30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A bunch of us guys and girls like to get together each month at the shooting range & we bring a picnic with us. I brought this dish because it looked like it could also be good served cold. Prepared the same way, just served cold the next day. It was a hit. I also used Rotel and added drained Mexi-corn for more color. I used chopped celery tops because I think cilantro is a weed from satan's garden :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Old School Chef May 31, 2010

YUM! Who knew something so simple could be so filling and good? I also used two cans of Rotel as suggested by others and this turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette NC May 14, 2010

awesome recipe!! cut it in half and used extra hot rotel for the tomatoes. this is a keeper!! yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD April 05, 2009

Derf, this was great. UPDATE: today I took the leftovers and mixed in some Italian salad dressing; as I thought, it was very good. You might want to try just some oil and lemon juice instead of the dressing. Season to taste. Original review: I only made half a recipe; that was a mistake. Love the flavors. To be truthful. it was Clare Lorraine's photo that prompted me to make this recipe. And the finished product looked just like the photo. I used parsley because I don't "do" cilantro. I'm sure this would make a good cold (room temp) salad too with a little vinaigrette. A keeper for us.....Janet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski March 25, 2009

I make this recipe all the time- so healthy and simple! Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliemiller36 February 26, 2009

This went over very well at my dinner party. It's cheap, quick and easy. It would also make a great salsa for chips. It was too spicy for me. But, I'm a whimp when it comes to hot and spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha Cooks! February 08, 2009

Very good, wonderful flavor! I added 1/2 cup chopped red onion in with the garlic. Will definitely make again. Thanks Derf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacer July 09, 2008

This was a good recipe, a new fav for cooking black beans. I served with mac & cheese and buffalo burgers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anastacey June 30, 2008

Another very good way to vary a black bean meal- we eat beans a lot, and we usually end up cooking them the same way so this was a nice change. I added MORE spice (about 1/4 tsp of smoked spanish paprika) and think next time i will only drain half the liquid from the beans so the mixture is a bit thicker (personal preference). Served alongside your Mexican rice recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain June 25, 2008

This was delicious! I had some leftover black beans and canned tomatoes and this recipe is a great way to use them up. I omitted the cilantro (personal preference), but did add a spoonful of spicy salsa. This would also be wonderful inside a flour tortilla with a sprinkling of hot pepper cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 May 22, 2008
Black Beans and Tomatoes - Hot and Spicy