Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2013

      Delicious! I took the advise of other reviewers and saut?ed the onions before cooking. Also, to prevent burning of the cheese, I added it at the last 5 minutes. It was perfect! And mixed a little cheese in with the rice mixture. So good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      These had absolutely no flavor. They need some spices!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      Wonderful! This is coming from someone who doesn't like a lot of vegetables. I also added cheese last five minutes and wished I had sauted the onion. I made all the filling but only cooked half one night and the other half the next night so I had fresh peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      A really easy recipe for a healthy and filling stuffed pepper! I love how it's hearty enough to be a main dish even though it doesn't have meat. I doubled the beans and sauteed the onions before mixing them into the rice. I also used half a can of the tomatoes with chilis and used fresh salsa for the remaining 5 ounces. I mixed half of the cheese in with the rice before stuffing the peppers. Then I topped the peppers with the remaining cheese like the recipe directs, but next time I'd omit that cheese since it just forms a hard crust on top of the peppers that's not very pleasant. Also, following other reviewer's tips, I sliced the peppers lengthwise to stuff and cook them. Perfect texture for the peppers, and the inside was nice and hot after a 30-minute cook time. We loved the results and will definitely be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      We really liked the concept, but thought it needed a little tweaking. There's a tension between wanting to get the peppers and onions cooked a tad more (not so much as to lose *all* the crunch, though) and not burning the cheese topping. I think another reviewer's suggestion about cutting the peppers in half and laying them flat might be the answer. Would give more surface to cover with cheese, too -- always a good idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      Very tasty and I love how easy this is to make. Looked great with red and yellow bell peppers. I used a mild salsa instead of the tomatoes with green chilies. I also layered in a mix of shredded cheeses. After prepping the peppers and before stuffing them, I cooked them in the microwave with some water for 5 minutes. I like the peppers to be very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I used a portion of a package of Mexican Rice Side for this and it worked great! I cut my peppers in half as well, and chose to use both a red and orange pepper. My husband liked the red better, and I prefered the orange. It worked out even better to use the rest of the rice to eat along with it since we thought it balanced out the pepper a little better to have more rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Very enjoyable recipe. I only baked 2 peppers, cut them sideways- I added a Jalapeno pepper and 170 gr of Mexican style Vegetarian burger. I cut back on the rice. I wasn't sure if you drained & rinsed the beans but thought it would be too wet if I didn't drain & rinse. Baked at 350 for 25 minutes with no water. The peppers still had a lovely crunch to them. This recipe will be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      MMM Excellent and different!! We loved them, made as posted except I too used different tomatoes, diced with a few red pepper flakes added. Next time I will just make half of the stuffing, I had as much left over as I used, my peppers must have been a lot smaller and I used 5 peppers. I put the extra stuffing in a small casserole and baked along with the peppers, I'm sure it will make a lovely side dish! Thanks for posting I will be making these again!! DH loved them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      This is a good way to use the plentiful harvest of bell peppers I have in my garden. I used a can of regular tomatoes and added some salsa, since I didn't have any tomatoes with chilies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (391 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.9
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    30%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 290.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 10.9 g
    43%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fat-free cheddar cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites