12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've actually made this about five times already because my kids who are vegetarians love it! Easy to make ahead and travels well. Be sure to serve with salsa - that adds the perfect touch

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue November 15, 2003

This is my second review of these. While I had some problems with the exection last time, these were too good not to try again. This time, I used black bean soup instead of plain beans, which I drained, but not completely. This solved the dry bean problem for me. Then I discovered when rolling them up that if I put a thin layer of beans all over the tortilla, then a layer of cheese on only half of it, but then roll it cheese half first, the cheese gets pushed along, the whole thing gets filled, but you have a firmer roll that is easier to cut. Did I explain that right? These are wonderful and my guests loved them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie August 29, 2004

These are a great summertime or anytime treat! I made the recipe as stated, but omitted the red onions, and I used whole wheat tortillas. Yum! Everyone really enjoyed them. My mother asked if she could take the two leftover rolls home to serve her Bible study group. Thanks for sharing this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Lee June 16, 2003

These are awesome pinwheels. I made them for a his/her bridal shower. I added just a touch of bean juice to the blender. That made the beans blend better and spread easier. The cream cheese layer made them extra yummy. A huge hit with everyone and just wish I had made more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauren-Grace February 23, 2003

I took these to our tennis match and they were gobbled up in no time. The only thing I did different is to use "reduced fat" cream cheese. They are really delicious with a good salsa on the side!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs in Toyland April 05, 2002

i tried this but changed the black beans for red kidney beans as its easier and cheaper to buy.turned out great. i also added a chopped red pepper to the spead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heyam mostafa November 24, 2004

I'm not sure exactly what happened when I made these, as so many others didn't have the problem I did, but I found these too sloppy to roll, and then they were too soft to cut well. I may try them again, using 1/2 C. sour cream instead of 1 C.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaillardia July 05, 2004

I added a little shredded lettuce to give some crunch and color and served with homemade HOT salsa. They were a heat! This is a very easy and inexpensive make ahead appetizer. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ November 01, 2003

Tebo, Took these for our linger-longer at church last Sunday, They were gone in a flash,everyone liked them,they were very easy to make too. Thanks,Darlene Summers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers July 05, 2003

These are wonderful! I made them for a family event and got several requests for the recipe. I made them without the olives and they were were still fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan Call March 28, 2003
Black Bean Tortilla Pinwheels