Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black-Bottom Banana Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black-Bottom Banana Bars

    Average Rating:

    144 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 144

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2013

      Delicious - definitely will make these again! I followed the recipe mostly (used a little less butter (6Tbsp) and a little less sugar than called for - the banana bars turned out fine (no problem cutting back on the butter & sugar). I also added chopped walnuts (mandatory for any banana-cake recipe) - very tasty. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      These turned out delicious: good texture and and not too sweet. I won't give stars, because I made significant changes. Because some reviewers said they were bland, I doubled the vanilla, added a teaspoon of cinnamon, and increased the cocoa to a scant half cup. I also made them with 1 c white flour and 1/2 c whole wheat flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Hi Debster! Delicious bars. Used 1/2 C sugar and 4 ripe bananas. Also 1 tsp banana extract because DH likes things with intense banana flavor. Then sprinkled walnuts over about 2/3 of them before cooking (some can't eat nuts). didn't swirl just baked. What a treat! Will make these many times Thanks Judy in WA

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      Very good "cake" bar. Added more bananas- about 2 cups of very ripe mashed bananas. Also took hint of adding some chocolate chips to top of bottom layer. Very easy recipe. My baking powder was outdated and forgot to swirl, but came out moist and tasty. thanks don't overbake

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I have made these twice now and both times they turned out fantastic, however the second time I made them I added some walnuts to the top layer and a handful of chocolate chips to the bottom layer and that really put them on a different level!! Just the right amount of sweetness with a great consistency! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      Easy to make. Moist. Loved'em!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2014

      Recipe was fine, and the bars look good, however, as far as taste goes, they were just okay. I am rather disappointed because so many reviewers gave it 5 stars so I thought it would be delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      Moist and easy to make, however turned out more cakey than I was expecting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      great recipe! Quick and easy. I did it all in my standing mixer (except final bit where you separate). I sprinkled small bittersweet chips on top too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      This makes a great banana bread. Adding coco powder to half of the batter makes the bottom layer a bit dry. May try adding a 2 Tbsp. of coconut oil to the chocolate half to boost flavor and add moisture. I doubled the recipe in a 10x15 roasting pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      Delicious!! Will definitely make again. Like others, I used a 9x9 pan (don't have the other size) and added a few chocolate chips on top of chocolate layer and stirred in about a 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts in the banana mixture. Baked for an extra 5 minutes. Definitely will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      Yummy! Loved this recipe!!! I usually, for some reason dont like banana bread, but with the chocolate, this added a great taste! I added chocolate chips to my choc mix but next time i might try without them.<br/><br/>Also, might try to put a little less sugar as I thought it was extremely sweet. And also might try the yogurt idea instead of butter and see how that works. <br/><br/>Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Really good banana bread in bar-form. Great idea! I cut them into servings, wrapped in plastic wrap and froze for to-go lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      Really delicious and easy to make. I added some chopped walnuts to the chocolate-y part and some cinnamon to the top part.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      Excellent! Did 1/2 recipe in 8X8 pan for 25 minutes. Added chocolate chips with the cocoa powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      Thanks Debster for a delicious recipe. Cut out most of the fat by using 1/3 c. of applesauce and about a Tbsp. of margarine (although butter probably would have been more flavorable). Cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and used 1 cup of flour. After baking, added a light dusting of powdered sugar on top.

      This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      My 11 year old daughter made by herself while I made dinner. They were really delicious and obviously easy to make, since she really didn't ask for help, except to spread the batter in the pan. The amount of batter looked too little for the pan size, but they turned out fine. I might try a smaller pan next time to get a thicker 'cake/bar' Overall, loved the recipe and it was the perfect way to use the overripe bananas we had! Moist and delicious! I don't care for chocolate chips, as some reviewers have suggested, but I might add a touch more cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      My daughter made these before and everyone loved them so had some bananas that needed to be used and thought of this recipe. Absolutely delicious. I didn't change a thing and will make it exactly like this the next time, too. From now on this is the only banana bread recipe I am going to use. Thanks so much. Now to be patient and not have another piece until tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      I could absolutely eat the entire pan of these delightful bars by myself! That is, if I can get DH to keep his hands off of them :) These are so wonderful and really are even better the next day, though it is utter torture to have to sit and stare at them and wait! I think next time I will add some nuts or chips as suggested by Graybert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black-Bottom Banana Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (816 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.4
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    35%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 13.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 114.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes