144 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! I made them this afternoon; I ate only a smidge. By the time I came home from work 5 hours later, the whole dish was just about eaten!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook July 25, 2002

Hi Debster, Really enjoyed these banana bars. They were so easy to throw together and I had them done in no time. I followed the recipe exactly and the bars turned out very moist. I brought them to my sister's luncheon today and everyone loved them. Thanks for a recipe I will make again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert June 30, 2002

Good, not great. It is very moist (I used 3 LARGE bananas). I also doubled the cocoa and think the recipe needs it. These are not the texture of brownies, but denser than cake.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn July 01, 2010

These were really good. They were more cakey than I expected but still very good. I added some cinnamon and it made them even better. To reduce the number of dishes, I did the chocolate layer on top because then I could dump half of the batter in the pan and then add the cocoa (instead of having to put half of the batter in a separate bowl). It really didn't seem to negatively affect anything so if you want to use less dishes just do the chocolate layer on top.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG January 07, 2010

Oh gosh. I made these tonight and haven't been able to stop snacking on it since! I made a few changes: for the 1/2 cup of butter, I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup plain yogurt (which seems to have definitely upped the moistness of the bars. They almost melt in my mouth!) I also used less than a cup of sugar; maybe about 3/4 though I might try it with 1/2 cup next time as I like less sweet desserts. I also doubled the vanilla, used a very full 1/3 cup of cocoa (the base became very chocolatey and delicious) and added some cinnamon to the batter as well. Yum yum yum! Mine ended up baking for just under 30 minutes and it is so delicious! Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu May 29, 2012

After reading a few reviews, I took the suggestion to add a bit more cocoa powder to the bottom layer and 1/4 bag of chocolate chips to the top and this recipe was perfect! I like the texture which is more like a snack cake. My coworkers, husband and myself give it all 5 stars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pingpong1218 September 01, 2010

Wow, absolutely incredible! I added chocolate chips to the plain banana layer, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. These were kind of like a cross between banana cake and banana bread. Delicious! I think next time I may cut back on the sugar by a tablespoon or two, as they are quite sweet - but YUM!!! Thank you Debster! UPDATE - just ate some that I had frozen for 5.5 months....still moist and delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramartin42 July 08, 2010

Very yummy and easy to make! I replaced the butter with 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup plain yogurt. I also reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. Next time, I may omit the oil and just do 1/2 cup of plain yogurt to make it fat-free. A nice change from banana bread.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CieJF January 07, 2009

sorry, but even though I followed your recipe to a T, we just didn't care for these. They seemed kind of bland, and more bread-like than cake-like.Not bad though, but just not something that anyone wanted seconds of.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imatrad August 14, 2003

Super! More cakelike than I thought they would be - they really puffed up! (Used a 9 x 11 pan). Added 1/4 cup of peanut butter to the white half and sprinkled the top with about 1/2 cup choc. chips before baking. (thanks, Canarygirl)! I will be making these again...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musical Joy January 27, 2003
Black-Bottom Banana Bars