53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What great flavor from such a simple recipe! I've made this several times and this is now a staple in our house. I've served it as a side dish and as a vegetarian main dish. I had no problems with the recipe being too "soupy". I had problems only once, when I drained the black beans and the dish turned out too dry.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinW August 29, 2002

Made just the black bean portion of this for DH's birthday dinner tonight - excellent! Since I was only doing beans and not rice, I backed off on the cinnamon, and put in some chipotle pepper powder rather than mild chili powder. Oh, and didn't have an onion, so added a bit of onion powder. Brought to a boil and then simmered until the canned beans were tender. Really delicious - DH LOVED it! Thanks for an excellent recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette December 01, 2002

I found this dish too "soupy" (with the canned bean liquid) and the cinnamon and balsamic vinegar gave it kind of an odd taste.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dahlia March 24, 2002

My husband said ... "This was awewome!" Even the kids liked it. Made it with brown rice and enjoyed it very much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Jules* April 04, 2010

Wow, this was perfect. I was craving something south of the border, spicy and vegetarian...and this was it. We had all the ingredients, I threw in some frozen corn as well, then added too much pico pica sauce (I think that's what it's called). But it was still amazing, definately a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JumpingHorses December 06, 2009

On, man, this is soooo good! Deserves more than five stars. I used about a cup of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh, red wine in place of the vinegar, omitted the cinnamon (just wasn't so sure about that) and cut way back on the oregano (used about half a tspn.). Too much oregano can just ruin a recipe and this just seemed like a lot to me. I also added several dashes of cayenne pepper to spice it up. Served it over brown rice. Can't wait until tomorrow so I can eat it again. Great recipe...quick and easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TendrMoon November 09, 2008

This was great! Hubby thoroughly enjoyed this and asked me to make it again. The only things I did differently was drain and rinse the beans (too salty otherwise) and used a can of diced tomatoes in place of chopped tomato. I have no fear using cinnamon in dishes and have used it in chili before. It definitely adds a delicious unique twist to this dish! Don't be afraid to use it! All in all, this truly was awesome! This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
violetsareblue May 20, 2015

My family and friends love these. Only thing I do different is use dried beans. We love the flavor. Served with brown rice and it is filling and great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loonydaycarelady March 27, 2015

I love this recipe! I have made it many times, but I do not include the liquid from the can of beans. This is so simple, and I have been using this recipe for years, including when I was living in China, and I was lucky enough to find balsamic vinegar on one of my shopping trips. Thank you for posting this recipe so long ago!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissLinguist January 06, 2013
Black Beans and Rice