Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2003

      i could swear i reviewed these when i first made them. this is THE recipe for black beans. i reserved half of the beans to serve with rice, and added 4 c of stock to make a soup with the rest. this will permanently replace my old recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      Wow! What a wonderful soup, Not sure if I got carried away with the cayenne or the jalapeno but my lips may never be the same. May tame the fire next time. Still have to do the topping bit which would also make a diff. But really great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2003

      This was excellent. If you cannot take the "fire" reduce the amount of pepper(s) to the low end as stated in the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      I made these with just a few minor adjustments. I skipped the bacon and used olive oil to saute the veggies, I doubled the carrots and celery, and rather than cayenne pepper, I used a bit of chipotle chilli powder. Wow, the beans are yummy! I portioned them out and froze them to grab to take to work for lunches, with some veggies and some home-made bread. but I'm sure I'll pull them out and use them for dinners or the refried beans as another reviewer suggested!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Beans are not even done yet - keep stealing tastes of the broth. AWESOME! Did use 8 oz ham instead of 4 oz bacon - might lower the fat a bit that way....can't wait til dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I've eaten many a black bean and this recipe, by far, is the best. It has a rich, complex flavor that isn't heavy. The first time I made it I reduced the liquid because didn't want it too soupy, but this was a mistake. Add what the recipe calls for and let the beans cook until the desired consistency is achieved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Did not have bacon ,so I cooked veggies in butter. Also,had to use garlic powder and left out chili powder. Felt that might make it taste too much like chili and I wanted a different taste.Also cooked it in crock pot cause I had to take dd to Dr.Very good. Kids and I liked it. Dh said it was,just okay. Probably won't make again cause he didn't like it.Might make for pot lucks though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      As noted in a previous review, this makes an astounding dip by mashing it after cooking. Bring this, along with some tortilla chips (or other dipping goodies) to people's house on the holiday gatherings. It'll be a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Fantastic!!!! I halved the recipe but didn't halve the spices (an oops on my part) but it was so good. Cooked it as recommended til most of the broth was evaporated and served it over rice. This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Made this last night for tonights dinner, wow great recipe. I changed one thing, swapped ground turkey smokey chipolte sausages removed from casings, for the bacon. O.M.G. delish. Thanks for the fabulous recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Great soup, mashed up the beans a little before serving.Will definately make this again,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Just made this for dinner and everyone enjoyed it. The only changes I made was to add fresh cilantro and oregano. I used less chili powder and cayenne than the recipe stated because I put in a 1/2 can of chopped hot jalepeno instead of the fresh and that made it hot enough! Thanks for submitting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I have been looking for this recipe for years. Finally found it! I mashed the beans and used it as a dip for tortilla chips. Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Super Awesome recipe. We've made it several times for friends and family to rave reviews. My hubby has a co-worker that has made the recipe almost every week since finding it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      I made this with beef broth and cut it in half, as it was just me eating and 3 servings = 3 meals. I'd say it has all the right ingredients for a tasty soup, but somehow ended up just ho hum. It wasn't bad, mind you, but neither was it spectacular. I doubt the chicken vs. beef broth would make any difference, as the flavor of the broth was overpowered 100% by the black beans. I didn't mind eating it, but I won't be making this again. Looking for something with a bit more pizazz in a black bean soup. . . If the left-overs are better than the fresh, then I'll edit this review when I've eaten the soup again. (Soup is funny that way. Sometimes it surprises you on day 2.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Delicouse! It got spicier as the days went by. Yummy thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      wow, this is absolutly awesome!!!!!!!! i did everything as it said except for the hot stuff, my hubby and i dont like too much spice so i toned it down a lot. but everythign else i did as it says, ans i have to say i have been cooking black beans since for ever, but this was defenetly a step up for me!!!! thanks so much for a woderfull one!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      What a great soup!!!! I added a little extra broth, and shredded a roasted chicken from the deli up to make it a meal for us carnivores ;-) Fabulous!! Topped with fried tortilla strips and sourcream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I have made this several times, now and I LOVE this soup! I add a little more jalapeno and garlic. Last time, I added some finely diced bell pepper. YUMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Finally, the recipe I've been looking for! This was excellent and so easy to make. I of course made a few changes. I used 3 cans of black beans. I added the first one whole and mashed the other 2 cans with a potato masher. I then added a can of corn with peppers and a can of tomatoes with green chiles. Perfecto!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (648 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.1
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    38%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 12.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1213.3 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 16.2 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites