Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2002

      People this is sooooooooooo good. I confess I used a can or ranch style pinto beans and a can of blackbeans with peppers as we do not care for blackeyed peas. But I knew by reading all the rest of the ingredients that it would be a hit. Wonder flavor and spiced just right with louisiana hot sauce. Add cornbread and your in heaven. Will do this many times for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2002

      This was a very easy recipe to make and it made enough to feed my family. I didn't use the rotel tomatoes I used the Hunts with green chilis in them. I made cornbread to go with this. I will most certainly make this again (I made mine on the stove but next time I think I'll try the crockpot). Thanks for this money stretcher and tasty soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      Excellent recipe. We used Earl Campbell's spicy hot links as the sausage and it was fantastic. This is my kind of meal on a cold winter day. We served jalapeno cheese grits with it, but a nice batch of cornbread would be a natural as well. Thanks for posting this. It will be made many times in our house, I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      This was excellent, turned out perfect, easy and tasted great. I couldnt locate black-eyed peas locally and was to sick to drive out of town so I used black beans and made homeade Rotel tomatos since they dont sell them here. My husband even called from his cell phone on his way back to work to mention how much he liked it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      I made this in the slow-cooker, Rise, and it was fabulous. I used extra-spicy Rotel tomatoes and regular link sausage. That had just the right amount of heat for my family's taste. I did as you suggested and let everyone put however much rice they wanted in their bowl, then added the gumbo on top. Dang tasty. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      This was amazingly easy and delicious. I used the same ingredients as listed including Hot Rotel and Kiolbassa Beef with Jalapenos Sausage, Better than Boullion for Beef Broth . Cooked in the crockpot for 2 hours. Such simple and few ingredients and such rich flavor. Tasted like restaurant and without a roux! Thank you so much for the recipe. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      Did not use any of the spicy things as we're not big fans of heat, and we enjoyed it without.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Nice and quick gumbo recipe to satisfy any hankerin' for some. I've made it twice -- once it was excellent; the other time it was a disaster. Recommendation to avoid the disaster -- check the labels on the canned items. I unwittingly picked up excessively salty versions, which ruined the taste of the overall recipe and made me parched for a few hours. I will definitely make this recipe again (it is good), but I will check the labels much more carefully next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      I taught this in a casserole cooking class and it was a huge hit. Thanks for such a great recipe. Oh, I did drain the Rotel tomatoes to take away some of the extram spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      OK, this was one of those recipes that I was truly on the fence about trying. I wasn't sure if my family would like the black eyed peas as much as I was hoping. I read the reviews many times over and decieded to "take the plunge" and make the dish. Oh my, I am so glad I did, my family really enjoyed this. DD#2 said it doesn't taste like beans, they (the black eyed peas) taste like the sausage. Ahhhhhh my little darling is broadening her horizons.....lol. I served this was white rice and a spinach salad. Perfect meal and didn't have to heat up the house either.....bonus. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Great recipe! I used andouille sausage and 1/2 the bell pepper and added celery. I served it over cornbread and it was a Hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Delicious and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      Unbelievable recipe. Worth more than 5 stars I tell ya!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I made a couple changes to the recipe and veganized it. I used regular black-eyed peas, veggie broth, diced tomatoes with jalapenos, and jalapeno salsa. I fried an onion, bell pepper, and celery in black pepper and cayenne pepper, and put this in the crockpot all day. I then added some vegan sausage links and brown rice. It was delicious, even better the next day. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I am always looking for ways to use smoked turkey sausage but this was too hot for us. All I used was rotel tomatoes & a can of chilis and my husband wouldn't eat it. I liked it, it's a good recipe, but not for the weak. I didn't have ranch beans so I used fresh frozen with the seasonings other have recommended (chili powder, onion powder and garlic). I'd like to try it agin with ranch beans and milder rotel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      I eliminated all of the hot peppers and used reduced fat turkey smoked sausage for the sausage links. Tasty and easy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Easy and yummy! It is hot, so I use peas w/o jalapenos. I've made it several times and everyone loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      This has become one of my favorite recipes--so easy and delicious. My husband has been asking for it again and again. I use black eyed peas without the jalapenos, as I'm not a fan of those, I haven't tried it with bell pepper yet, but I like it with plenty of celery. I like using hot links, but not a whole pound (to make the sausage stretch farther.) I serve it over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      i used ro-tel and 2 cans of green chillies instead of the bell pepper, served it with success brown rice, just to be a little healthy and it was very good and easy and a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      As promised, VERY SIMPLE and tasty. To reduce fat, I used turkey sausgage (sweet Italian) and fat-free beef broth. Added frozen okra and three stalks of celery, chopped. Used plain BEPs but added plenty of jalepenos. Also used the Rotel tomatoes. Served with brown rice and corn bread for a big hit. A great crockpot recipe that I will absolutely make again. Thanks Rise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (2236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.8
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    35%
    Total Fat 16.6 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 44.6 mg
    14%
    Sodium 907.7 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 15.0 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ranch style black-eyed peas with jalapenos

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites