46 Reviews

This recipe is an absolute winner! I added other ingredients as suggested by others (e.g., corn, garlic, celery, lime juice). I also substituted the beef broth for veggie broth. It is really good all by itself, however, the optional sour cream does kick up a notch. This is definitely one of my favorite soups. Thanks for the recipe, Wendy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamflacka January 15, 2012

Wow, for something so simple, this is seriously amazing! I followed the very good advice of the other reviewers and added the juice of one lime, fresh cilantro, a small can of chopped green chiles, little sea salt and fresh ground black pepper, and about a tsp of garlic powder. I also used a can of sweet corn and a can of refried black beans instead of mashing up a third can of beans myself. I love cheese but I prefer this soup without cheese, with just a drop of sour cream. I think the cheese would make it too rich. The texture and thickness was perfect - if you follow the recipe, adding corn starch is totally unnecessary. This soup is DELISH! Will definitely make it often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenleighd December 06, 2011

This is first recipe for soup that I actually liked. And of course I add some tabasco sauce to it. thanks for a good recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane S February 08, 2011

I have made this recipe for the last 2-3 years and it has become a winter staple in our Minnesota home. I often soak beans and use a whole 16 oz. bag. Otherwise, I use two cans black beans and one can refried black beans. I also add brown rice and frozen corn. This is my husband's absolute favorite...love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scottmonica.healy January 23, 2011

For being so simple, this is very yummy! You have to use a good quality salsa, though. I used 2 cups of broth and skipped the rest of the liquid (just my preference). I garnished with light sour cream, red onions and crumbled queso fresco. Yummmm! Thanx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 28, 2010

This recipe is fabulous. Most black bean soups have that gritty texture that my family doesn't like. This one was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irwinland March 28, 2010

Good base recipe. If you like some fight in your beans, used soaked rather than can beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uncle tim February 08, 2010

Could have been a little thicker...definitely needs medium or hot salsa and salt if you use homemade broth and beans like I did. Should have added some of the things that were listed by others.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crfleischer January 09, 2010

Omigosh! I am so glad I chose this recipe to try. OUTSTANDING! It truly deserves 10 stars. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katmeow52 January 06, 2010

This has become a base recipe for one of my most popular dishes. I've added carrots, red bellpeppers, celery, pinquito beans, sausage, and the kitchen sink. It's one of my son's favorites and has been since I made it this way originally. Thanks for a great staple!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniemelvin September 22, 2009
Black Bean Soup