51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What great flavor from such a simple recipe! I've made this several times and this is now a staple in our house. I've served it as a side dish and as a vegetarian main dish. I had no problems with the recipe being too "soupy". I had problems only once, when I drained the black beans and the dish turned out too dry.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinW August 29, 2002

Made just the black bean portion of this for DH's birthday dinner tonight - excellent! Since I was only doing beans and not rice, I backed off on the cinnamon, and put in some chipotle pepper powder rather than mild chili powder. Oh, and didn't have an onion, so added a bit of onion powder. Brought to a boil and then simmered until the canned beans were tender. Really delicious - DH LOVED it! Thanks for an excellent recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette December 01, 2002

I found this dish too "soupy" (with the canned bean liquid) and the cinnamon and balsamic vinegar gave it kind of an odd taste.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dahlia March 24, 2002

My husband said ... "This was awewome!" Even the kids liked it. Made it with brown rice and enjoyed it very much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Jules* April 04, 2010

Wow, this was perfect. I was craving something south of the border, spicy and vegetarian...and this was it. We had all the ingredients, I threw in some frozen corn as well, then added too much pico pica sauce (I think that's what it's called). But it was still amazing, definately a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JumpingHorses December 06, 2009

I love this recipe! I have made it many times, but I do not include the liquid from the can of beans. This is so simple, and I have been using this recipe for years, including when I was living in China, and I was lucky enough to find balsamic vinegar on one of my shopping trips. Thank you for posting this recipe so long ago!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissLinguist January 06, 2013

A great week-day meal. I drained and rinsed the black beans cause otherwise I find it too salty. Got the liquid by adding a can of peeled tomatoes. Followed the tip from other reviewers of cutting the oregano in half. For hot sauce I used "Sambal Tomaat", homemade. The consistency was just right, not too soupy, nor too dry. Next time I'll try to add some raisins to the bean mixture.
Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo May 12, 2012

This is delicious. I was leary of the cinnamon, but it is fine in this dish. There wasn't a problem with too much liquid because the directions call for you to simmer the beans, tomatoes, etc. This is a keeper! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 April 11, 2012
Black Beans and Rice