Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Tortilla Pinwheels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Tortilla Pinwheels

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2003

      I've actually made this about five times already because my kids who are vegetarians love it! Easy to make ahead and travels well. Be sure to serve with salsa - that adds the perfect touch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      This is my second review of these. While I had some problems with the exection last time, these were too good not to try again. This time, I used black bean soup instead of plain beans, which I drained, but not completely. This solved the dry bean problem for me. Then I discovered when rolling them up that if I put a thin layer of beans all over the tortilla, then a layer of cheese on only half of it, but then roll it cheese half first, the cheese gets pushed along, the whole thing gets filled, but you have a firmer roll that is easier to cut. Did I explain that right? These are wonderful and my guests loved them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      These are a great summertime or anytime treat! I made the recipe as stated, but omitted the red onions, and I used whole wheat tortillas. Yum! Everyone really enjoyed them. My mother asked if she could take the two leftover rolls home to serve her Bible study group. Thanks for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      These are awesome pinwheels. I made them for a his/her bridal shower. I added just a touch of bean juice to the blender. That made the beans blend better and spread easier. The cream cheese layer made them extra yummy. A huge hit with everyone and just wish I had made more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2002

      I took these to our tennis match and they were gobbled up in no time. The only thing I did different is to use "reduced fat" cream cheese. They are really delicious with a good salsa on the side!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2004

      i tried this but changed the black beans for red kidney beans as its easier and cheaper to buy.turned out great. i also added a chopped red pepper to the spead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      I'm not sure exactly what happened when I made these, as so many others didn't have the problem I did, but I found these too sloppy to roll, and then they were too soft to cut well. I may try them again, using 1/2 C. sour cream instead of 1 C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2003

      I added a little shredded lettuce to give some crunch and color and served with homemade HOT salsa. They were a heat! This is a very easy and inexpensive make ahead appetizer. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      Tebo, Took these for our linger-longer at church last Sunday, They were gone in a flash,everyone liked them,they were very easy to make too. Thanks,Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2003

      These are wonderful! I made them for a family event and got several requests for the recipe. I made them without the olives and they were were still fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      This was fantastic, and I did't even add the olives because many in my family don't like green olives. It was so much more flavorful than most of the pinwheels I have made, and rolled up nicer than most. I set down the plate and by the time I turned away and back, half were gone. I'm making them again this weekend for my Bunco girls and the only thing I'm doing differently, is doubling up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2002

      This recipe was good- make sure you have the salsa on the side, I think it makes the flavor complete. It certainly didin't take me 3 hours to prep...i used my food processor though (in stages). I found that the amount of black beans listed would only make enough for 6 tortillas, though. I made this recipe and the one with ham, green chiles and green onions.. they were actually the preferred. But if you want a vegetarian appetizer- these are a great choice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Tortilla Pinwheels

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.0
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    60%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 22.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 176.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pimento stuffed olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites