12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tweaked these because I like a moister, more together filling for burritos. I microwaved my sweet potatoes and then diced them--about 3/4 to 1" dice. I sauted my onion and some garlic in olive oil and then added the beans (undrained) and the sweet potatoes and a 4 oz can of tomato sauce. In addition to the cumin and cinnamon, I added about 1/2 tsp of chili powder. I wrapped it in a whole wheat tortilla and grated on a bit of regular cheddar cheese (though I think monterey jack or pepper jack would both be great) and served it with some picante sauce on the side. I think brown rice/spanish rice as a side or in the burrito itself would be smashing. Definite do over and went together fast with microwaving the sweet potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ May 19, 2010

I thought these were really simple and healthy burritos to make. I was not wowed like other reviewers though. The only sub I made was to use real cheese instead of soy cheese. I used burrito size tortillas and made 4 larger ones. If I had made 8, I think they would have been too small. BF thought they were weird, I enjoyed them though. It might be something I make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie November 18, 2009

Some of my sweet potatoes were still a little bit hard, but, i'm guessing that just means i needed to cook them even longer, though there were some that were mushy also - not too sure. I made some without cheese for the picky boyfriend, but, used a mexican blend for mine...next time maybe mozzarella instead. Really simple and yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ January 09, 2009

Love this recipe! I rolled some into burritos and made some quesadilla-style too. I thought the cinnamon might be to sweet but was good, though next time I will use more cumin. I will surely make this again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in AK December 09, 2008

Outstanding. We made this once and I can't believe I forgot to review it. I looked up the recipe tonight because we'll be making a double recipe to freeze for lunches. We Go ahead and bake them with a little brush of butter on the top and then freeze them individually wrapped in parchment paper. They hold extraordinarily well. I used regular cheese and reduced the amount of cinnamon a touch. Thank you Valeria!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay December 27, 2007

Very good way to get a healthy and fulfilling meal. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars, is because I don't like sweet potatoes and black beans. LoL! However, I like trying new things and this recipe made me enjoy to healthy products that I wouldn't normally eat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene September 30, 2007

My whole family loved these. Great meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anastacey July 02, 2007

Fabulous! The new favorite meal in our house! I made these with a mild jack cheese and they were delicious. The cumin and cinnamon are subtle but really make this dish excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcquea01 February 08, 2007

I can't believe I forgot to rate this--I made it almost weekly throughout the winter and look forward to making it again more regularly now that the weather is getting cooler. The only change that I made is to bake the sweet potatoes ahead of time and then add them to the sauteed, carmelized onions and spices. After that is mixed well together, I add the beans and cook until all of the flavors mingle and the filling mixture is soft and mashed together. I accidently doubled the spices and onion and still loved it! I always serve it between tortillas folded in half after they are lightly browned on both sides in olive oil in a cast oil pan. I serve them with pepper-jack soy cheese inside and salsa on top. Thanks for this fabulous recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riversanctuary September 14, 2006

This is a great recipe that can be changed up to suit different tastes. I used pepper jack cheese instead of soy and also added a bit of cooked brown rice to each burrito. We've been eating much less meat lately and this is such a great, healthy burrito that's much different than I normally make. We thought the cinnamon was more prominent than we liked, so I'll cut back to 1/4 tsp. next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 August 19, 2006
Black Bean Sweet Potato Burritos