144 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very moist and super easy to make! It only took me about ten minutes to put together, which is a real plus when you're rushed for time! I took some advice from the other reviewer and added some "white" chocolate chips to the chocolate mix - a real nice touch! The bananas give it such a wonderful taste - I served them to friends who came by for a quick get together and everyone thought that they were a definite "5"!! These are great - you really have to try them - moist, easy and delicious! Next time I'm going to try and add some roasted pecans to the chocolate half - yet another variation. Thank-you for posting this recipe - a definite winner in my books!!

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert June 04, 2002

Great recipe and oh so easy! They are a nice change from the old everyday banana bread. Thanks much!!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peeps July 08, 2002

I'm not one to complain about anything that has bananas in it, but these deserve a standing ovation!!!! I followed the recipe exactly, and these were awesome! They are sooo easy to make, too! Thank you!! ~Manda

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda June 17, 2002

Very good and a nice change to the banana bread I usually make when I have too many bananas threatening to over-ripen on me.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! June 12, 2002

These were great! I actually used a smaller pan (9X9) and baked them about 10 minutes longer. These were plump and moist...I used about 5 small extremely ripe black bananas, the flavor was intense and smooth. I also threw some Ghiradhelli chocolate chips on top before baking, simply smashing! I'm getting ready to take these over to my in-laws house right now, these are too dangerous to be left sitting out! :) Thanks! (posted 7/7/2002) ***UPDATE***: Well this is rather strange, but I just heard back from the inlaws today, and they said, "I don't think those banana bars are something we would eat frequently. There's nothing wrong with them, they're just not to our taste." How odd, I thought, as the last time I checked they seemed to devour anything even remotely smudged with chocolate. Even so, I'm still standing by my 5-star rating.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat July 09, 2002

Tastes great and really moist, the kids loved it. I put chocolate chips in the white half, next time I'm going to try peanut butter.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy9 May 31, 2002

WOW! These were super moist and delicious, i just took themout of the oven and i had one warm topped with whipped cream, omg they are 2 die 4!! (And their not 2 bad 4 u). Definatly a keeper, thanx!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina December 16, 2002

Delicious! These were so simple to make! I did add about 1/4 cup of peanut butter to the "white" mixture, as well as sprinkled the top with chocolate chips. I too used the 8 x 8 pan, but 10 minutes longer wasn't enough time for my oven...I ended up leaving them in for 20 minutes more. Thanks for a great recipe, Debster!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl January 12, 2003

Wonderful recipe! Everyone ate them right up!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB November 10, 2002

Excellent. I took this to a potluck (can you believe this was the only desert brought out of 12 people??) and it received top marks by all. Too bad I didn't make two!!? Thanks Debster.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo August 17, 2002
Black-Bottom Banana Bars