Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2002

      What great flavor from such a simple recipe! I've made this several times and this is now a staple in our house. I've served it as a side dish and as a vegetarian main dish. I had no problems with the recipe being too "soupy". I had problems only once, when I drained the black beans and the dish turned out too dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2002

      Made just the black bean portion of this for DH's birthday dinner tonight - excellent! Since I was only doing beans and not rice, I backed off on the cinnamon, and put in some chipotle pepper powder rather than mild chili powder. Oh, and didn't have an onion, so added a bit of onion powder. Brought to a boil and then simmered until the canned beans were tender. Really delicious - DH LOVED it! Thanks for an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      I found this dish too "soupy" (with the canned bean liquid) and the cinnamon and balsamic vinegar gave it kind of an odd taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      My husband said ... "This was awewome!" Even the kids liked it. Made it with brown rice and enjoyed it very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Wow, this was perfect. I was craving something south of the border, spicy and vegetarian...and this was it. We had all the ingredients, I threw in some frozen corn as well, then added too much pico pica sauce (I think that's what it's called). But it was still amazing, definately a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2014

    • on January 06, 2013

      I love this recipe! I have made it many times, but I do not include the liquid from the can of beans. This is so simple, and I have been using this recipe for years, including when I was living in China, and I was lucky enough to find balsamic vinegar on one of my shopping trips. Thank you for posting this recipe so long ago!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2012

      A great week-day meal. I drained and rinsed the black beans cause otherwise I find it too salty. Got the liquid by adding a can of peeled tomatoes. Followed the tip from other reviewers of cutting the oregano in half. For hot sauce I used "Sambal Tomaat", homemade. The consistency was just right, not too soupy, nor too dry. Next time I'll try to add some raisins to the bean mixture.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      This is delicious. I was leary of the cinnamon, but it is fine in this dish. There wasn't a problem with too much liquid because the directions call for you to simmer the beans, tomatoes, etc. This is a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

    • on August 29, 2009

      Great recipe, though we doubled the amount of spices in with the beans. It turned out great (and I don't even like beans - this one was for my hubby!) We'll be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      It is a good recipe. I did not like the vinager at all. I have made it a few times without vinager and it turned out great. I cheat and use a rice cooker so I do not need the first part of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      VERY distinct take. I did not like them, but my husband did. He said it reminded him of Cuban food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Excellent! Made as directed except I doubled it and added only 1/2 teaspoon instead of the whole teaspoon the doubled amount required. My youngest asked if I could make this every week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      This is wonderful. Somehow I made it without the oregano and chili powder, but loved the taste, so will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      On, man, this is soooo good! Deserves more than five stars. I used about a cup of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh, red wine in place of the vinegar, omitted the cinnamon (just wasn't so sure about that) and cut way back on the oregano (used about half a tspn.). Too much oregano can just ruin a recipe and this just seemed like a lot to me. I also added several dashes of cayenne pepper to spice it up. Served it over brown rice. Can't wait until tomorrow so I can eat it again. Great recipe...quick and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Very tasty! The combination of spices were just right for our tastes. I drained the beans before adding them to the saucepan, as I didn't want too much liquid. For serving, I combined the bean mixture with the rice instead of serving over the top. Served along with baked white fish. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Very aromatic and convienent. Next time I'll double the onion and garlic, add some green bell pepper and celery. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      What a delicious combination! I did drain the can of beans but used canned tomatoes with diced chiles and used the liquid in that can. I also added a pinch of sugar. After the dish was done I sprinkled some chopped cilantro. Dh and kids weren't that impressed with the recipe (dh is a meat and pototoes type) but I loved it. The combination of spices was perfect except that I did reduce the oregano to 1/2 tablespoon as I thought a full tablespoon seemed a bit much. Thank you, I will definitely be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      This recipe was good, but not exactly what I was expecting. I used a little cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce. Made this dish with Zesty Chicken Sauté, a zesty chicken saute, which was a good combo. I added some cilantro, giving this recipe a sweeter side, like mixing beans with salsa. I think the cinnamon was a great idea as well, add it! I would not reccommend instant rice, I think brown rice would have been better. It was something different though and we enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (509 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 533.8
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    18%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 434.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 101.5 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 14.1 g
    56%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites