Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Soup With Cumin and Coriander Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Soup With Cumin and Coriander

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2013

      So delicious for DD1 (5 years old), DD2 (15 months) and I. I did use additional home-made stock instead of water and may have reduced the cayenne somewhat. I used organic light tasting extra virgin olive oil, extra organic carrot, a few dashes of celery seeds as I had no celery on hand, no bell pepper, organic garlic cloves, organic cilantro (fresh coriander), sea salt, to taste, the larger amount of cumin, sweet paprika as that is all I had, Eden brand organic black beans, organic yogurt in place of sour cream to be corn free, freshly squeezed lemon juice lemon juice instead of lime as that is what I also had on hand, plus the rest of the ingredients. I would make this again. Made for Healthy Choices Tag Game 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      I made a half-recipe and discovered at the last minute that I was lacking black beans per se, but I did have refried black beans... substituted them in. This was excellent! Otherwise followed recipe exactly (minus the fresh cilantro which my grocery was out of) -- the cilantro would have been a great additional touch. A good solid and tasty soup, and a portion will go with me to work for lunch this week. Made for veg'n swap May 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Oh boy, did I love this soup. I cut my carrots and celery into slices and loved the added texture to the soup. The cayenne was a nice and welcome addition - just a hint of spice. The only thing I did differently was to add another cup of water as it was simmering. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      This was a very flavourful soup. I feel that the sour cream/lime juice/cilantro mixture added the perfect final touch to the soup.Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Good soup! We loved all of the vegetables along with the black beans. The seasonings were very good - loved the little zip from the cayenne! Thanks for sharing! Veg*n Swap 31

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      This is my new favourite soup! I added more water but also kept all of the liquid from the canned black beans, and that helped thicken the soup and gave it a nice dark colour. I also added some onion powder, garlic powder, and a whole lot of black pepper for a little extra flavour and it was outstanding! I've had two bowls of it and I'm trying my best to not eat the whole pot. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      I loved the consistency of this soup...very thick and plenty of veggies! I did find it a little too spicy for my taste and would recommend omitting the cayenne pepper. It ended up overpowering the beautiful flavors of the cumin, paprika, and bay leaves. I think that simmering for longer would also meld the flavors better too. Thanks Studentchef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Soup With Cumin and Coriander

    Serving Size: 1 (1700 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.2
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    34%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 7.4 mg
    2%
    Sodium 326.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh coriander

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites