46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a fabulous base recipe (reason for four stars - it would have been a bit bland without my additions). I added a few things, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I subbed rabbit stock for beef (personal preference and it was what I had), added 1/4 t. cayenne, 1-2 t. cilantro, and 3 cloves of minced garlic. I used a good medium salsa, and the result was that this soup had quite a kick! Sour cream toned it down a tad, and I served it over sweet, whole wheat cornbread. The result? Perfection! Or nearly. I'd like to try it with fresh cilantro sometime, and another reviewer suggested lime juice... bet that would be yummier still! Oh, and I did add some cornstarch to it at the end, as I think I put more liquid in than was called for (I didn't really measure). Next time I'd like to throw in some frozen corn too. This one's definitely a keeper, if I'm already planning my next attempt. :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel April 25, 2011

I thought this recipe was phenomenal, however, I added a few extra things that I think add an awesome punch to this soup. I used 1 can refried beans instead of mashed black beans as per another reviewer, and to that I added key lime juice, fresh cilantro, chili powder and cayenne (We like the spice!), creamed corn and green chiles. To the onion and broth I added minced garlic. I served it with sour cream, shredded monterey jack cheese, fresh cilantro and crispy tortilla strips that I whipped up. It was AMAZING! I think the key lime juice adds a TON of flavor! Thanks for the basis of a great recipe!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fanatic of Life! October 04, 2007

This was a huge hit with everyone. I added fresh squeezed lime juice (1/2 lime), 1 tsp. cilantro, some frozen corn, and 2 cloves of garlic. Definitely go with medium salsa - hotter if you want some spice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dude Chef January 07, 2010

This tastes fantastic, and was easy to make. My only real modifications were adding some frozen corn to the mix, and using the crock pot to took it. The crock pot worked like a charm set to high for about four hours, with all the ingredients mixed in. Definitely use a medium or hot salsa, depending on your tastes; it benefits from the extra kick, even if you normally don't like things too spicy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.hough November 24, 2009

This is absolutely delicious & very simple! I added fresh garlic and put grated cheddar on top instead of sour cream. My husband loved it too so I will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraMac May 27, 2009

easy, delicious. My teenage boys even loved it. (One can of black beans I substituted a can of refried black beans to make it even quicker for me.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplecooker February 12, 2009

I've been searching for a recipe that turns out like Panera's Black Bean Soup - this is it! I used vegetable broth, and refried black beans for 1 can of the beans. The salsa I used was the fresh kind from Costco. I did have to add some cornstarch dissolved in water to make the soup thicken. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loralieva November 19, 2008

This was so easy and quick to make- very delicious :D I ended up using chicken broth instead of the beef broth and substituted one of the cans of black beans with refried black beans and everything thickened and turned out just nicely. I can only imagine how much better it would have tasted using some fresh salsa and adding in cilantro- mmmm.... 5/5

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
think_geeky September 20, 2007

A bit bland. As if you opened a can of black beans and grabbed a spoon. But, it's a great recipe to play with. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 March 16, 2014

Great, easy to fix soup. I topped with both the sour cream and cheddar and it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug October 27, 2013
Black Bean Soup