32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i could swear i reviewed these when i first made them. this is THE recipe for black beans. i reserved half of the beans to serve with rice, and added 4 c of stock to make a soup with the rest. this will permanently replace my old recipe

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia January 16, 2003

Wow! What a wonderful soup, Not sure if I got carried away with the cayenne or the jalapeno but my lips may never be the same. May tame the fire next time. Still have to do the topping bit which would also make a diff. But really great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MDearest March 11, 2004

This was excellent. If you cannot take the "fire" reduce the amount of pepper(s) to the low end as stated in the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed December 24, 2003

I made these with just a few minor adjustments. I skipped the bacon and used olive oil to saute the veggies, I doubled the carrots and celery, and rather than cayenne pepper, I used a bit of chipotle chilli powder. Wow, the beans are yummy! I portioned them out and froze them to grab to take to work for lunches, with some veggies and some home-made bread. but I'm sure I'll pull them out and use them for dinners or the refried beans as another reviewer suggested!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pwdcrazy January 13, 2013

Beans are not even done yet - keep stealing tastes of the broth. AWESOME! Did use 8 oz ham instead of 4 oz bacon - might lower the fat a bit that way....can't wait til dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! January 06, 2013

I've eaten many a black bean and this recipe, by far, is the best. It has a rich, complex flavor that isn't heavy. The first time I made it I reduced the liquid because didn't want it too soupy, but this was a mistake. Add what the recipe calls for and let the beans cook until the desired consistency is achieved.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
specialkdw May 18, 2010

Did not have bacon ,so I cooked veggies in butter. Also,had to use garlic powder and left out chili powder. Felt that might make it taste too much like chili and I wanted a different taste.Also cooked it in crock pot cause I had to take dd to Dr.Very good. Kids and I liked it. Dh said it was,just okay. Probably won't make again cause he didn't like it.Might make for pot lucks though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom January 08, 2010

As noted in a previous review, this makes an astounding dip by mashing it after cooking. Bring this, along with some tortilla chips (or other dipping goodies) to people's house on the holiday gatherings. It'll be a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainbowz December 15, 2009

Fantastic!!!! I halved the recipe but didn't halve the spices (an oops on my part) but it was so good. Cooked it as recommended til most of the broth was evaporated and served it over rice. This is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
athenalove46 November 09, 2009

Made this last night for tonights dinner, wow great recipe. I changed one thing, swapped ground turkey smokey chipolte sausages removed from casings, for the bacon. O.M.G. delish. Thanks for the fabulous recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B. September 29, 2009
Black Bean Soup