8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last night and it was so quick and easy and delicious!! I used 2 cans of Trader Joe's black beans, so it only took about 20 minutes to cook. I let it sit on the stove on warm for about 45 minutes total, and it was fantastic. Will definitely make again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
driggs63 September 22, 2011

Nice and filling..... and healthy, too! I made this as written using canned black beans (3 cups). This was super tasty, but I felt it was too liquidy. I think 6 cups of broth was way too much for the recipe. Next time I would decrease the broth and/or maybe puree some of the soup. I garnished with sour cream, cilantro and the lime juice. Yummy! Thanx for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* October 12, 2010

My whole family liked this soup a lot. I used canned beans, and left out the corainder (beacuse I didn't have any). I did add a can of diced tomatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta August 04, 2006

I was very skeptical about this recipe initially, making it only to use up a small amount of both key ingredients I had laying around. It was actually really good and even better the second day. I agree with the other reviewer in that the lime juice definitely adds a great flavor (although it was good without too!).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leblanc.heather January 03, 2009

very impressive soup. simple recipe to follow, used all organic ingredients but found i hadno coriander or cumin as i thought i had. i did have some curry and looked up curry on this site and found it had both coriander and cumin in it so added 1/2 tsp of that and hoped for the best. it was outstanding. i used canned beans as well and did not drain them before adding which i think gave the soup a nice consistency. the lime should not be left out as it gives it such a nice finish at the end. thank you so much for sharing this easy and delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey November 09, 2006

WOW! Great flavor and easy. I used 3 cans beans instead of dried. DH wants his Black bean soup with this recipe from now on. Great combination of flavor. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooksie October 06, 2006

I went with the canned beans option. I liked the soup quite a bit but found the spices a bit strong for me. I'll definitely make it again but cut back a bit on the spices and maybe add some garlic as KITTENCAL suggests in her review. Part way through eating, I squeezed my lime slice into the soup and really like what it added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo August 13, 2006

We enjoyed this soup, I used one onion and 2 tablespoons garlic sauteed in some butter, also I adjusted the amounts lightly. Thanks for posting akgrown!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen July 11, 2006
Black Bean Soup With Sweet Potatoes