Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Beans and Tomatoes - Hot and Spicy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Beans and Tomatoes - Hot and Spicy

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2002

      Having to cook beans from scratch (with pre-soaking!), since we don't get them in cans here, has always made me think twice before making a beans dish because it takes so much longer. But this recipe was absolutely worth it! I used red kidney beans, which the tomatoes complimented perfectly and gave them a lovely tang. Also, I used black pepper since I didn't have cayenne, so it was less spicy, but it still made a great side for rotis at dinner tonight. Thanks Dorothy, this one's for keeps!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      Hot & Spicy love it!- I cut the recipe in half and used 1 tsp chili flakes in lieu of the cayenne. I didn't have fresh Cilanto but I did have fresh FROZEN cilantro in 1 tsp cubes - wonderful it does the job just like fresh. The canned tomatoes were Fire roasted (something new?). Served with Costa Rican Chilasquiles. The two recipes really compliment each other. Thanks Derf for yet another winner - I do love your recipes — posted Oct 12, 2004 Added comments - I have had a serving of this recipe frozen since my Oct 04 review and defrosted it for tonights dinner - perfect-I added an Anduille sausage and another 1/2 rsp of chile flakes - Wonderful again! Thanks Derf again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      Needs more cayenne, but otherwise this is a fantastic, quick meal! My partner and I have enjoyed it at least a half dozen times in the past couple of months. It's also good without cilantro, if one of your family, like me, have the gene that makes cilantro taste awful. I do recommend doubling or tripling the cayenne if you like spice even a little bit - at 1/2 tsp for the batch, I can't even detect it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      Loved this! I altered it a bit --used 5 Roma tomatoes, extra garlic, 1/4 cup fresh broccoli and only 1 can of beans. Instead of cayenne, I used Hungarian (Indian?) paprika and about 1 TBLS. of Chana Masala (I love Indian spices). Ate this w/a warm tortilla for lunch. It was just perfect. So quick, filling and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      YUMMY!!!! I really don't need to say any more. I can cook a pot of these and some rice and live on it for days!!! I added the tomato juice because I mixed it with the rice and it was really, really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      I'm still a Dorothy "groupie". This was so easy to do and so good. I used a can of Romano and Kidney beans instead of black beans. Had it with tortilla and extra hot sauce with leftovers for "afters". Thanks again Dorothy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      This is great! Made it with #108305 and a pork roast and it was a big success with my family. I halved the recipe, but did not change any of the ingredients and it was very good. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2003

      Really good and so quick to make! (Once I've soaked and cooked the beans! :-) I halved the recipe and used 1 1/2 cup of black beans, one can of chopped tomatoes (drained), 2 cloves of garlic and 1 ts of cayenne. I like it hot! I had to omit the cilantro as I didn't have any, but I'll use it the next time - I'm sure it adds that final touch! However, this was yummy even without it. Enjoyed this with tortillas which complemented the taste of this dish perfectly! Thanks Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      Fabulous recipe..... had to substitute mango salsa for tomatoes since I didn't have any on hand and it turned out awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      We made this as the main course for dinner tonight. I added shredded chicken breast along with the black beans, and served it over long grain rice. It was very good and spicy. I will absolutely make it again, and may even throw in a jalape?o pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      A bunch of us guys and girls like to get together each month at the shooting range & we bring a picnic with us. I brought this dish because it looked like it could also be good served cold. Prepared the same way, just served cold the next day. It was a hit. I also used Rotel and added drained Mexi-corn for more color. I used chopped celery tops because I think cilantro is a weed from satan's garden :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      YUM! Who knew something so simple could be so filling and good? I also used two cans of Rotel as suggested by others and this turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      awesome recipe!! cut it in half and used extra hot rotel for the tomatoes. this is a keeper!! yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Derf, this was great. UPDATE: today I took the leftovers and mixed in some Italian salad dressing; as I thought, it was very good. You might want to try just some oil and lemon juice instead of the dressing. Season to taste. Original review: I only made half a recipe; that was a mistake. Love the flavors. To be truthful. it was Clare Lorraine's photo that prompted me to make this recipe. And the finished product looked just like the photo. I used parsley because I don't "do" cilantro. I'm sure this would make a good cold (room temp) salad too with a little vinaigrette. A keeper for us.....Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I make this recipe all the time- so healthy and simple! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This went over very well at my dinner party. It's cheap, quick and easy. It would also make a great salsa for chips. It was too spicy for me. But, I'm a whimp when it comes to hot and spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Very good, wonderful flavor! I added 1/2 cup chopped red onion in with the garlic. Will definitely make again. Thanks Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This was a good recipe, a new fav for cooking black beans. I served with mac & cheese and buffalo burgers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Another very good way to vary a black bean meal- we eat beans a lot, and we usually end up cooking them the same way so this was a nice change. I added MORE spice (about 1/4 tsp of smoked spanish paprika) and think next time i will only drain half the liquid from the beans so the mixture is a bit thicker (personal preference). Served alongside your Mexican rice recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      This was delicious! I had some leftover black beans and canned tomatoes and this recipe is a great way to use them up. I omitted the cilantro (personal preference), but did add a spoonful of spicy salsa. This would also be wonderful inside a flour tortilla with a sprinkling of hot pepper cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Beans and Tomatoes - Hot and Spicy

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 128.4
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    61%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites