Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Sweet Potato Burritos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Sweet Potato Burritos

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2010

      I tweaked these because I like a moister, more together filling for burritos. I microwaved my sweet potatoes and then diced them--about 3/4 to 1" dice. I sauted my onion and some garlic in olive oil and then added the beans (undrained) and the sweet potatoes and a 4 oz can of tomato sauce. In addition to the cumin and cinnamon, I added about 1/2 tsp of chili powder. I wrapped it in a whole wheat tortilla and grated on a bit of regular cheddar cheese (though I think monterey jack or pepper jack would both be great) and served it with some picante sauce on the side. I think brown rice/spanish rice as a side or in the burrito itself would be smashing. Definite do over and went together fast with microwaving the sweet potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      I thought these were really simple and healthy burritos to make. I was not wowed like other reviewers though. The only sub I made was to use real cheese instead of soy cheese. I used burrito size tortillas and made 4 larger ones. If I had made 8, I think they would have been too small. BF thought they were weird, I enjoyed them though. It might be something I make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Some of my sweet potatoes were still a little bit hard, but, i'm guessing that just means i needed to cook them even longer, though there were some that were mushy also - not too sure. I made some without cheese for the picky boyfriend, but, used a mexican blend for mine...next time maybe mozzarella instead. Really simple and yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Love this recipe! I rolled some into burritos and made some quesadilla-style too. I thought the cinnamon might be to sweet but was good, though next time I will use more cumin. I will surely make this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Outstanding. We made this once and I can't believe I forgot to review it. I looked up the recipe tonight because we'll be making a double recipe to freeze for lunches. We Go ahead and bake them with a little brush of butter on the top and then freeze them individually wrapped in parchment paper. They hold extraordinarily well. I used regular cheese and reduced the amount of cinnamon a touch. Thank you Valeria!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Very good way to get a healthy and fulfilling meal. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars, is because I don't like sweet potatoes and black beans. LoL! However, I like trying new things and this recipe made me enjoy to healthy products that I wouldn't normally eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      My whole family loved these. Great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      Fabulous! The new favorite meal in our house! I made these with a mild jack cheese and they were delicious. The cumin and cinnamon are subtle but really make this dish excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      I can't believe I forgot to rate this--I made it almost weekly throughout the winter and look forward to making it again more regularly now that the weather is getting cooler. The only change that I made is to bake the sweet potatoes ahead of time and then add them to the sauteed, carmelized onions and spices. After that is mixed well together, I add the beans and cook until all of the flavors mingle and the filling mixture is soft and mashed together. I accidently doubled the spices and onion and still loved it! I always serve it between tortillas folded in half after they are lightly browned on both sides in olive oil in a cast oil pan. I serve them with pepper-jack soy cheese inside and salsa on top. Thanks for this fabulous recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      This is a great recipe that can be changed up to suit different tastes. I used pepper jack cheese instead of soy and also added a bit of cooked brown rice to each burrito. We've been eating much less meat lately and this is such a great, healthy burrito that's much different than I normally make. We thought the cinnamon was more prominent than we liked, so I'll cut back to 1/4 tsp. next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      I made a couple changes. Cheddar cheese for the soy and halved the recipe but otherwise as written. I felt it needed something to spice it up. It is very filling and healthy though and worth playing with. I'll try it again and doctor the spices up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      These are really good! I thought the sweet potatoes would make these burritos starchy or two sweet, but they make a substantial (and quite nutritious) meal. I really enjoyed having them as cold leftovers the next day; they make a refreshing alternative to a lunchmeat sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Sweet Potato Burritos

    Serving Size: 1 (1213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 250.3
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    12%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 631.9 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    soy cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites