46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good but I didn't follow the recipe exactly and had to add a lot of spices so I'm not giving it a star rating yet. Instead of salsa I used a can of Rotel tomatoes. I think this may have contributed to the blandness once the soup had simmered. I ended up adding a couple different kinds of chili powder, garlic powder, dried cilantro, salt, pepper, and lemon juice. We mixed in sour cream and crushed tortilla chips in our bowls and really enjoyed the finished product. I know I've made a soup recipe similar to this one before and used salsa and never needed to add all that other stuff - next time I'll make sure I have salsa in the fridge!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee June 30, 2009

Excellent soup! I made a few additions for flavor and personal preference: I added three chipotle chiles in adobo sauce along with some adobo sauce into the recipe and four garlic cloves (I got the idea from Black Beans in Chipotle Adobo Sauce - Black Beans in Chipotle Adobo Sauce). I was looking to match a soup we get at Whole Foods which has a thicker consistency, so I added about a tablespoon of cornstarch and a tablespoon of flour just before the soup was finished.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZJDad February 15, 2009

I really liked this soup! The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that it's not quite as thick as I personally like my black bean soup. I think next time I'll try adding another can of smooshed up black beans. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom February 05, 2009

Wow so easy and delicious I went out and bought more beans to make it again. Made it for my vegetarian daughter so I used vegetable broth instead of beef but otherwise stuck to the recipe. My meat loving husband ate 2 bowls! We sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top of our bowls rather than sour cream and when that ran out my husband used blue cheese which he said was delicious too! Like KC cooker said it's perfect for a cold day. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluvlucy January 22, 2009

This was so easy and so good! I used two cans of unseasoned black beans and one can of black beans with seasoning. I used medium salsa for more of a kick. Perfect to warm anyone up when it is cold outside!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish December 01, 2008

Delicious! I made it in the crockpot and then ate it a few days later. It really thickened up and tasted amazing! Kinda chiliesque! We topped it off with shredded colby-jack cheese and sour cream. This is a true keeper and sooooo easy to throw in the crock pot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
One Happy Mama October 25, 2008

Great, easy recipe! I used chicken broth instead of beef broth (personal preference) and a mild black bean-corn salsa. I also sauteed the onion with minced garlic and chopped green peppers before adding the broth. The dollop of sour cream and sprinkle of 4 cheese blend on top made an excellent presentation. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews October 19, 2008

AWESOME soup! Even my 2 and 3 year olds ate it up! My changes were...I added a can of fire roasted tomatoes w/green chilis, a can of stewed okra, corn and tomatoes, Used the juice from these two can instead of H2O. One of my three cans of Black Beans was Southwest style with Cumin and Chili seasonings already added. I used half a large red onion instead of the small reg onion. All in all this was Fast, Simple and Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassylittlelulu October 09, 2008

This soup is as delicious as it is quick and simple to prepare. Having all the listed ingredients on hand, I used 2 -14 oz cans of beef broth and added no water and I used about 1 1/4 cups of salsa. I will serve this soup this evening with shredded cheddar and chopped green onion to top. As easy and delicious as this soup is, I will definitely be making it again! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev July 10, 2008

Great black bean soup. Mine, however was like black bean stew. I added about 3 garlic cloves and a can of corn. I served it over rice and put a dollop of light sour cream and a guacamole. Yum....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J Bowen May 05, 2008
Black Bean Soup