20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommaof2Beauties February 28, 2013

This recipe was great, very easy and quick to make. I tweaked by using already cooked brown rice, and shrimp instead of sausage. This recipe would be easy to add a lot of variations depending on what I have on hand. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyceJoann November 20, 2012

We LOVED this recipe! I cooked the rice in the rice cooker with a can of chicken broth and then added it to the rest and let it simmer for about 15 mins. I also added a little more creole seasoning to mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krs0513 November 01, 2012

Giving this 5 stars for adaptability since I didn't have all the listed ingredients but was able to use substitutions and still have a very good meal! 1. I forgot the garlic entirely. 2. Used just water instead of chicken broth. 3. Used fire roasted tomatoes instead of Rotel. 4. Did not have green onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn August 30, 2012

This was really good! I halved the recipe but still used 1 can of black beans and 1/2 tsp. Tony's seasoning. I didn't have any rotel, so I mixed a can of diced tomatoes and a can of green chiles and used a little of that. It worked out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen May 15, 2010

used one tomato instead of the rotel. Otherwise, I made it just about as written. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 October 14, 2009

So so so so good and easy to make! My husband loved it and requested it to be cooked as often as possible! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a_happy_goddess July 16, 2009

Great recipe! Easy and very yummy! I used a lean chicken, poblano, queso sausage from the local market and omitted the creole seasoning. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
txyarngirl September 07, 2008

very good: perfect way to use up left over grilled kielbasa/sausage. used fresh roma tomatoes in place of the canned and made the rice separately in the rice maker and then added when it was finished. very good. used emeri's cajun spice recipe from this site as well (#22089).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annfchen July 05, 2008

Great recipe- I used kielbasa and to keep the dish from getting gummy, I rinsed the rice several times before adding it in. Thanks for a quick dinner idea that my son (who is allergic to eggs and milk) can have as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Effis April 01, 2008
Black Beans, Sausage and Rice