated) jalapenos. The recipe turned out wonderfully. It is very spicy/hot and tastes just like the masala I had in the Indian restaurant a few weeks ago. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black-Eyed Pea Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.0
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    33%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 1.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 19.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingerroot

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites