Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2008

      This was a great meal. We really enjoyed the combination of flavors. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I've made this recipe at least a dozen times now and it is so good that I have to double it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I don't like to give anything less than a five star review, but for some reason I wasn't fond of the vinegar taste and cinnamon, so I'll try it with less or even maybe omit it the next time around. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Needed to have a quick but delicious dinner last night and I found a winning combination! This receipe is easy, but the combination of flavors is right on! I paired it with Salsa chicken #27475 and it was wonderful! Thanks JMS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I don't like Cinnamon so I skipped it and it was quite a hit. Been making it regularly ever since. I've served this to several guests and got compliments every time. People can't believe how good this simple dish tastes ! Thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      This is delicious!! I changed the amount of cinnamon to 1/4 teaspoon and served over couscous. Yumm!!! And very easy to make :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      We made this along with fish tacos. We did not like it-- it seems that the cinnamon takes over the entire taste. Maybe omit the cinnamon. Thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      We had this along side taquitos today and loved it. The balsamic vinegar added a unique flavor that my DH and I enjoyed. I followed the recipe exactly and did use 5 to 6 dashes of hot sauce to give it an extra kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      We had this for dinner with fish tacos. The taste was spicy but not very hot and, with the tacos, made for an attractive as well as tsaty dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      I made this without tomatoes since I didn't have any one hand. It was definitely missing something. Then my b/f suggested salsa, and the dish was saved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Great recipe. I used pink beans instead of black, and several chopped tomatoes instead of one, but other than that, I followed the recipe pretty much verbatim. Served with some steamed broccoli for a very simple and filling weekday supper. Thanks JMS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      This recipe could use more info, like how long to simmer the beans for. However, the spices are great and the beans turned out really well. If you're concerned about sodium consider rinsing and draining the beans and using some extra fresh water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      I really didn't care for this recipe. I think there were too many spices mixed into it resulting in a flavor that was very strong. You couldn't taste the beans or rice because the spice flavors took over. Plus, I don't think all these spices work well together. There was somewhat of a spice clash. Sorry, I won't be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      Great recipe! my husband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      I'm sorry but I didn't like these at all. I think it must have been the cinnamon...maybe other things too. I have no idea, but I was hoping to have some great beans like they have at the rainforest cafe, just really basic. These were not to my taste at all. Sorry:(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      GREAT recipe,easy to made & tasty made just like the recipe stated. We both loved the flavor of these black beans over the rice. The cinnamon is a very good addition along with the other spices. My Dh came in from outside while this was cooking and asked what smells SOOoo good. I will be making them often, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Boy is this good. I made it just as described. I love the flavors of this dish - the cinnamon really adds a different twist! I have a vegetarian child, so this is a great addition to my recipes. The whole family loves it and she'll eat it, too! This makes more than just 2 servings for us, though. It's about 4 for us, but with two picky eaters, maybe more like 3 for normal people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      Whoa, made this exactly per recipe....awesome. It's going to be regular in my cooking lineup. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      My husband and I found this recipe on a whim. It was very good and easy to make. I would highly recommend using the hot sauce as the flavor was a bit bland without it. The only issue we had was that we didn't serve anything with it and we both wanted something on the side. Perhaps if we make a salad the next time that will do the trick. Anyhow, very good recipe - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      I made this for a friend and we both loved it. It was not only easy but also very flavorful. We both thought the cinnamon gave it an interesting complexity. I was out of garlic, so I left that out and I served over instant brown rice for an added fiber kick. Tastes wonderful seasoned with green Tabasco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (509 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 533.8
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    18%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 434.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 101.5 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 14.1 g
    56%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites