Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2011

      This is a fabulous base recipe (reason for four stars - it would have been a bit bland without my additions). I added a few things, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I subbed rabbit stock for beef (personal preference and it was what I had), added 1/4 t. cayenne, 1-2 t. cilantro, and 3 cloves of minced garlic. I used a good medium salsa, and the result was that this soup had quite a kick! Sour cream toned it down a tad, and I served it over sweet, whole wheat cornbread. The result? Perfection! Or nearly. I'd like to try it with fresh cilantro sometime, and another reviewer suggested lime juice... bet that would be yummier still! Oh, and I did add some cornstarch to it at the end, as I think I put more liquid in than was called for (I didn't really measure). Next time I'd like to throw in some frozen corn too. This one's definitely a keeper, if I'm already planning my next attempt. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      I thought this recipe was phenomenal, however, I added a few extra things that I think add an awesome punch to this soup. I used 1 can refried beans instead of mashed black beans as per another reviewer, and to that I added key lime juice, fresh cilantro, chili powder and cayenne (We like the spice!), creamed corn and green chiles. To the onion and broth I added minced garlic. I served it with sour cream, shredded monterey jack cheese, fresh cilantro and crispy tortilla strips that I whipped up. It was AMAZING! I think the key lime juice adds a TON of flavor! Thanks for the basis of a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This was a huge hit with everyone. I added fresh squeezed lime juice (1/2 lime), 1 tsp. cilantro, some frozen corn, and 2 cloves of garlic. Definitely go with medium salsa - hotter if you want some spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This tastes fantastic, and was easy to make. My only real modifications were adding some frozen corn to the mix, and using the crock pot to took it. The crock pot worked like a charm set to high for about four hours, with all the ingredients mixed in. Definitely use a medium or hot salsa, depending on your tastes; it benefits from the extra kick, even if you normally don't like things too spicy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      This is absolutely delicious & very simple! I added fresh garlic and put grated cheddar on top instead of sour cream. My husband loved it too so I will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      easy, delicious. My teenage boys even loved it. (One can of black beans I substituted a can of refried black beans to make it even quicker for me.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I've been searching for a recipe that turns out like Panera's Black Bean Soup - this is it! I used vegetable broth, and refried black beans for 1 can of the beans. The salsa I used was the fresh kind from Costco. I did have to add some cornstarch dissolved in water to make the soup thicken. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      This was so easy and quick to make- very delicious :D I ended up using chicken broth instead of the beef broth and substituted one of the cans of black beans with refried black beans and everything thickened and turned out just nicely. I can only imagine how much better it would have tasted using some fresh salsa and adding in cilantro- mmmm.... 5/5

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      A bit bland. As if you opened a can of black beans and grabbed a spoon. But, it's a great recipe to play with. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      Great, easy to fix soup. I topped with both the sour cream and cheddar and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This recipe is an absolute winner! I added other ingredients as suggested by others (e.g., corn, garlic, celery, lime juice). I also substituted the beef broth for veggie broth. It is really good all by itself, however, the optional sour cream does kick up a notch. This is definitely one of my favorite soups. Thanks for the recipe, Wendy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      Wow, for something so simple, this is seriously amazing! I followed the very good advice of the other reviewers and added the juice of one lime, fresh cilantro, a small can of chopped green chiles, little sea salt and fresh ground black pepper, and about a tsp of garlic powder. I also used a can of sweet corn and a can of refried black beans instead of mashing up a third can of beans myself. I love cheese but I prefer this soup without cheese, with just a drop of sour cream. I think the cheese would make it too rich. The texture and thickness was perfect - if you follow the recipe, adding corn starch is totally unnecessary. This soup is DELISH! Will definitely make it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      This is first recipe for soup that I actually liked. And of course I add some tabasco sauce to it. thanks for a good recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      I have made this recipe for the last 2-3 years and it has become a winter staple in our Minnesota home. I often soak beans and use a whole 16 oz. bag. Otherwise, I use two cans black beans and one can refried black beans. I also add brown rice and frozen corn. This is my husband's absolute favorite...love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      For being so simple, this is very yummy! You have to use a good quality salsa, though. I used 2 cups of broth and skipped the rest of the liquid (just my preference). I garnished with light sour cream, red onions and crumbled queso fresco. Yummmm! Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This recipe is fabulous. Most black bean soups have that gritty texture that my family doesn't like. This one was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Good base recipe. If you like some fight in your beans, used soaked rather than can beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Could have been a little thicker...definitely needs medium or hot salsa and salt if you use homemade broth and beans like I did. Should have added some of the things that were listed by others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Omigosh! I am so glad I chose this recipe to try. OUTSTANDING! It truly deserves 10 stars. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      This has become a base recipe for one of my most popular dishes. I've added carrots, red bellpeppers, celery, pinquito beans, sausage, and the kitchen sink. It's one of my son's favorites and has been since I made it this way originally. Thanks for a great staple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (484 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 653.3
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    51%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1459.5 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 117.5 g
    39%
    Dietary Fiber 41.5 g
    166%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 44.0 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes