10 Reviews

Delicious! I took the advise of other reviewers and saut?ed the onions before cooking. Also, to prevent burning of the cheese, I added it at the last 5 minutes. It was perfect! And mixed a little cheese in with the rice mixture. So good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cait1202 March 10, 2013

These had absolutely no flavor. They need some spices!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icandoit185 September 24, 2013

Wonderful! This is coming from someone who doesn't like a lot of vegetables. I also added cheese last five minutes and wished I had sauted the onion. I made all the filling but only cooked half one night and the other half the next night so I had fresh peppers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Winniepooh March 15, 2013

A really easy recipe for a healthy and filling stuffed pepper! I love how it's hearty enough to be a main dish even though it doesn't have meat. I doubled the beans and sauteed the onions before mixing them into the rice. I also used half a can of the tomatoes with chilis and used fresh salsa for the remaining 5 ounces. I mixed half of the cheese in with the rice before stuffing the peppers. Then I topped the peppers with the remaining cheese like the recipe directs, but next time I'd omit that cheese since it just forms a hard crust on top of the peppers that's not very pleasant. Also, following other reviewer's tips, I sliced the peppers lengthwise to stuff and cook them. Perfect texture for the peppers, and the inside was nice and hot after a 30-minute cook time. We loved the results and will definitely be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. McB June 04, 2012

We really liked the concept, but thought it needed a little tweaking. There's a tension between wanting to get the peppers and onions cooked a tad more (not so much as to lose *all* the crunch, though) and not burning the cheese topping. I think another reviewer's suggestion about cutting the peppers in half and laying them flat might be the answer. Would give more surface to cover with cheese, too -- always a good idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole June 28, 2011

Very tasty and I love how easy this is to make. Looked great with red and yellow bell peppers. I used a mild salsa instead of the tomatoes with green chilies. I also layered in a mix of shredded cheeses. After prepping the peppers and before stuffing them, I cooked them in the microwave with some water for 5 minutes. I like the peppers to be very tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evening June 24, 2011

I used a portion of a package of Mexican Rice Side for this and it worked great! I cut my peppers in half as well, and chose to use both a red and orange pepper. My husband liked the red better, and I prefered the orange. It worked out even better to use the rest of the rice to eat along with it since we thought it balanced out the pepper a little better to have more rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer June 21, 2010

Very enjoyable recipe. I only baked 2 peppers, cut them sideways- I added a Jalapeno pepper and 170 gr of Mexican style Vegetarian burger. I cut back on the rice. I wasn't sure if you drained & rinsed the beans but thought it would be too wet if I didn't drain & rinse. Baked at 350 for 25 minutes with no water. The peppers still had a lovely crunch to them. This recipe will be made again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 29, 2010

MMM Excellent and different!! We loved them, made as posted except I too used different tomatoes, diced with a few red pepper flakes added. Next time I will just make half of the stuffing, I had as much left over as I used, my peppers must have been a lot smaller and I used 5 peppers. I put the extra stuffing in a small casserole and baked along with the peppers, I'm sure it will make a lovely side dish! Thanks for posting I will be making these again!! DH loved them!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf February 16, 2010

This is a good way to use the plentiful harvest of bell peppers I have in my garden. I used a can of regular tomatoes and added some salsa, since I didn't have any tomatoes with chilies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blessed*One September 24, 2009
Black Bean Stuffed Bell Peppers