Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2009

      This was good but I didn't follow the recipe exactly and had to add a lot of spices so I'm not giving it a star rating yet. Instead of salsa I used a can of Rotel tomatoes. I think this may have contributed to the blandness once the soup had simmered. I ended up adding a couple different kinds of chili powder, garlic powder, dried cilantro, salt, pepper, and lemon juice. We mixed in sour cream and crushed tortilla chips in our bowls and really enjoyed the finished product. I know I've made a soup recipe similar to this one before and used salsa and never needed to add all that other stuff - next time I'll make sure I have salsa in the fridge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Excellent soup! I made a few additions for flavor and personal preference: I added three chipotle chiles in adobo sauce along with some adobo sauce into the recipe and four garlic cloves (I got the idea from Black Beans in Chipotle Adobo Sauce - Black Beans in Chipotle Adobo Sauce). I was looking to match a soup we get at Whole Foods which has a thicker consistency, so I added about a tablespoon of cornstarch and a tablespoon of flour just before the soup was finished.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I really liked this soup! The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that it's not quite as thick as I personally like my black bean soup. I think next time I'll try adding another can of smooshed up black beans. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Wow so easy and delicious I went out and bought more beans to make it again. Made it for my vegetarian daughter so I used vegetable broth instead of beef but otherwise stuck to the recipe. My meat loving husband ate 2 bowls! We sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top of our bowls rather than sour cream and when that ran out my husband used blue cheese which he said was delicious too! Like KC cooker said it's perfect for a cold day. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This was so easy and so good! I used two cans of unseasoned black beans and one can of black beans with seasoning. I used medium salsa for more of a kick. Perfect to warm anyone up when it is cold outside!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Delicious! I made it in the crockpot and then ate it a few days later. It really thickened up and tasted amazing! Kinda chiliesque! We topped it off with shredded colby-jack cheese and sour cream. This is a true keeper and sooooo easy to throw in the crock pot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Great, easy recipe! I used chicken broth instead of beef broth (personal preference) and a mild black bean-corn salsa. I also sauteed the onion with minced garlic and chopped green peppers before adding the broth. The dollop of sour cream and sprinkle of 4 cheese blend on top made an excellent presentation. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      AWESOME soup! Even my 2 and 3 year olds ate it up! My changes were...I added a can of fire roasted tomatoes w/green chilis, a can of stewed okra, corn and tomatoes, Used the juice from these two can instead of H2O. One of my three cans of Black Beans was Southwest style with Cumin and Chili seasonings already added. I used half a large red onion instead of the small reg onion. All in all this was Fast, Simple and Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This soup is as delicious as it is quick and simple to prepare. Having all the listed ingredients on hand, I used 2 -14 oz cans of beef broth and added no water and I used about 1 1/4 cups of salsa. I will serve this soup this evening with shredded cheddar and chopped green onion to top. As easy and delicious as this soup is, I will definitely be making it again! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      Great black bean soup. Mine, however was like black bean stew. I added about 3 garlic cloves and a can of corn. I served it over rice and put a dollop of light sour cream and a guacamole. Yum....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This is very good and very easy. My husband asked for Black Bean Soup and I wanted something easy and quick. This is not only quick and easy, it is tasty. I made it exactly as the directions indicate and was very pleasantly surprised at how good it was. Thanks for posting it on the web.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      This recipe was fantastic. I followed it as written except I added a can of corn, drained, and shredded pork that I cooked overnight in the crockpot. Fantastic! I will be making this regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Surprisingly good for how simple it is. We made this exactly as posted and loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This is exactly fabulous. I love this recipe so much because it's easy to improvise from. I used chicken broth, not beef. My salsa was "Southwestern Mild" variety...which I ended up putting close to 2 cups in. I threw some frozen corn in as well, maybe a cup or so. Super easy, and delicious. The whole family loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Wow- I had no idea this easy soup would turn out so good. My family loved it. I added some fresh garlic (of course!) and added one can of creamed corn as suggested in another review. It was so easy and very tasty. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I made this the other night for my parents. They both absolutely loved it, as did I. I go up to their house every Sunday to make dinner and hang out. My dad said I should definitely make this again soon. I just spoke to my mom and she can't get enough of the leftovers. I really like how easy this was to make. I made a couple of changes. I doubled the recipe, and added three cloves of garlic. I first sauteed the onion and garlic and then added the rest of the ingredients. I served the bowls of soup with a dollop of sour cream and coarsely crushed tortilla chips on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      This was the first soup I ever made and was it great! As a vegetarian though, I used vegetable broth rather than beef and it was very yummy. This was simple to make, yummy to eat, and made plenty! I will definitely be making this again on a cold winter's day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      I rate this 5 stars. This replaces my Copy Cat recipe I had in my personal cookbook. I used one small can of El Pato Jalapeno Salsa. You're right, this is yummy! Toni in Colorado

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      SO EASY and delicious. Amazing how these few ingredients are so yummy. I used fresh salsa sold in my grocery store's produce section. When eating at a Mexican restaurant, I usually order black bean soup and this rivals any I've enjoyed. I will add this one to my recipe book to use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      Enjoyed this very much! Instead on onion I used 1 tsp. onion powder and did add 1 tsp. chili powder. I used my immersion blender to slightly puree. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (484 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 653.3
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    51%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1459.5 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 117.5 g
    39%
    Dietary Fiber 41.5 g
    166%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 44.0 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes