22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! So rich and chocolately, not to mention super simple to throw together! I used vegetable oil instead of grapeseed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj March 24, 2009

This is an amazingly moist cake! I split the batter between two pans, and layered apricot preserves between the two, before icing. Everyone loved it--definitely one that I'll be making again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 April 14, 2009

Great recipe! I have tried many recipes for chocolate cake, several of them very good, but I think this will be the chocolate cake that I will turn to again and again. I love a white icing against the dark chocolate and used the icing from Cocoa and Cream Cake. Great combo. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV March 20, 2009

This is the first cake I have ever made from scratch that I liked better than a mix. It is super moist and not overly sweet. And it doesn't get much easier than this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tater February 05, 2011

Very Moist!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaunaHanners June 06, 2010

Found this on another site, but decided to review here. This is THE best chocolate cake I have baked -- absolutely easy and moist, dark, rich, and delicious. It is my go-to chocolate cake. I always make sure to use good coffee as well as the full-fat traditional buttermilk (not the low fat kind) Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain January 25, 2010

I made a single tall cake in a deep 9" tin and frosted it with Dark Chocolate Frosting (Dark Chocolate Frosting). I made a half portion of the frosting, and it was plenty...enough to cover the top and sides. I had to cook it about 15 minutes longer due to the depth, and it sank a little bit in the middle. I flipped it over when it was done so that the sunken part would be on the bottom and the flat part would be on the top. Looked and tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DangerousWithKnives November 17, 2009

I made this cake three times and could not make it come out. I even went to a different brand of flour, thinking that would improve the situation. The cake would always sink in the middle and had an odd taste to it. I used a 9x13 pan and possibly if baked as a layer cake, it would have performed better. I finally had an aha moment and decided the recipe had too much baking soda. I reduced the baking soda to 1/2 teaspoon and increased the flour to 2 cups, and also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. It came out beautifully! We drink Coffee Master's Cinnful Nut and that gave it a very nice flavor twist! I really like it because it can be made so quickly and without dragging the mixer out. I used my wire whisk to put it all together. I used buttermilk. The next time, I think I will use the yogurt/milk combination and see if I like it better. I also used canola oil as many of the other reviewers did. Kathy, thanks for a wonderful recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose April 26, 2009

Holy Cow! This cake is great! I made a few modifications, including adding cinnamon and and a pinch of cayenne pepper (like I do with anything chocolate). The texture is awesome. I topped it with homemade salted caramel buttercream frosting. I will make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Creative in the Kitchen April 12, 2009

I used to make this cake in high school many, many years ago and I lost the recipe! Thanks so much for posting this! This is the most delicious cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazy Chef 2 February 11, 2009
Black Coffee Chocolate Cake