8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great alternative to chili. I put in 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and a 15 oz. can of drained and diced tomatoes instead of 15 oz. of tomato sauce. I didn't add the salt and thought it was still a little salty. Maybe garlic powder instead of garlic salt next time. Very good! Thank you Laurie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW April 21, 2008

I love skillet meals! This had great flavor and went very well with rice. Because of the reviews and the fact that kielbasa tends to be salty, I didn't add any salt and used garlic powder instead. I also bought kielbasa with cheddar cheese by accident so maybe that added extra saltiness too! This will definitely be on my "make again" list! Thanks sister :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AustinsAm July 17, 2014

I'll be brutally honest. I wasn't too excited about making this dish, but the cupboards were getting bare and we happened to have all the ingredients. I made the recipe as stated, with the exception of using a crock pot. After a couple of hours, the kitchen started smelling really good. When it was time to eat, the meal tasted superb. I only needed to add a few drops of hot sauce on mine because I like a bit of a kick. Thank you, LaurieL, for posting this. I've put this one in my file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheBurgerDude June 29, 2011

We have a large family, so I made two batches of this recipe. One with beans and one without. Both were delicous. Will be making this again. Thank you LaurieL. for sharing this recipe = )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christiansenfamily1992 January 04, 2010

Perfect fall meal!! I only had 1/2 lb. of kielbasa on hand, and that was my BF's only complaint - he wanted more meat. Delicious!! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug November 17, 2009

easy and delicious. what more is there to say? i skipped the garlic, worcestershire, chili powder, salt, pepper and parsley and it was still good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anozira86 November 02, 2009

Lots of flavor in this dish! I made cleanup easier by sauteing the kielbasa with the onions and garlic, then dumping in the beans, seasonings, and tomato sauce. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and then forgot to add the salt and pepper at the end- we didn't miss it. The tomato sauce picked up all the other flavors quite well. Yummy and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn August 26, 2008

Wow! My family loved this! I changed the recipe slightly. I made it with home-cooked pinto beans and used a can of cream of tomato soup instead of tomato sauce. I also added some cut up bok choy stalks and about 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. We then had it over rice and bok choy leaves (uncooked). It was really really good, kindof like something between chili and baked beans. We will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fab.butcher January 21, 2008
Black Beans and Kielbasa With Rice