Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Coffee Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Coffee Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2009

      Delicious! So rich and chocolately, not to mention super simple to throw together! I used vegetable oil instead of grapeseed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This is an amazingly moist cake! I split the batter between two pans, and layered apricot preserves between the two, before icing. Everyone loved it--definitely one that I'll be making again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Great recipe! I have tried many recipes for chocolate cake, several of them very good, but I think this will be the chocolate cake that I will turn to again and again. I love a white icing against the dark chocolate and used the icing from Cocoa and Cream Cake. Great combo. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      This is the first cake I have ever made from scratch that I liked better than a mix. It is super moist and not overly sweet. And it doesn't get much easier than this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Very Moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Found this on another site, but decided to review here. This is THE best chocolate cake I have baked -- absolutely easy and moist, dark, rich, and delicious. It is my go-to chocolate cake. I always make sure to use good coffee as well as the full-fat traditional buttermilk (not the low fat kind) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I made a single tall cake in a deep 9" tin and frosted it with Dark Chocolate Frosting (Dark Chocolate Frosting). I made a half portion of the frosting, and it was plenty...enough to cover the top and sides. I had to cook it about 15 minutes longer due to the depth, and it sank a little bit in the middle. I flipped it over when it was done so that the sunken part would be on the bottom and the flat part would be on the top. Looked and tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      I made this cake three times and could not make it come out. I even went to a different brand of flour, thinking that would improve the situation. The cake would always sink in the middle and had an odd taste to it. I used a 9x13 pan and possibly if baked as a layer cake, it would have performed better. I finally had an aha moment and decided the recipe had too much baking soda. I reduced the baking soda to 1/2 teaspoon and increased the flour to 2 cups, and also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. It came out beautifully! We drink Coffee Master's Cinnful Nut and that gave it a very nice flavor twist! I really like it because it can be made so quickly and without dragging the mixer out. I used my wire whisk to put it all together. I used buttermilk. The next time, I think I will use the yogurt/milk combination and see if I like it better. I also used canola oil as many of the other reviewers did. Kathy, thanks for a wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Holy Cow! This cake is great! I made a few modifications, including adding cinnamon and and a pinch of cayenne pepper (like I do with anything chocolate). The texture is awesome. I topped it with homemade salted caramel buttercream frosting. I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      I used to make this cake in high school many, many years ago and I lost the recipe! Thanks so much for posting this! This is the most delicious cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I used the substitutes suggested to replace the buttermilk and used canaola oil. I have always used cake mixes since so many recipes I had tried were dry or just not good. This has converted me to making them from scratch. Super moist . I used the Vermont Maple Boiled icing # 75162 for this cake AWESOME

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Deep, dark, moist and delicious. Not too sweet. Perfect with No Cook Marshmallow Frosting #3731. Made a 9" layer cake and it looked just like the picture 4! I, too, used canola oil. Thanks for the recipe.......Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      Turned out as perfect as the picture and amazingly moist. Served it with peanut butter frosting and it was heavenly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Deep, dark, moist and chocolately! I used 2 9inch round pans and baked for 27 minutes. Thanks so much for sharing this easy and delicious recipe! Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      This is a delicious dark chocolate cake! If you love dark chocolate, you should love this! I used canola oil instead of grapeseed oil. I also used sour cream instead of the buttermilk. Easy and tastes delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      This was a huge hit with my boys after dinner tonight! I made it as a sheet cake and frosted with chocolate frosting. I soured my milk with lemon juice and also used canola oil instead of grapeseed oil. Oh, I also used about 1/4 cup of Hershey's Special Dark cocoa and the rest with regular cocoa, so my cake was very rich and dark looking. Thanks for a great cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I made this as a sheet cake for DH. It's a dark and delicious cake that is simple to make and rises very well. This would be a top choice for an "everyday" cake as I made or to dress up for a special occasion. I used canola oil and refridgerated black coffee. With cream cheese frosting it was a complete success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      This was a great cake. I used a raspberry sauce in a three layer cake then frosted with fudge frosting. I actually made 2 it was so good. Neither one of them lasted very long. Thanks for the chocolate fix :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      Excellent cake. I used canola oil instead of grapeseed. I made a three layer cake for my sisters birthday. I frosted with chocolate frosting and rolled it in chocolate flakes on the sides and topped it with chopped walnuts. It was wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      This cake was quick, easy to make and delicious! Perfect for the coffee lovers out there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Coffee Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1388 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3805.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1159
    30%
    Total Fat 128.8 g
    198%
    Saturated Fat 15.2 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 381.8 mg
    127%
    Sodium 3292.9 mg
    137%
    Total Carbohydrate 616.9 g
    205%
    Dietary Fiber 17.9 g
    71%
    Sugars 412.4 g
    1649%
    Protein 55.5 g
    111%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites