32 Reviews

Great soup, mashed up the beans a little before serving.Will definately make this again,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs September 26, 2009

Just made this for dinner and everyone enjoyed it. The only changes I made was to add fresh cilantro and oregano. I used less chili powder and cayenne than the recipe stated because I put in a 1/2 can of chopped hot jalepeno instead of the fresh and that made it hot enough! Thanks for submitting a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakedapple42 September 15, 2009

I have been looking for this recipe for years. Finally found it! I mashed the beans and used it as a dip for tortilla chips. Yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
On-the-Mark September 02, 2009

Super Awesome recipe. We've made it several times for friends and family to rave reviews. My hubby has a co-worker that has made the recipe almost every week since finding it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZCOOKR July 26, 2009

I made this with beef broth and cut it in half, as it was just me eating and 3 servings = 3 meals. I'd say it has all the right ingredients for a tasty soup, but somehow ended up just ho hum. It wasn't bad, mind you, but neither was it spectacular. I doubt the chicken vs. beef broth would make any difference, as the flavor of the broth was overpowered 100% by the black beans. I didn't mind eating it, but I won't be making this again. Looking for something with a bit more pizazz in a black bean soup. . . If the left-overs are better than the fresh, then I'll edit this review when I've eaten the soup again. (Soup is funny that way. Sometimes it surprises you on day 2.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest June 16, 2009

Delicouse! It got spicier as the days went by. Yummy thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JAG0913 February 18, 2009

wow, this is absolutly awesome!!!!!!!! i did everything as it said except for the hot stuff, my hubby and i dont like too much spice so i toned it down a lot. but everythign else i did as it says, ans i have to say i have been cooking black beans since for ever, but this was defenetly a step up for me!!!! thanks so much for a woderfull one!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vivianapiolin July 12, 2008

What a great soup!!!! I added a little extra broth, and shredded a roasted chicken from the deli up to make it a meal for us carnivores ;-) Fabulous!! Topped with fried tortilla strips and sourcream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv April 13, 2008

I have made this several times, now and I LOVE this soup! I add a little more jalapeno and garlic. Last time, I added some finely diced bell pepper. YUMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
used2beyung April 09, 2008

Finally, the recipe I've been looking for! This was excellent and so easy to make. I of course made a few changes. I used 3 cans of black beans. I added the first one whole and mashed the other 2 cans with a potato masher. I then added a can of corn with peppers and a can of tomatoes with green chiles. Perfecto!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hethwa December 16, 2007
Black Bean Soup