Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2011

      I loved this soup! I had pinto beans that I had cooked earlier in the week, so I used those. I also added about 1/2 c corn to the mixture. I will make this often as it is economical and very satisfying. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      My husband loved the soup! I added a pinch of sugar to combat the tomato acid, but followed it to a T from there. I made cornbread, but my own personal preference would be Cuban bread to dip in the soup. Easy to make and easy on the waistline. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      This recipe was so simple and fast, but most importantly, it was delicious! Love it! I used a can of diced tomatoes with chiles in place of the salsa. I also added a little salt as my pot was a little bland. Will definitely make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      We liked this but it seemed more like a vegetarian chili. I think the salsa was overpowering. I would like to try it with less salsa and less chicken broth as I was hoping for a bit thicker soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      It doesn't get any better or easier than this ! My boys thought they hated black beans, but they were eating this up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      LOVED this!! I used Copycat Pace Picante Sauce for the salsa, and otherwise followed the recipe to a tee...in the end, though, I threw everything into my crockpot. It has been cooking on low for about 30 minutes, and I just sampled it. Fantastic! To everyone out there looking for an amazing black bean soup recipe, you need not look any further!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      This is such a delicious black bean soup full of flavor. I have made this several times, and it is a great source of protein and is wonderful on a cold day. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      This is the best soup! I haven't actually made it yet but enjoyed it with my family last week when someone else made it. it was so good! I topped mine with shredded cheese and sour cream while DH added crushed tortilla chips and the same toppings. even my four year old ate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      I wanted to have 4 side dish/appetizer size servings, so I used only 1 can of black beans (blended half in the processor) a whole can of fat free chicken broth, and 1/2 cup of chunky salsa. This has become my favorite black bean soup recipe, and I will make it over and over again! Next time, I hope to make it as written as the main course...star of the show! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      This was fantastic. I don't like a lot of spice, so I did ommit the pepper flakes, and did omit the yogurt. I added a chopped Red Bell Pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      We adore this recipe and make it a few times a month. We eliminate the broth for a thicker soup, put in about half the cumin and double the lime juice. We also use black bean and corn salsa and add about a half cup of corn. Then we serve it with some nonfat yogurt on top and lime tortilla chips for scooping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      OH! This was so awesome!! I happened to have all the ingredients on hand, so the soup just about made itself, it was so quick and easy. The only changes I made were "Southwestern" salsa (which contains corn in the recipe) and I added some leftover black beans and rice to finish them up. I am embarrassed to say that DH and I polished off the potful in a single session. This is so good! Thank you LMillerRN for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      This soup was very easy to make. There were no leftovers as all of my children asked for more--even my 2-year-old. The lime added a very fresh, unique flavor. We will make this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      This has become a staple in our household. I make this about once or twice a month, double the recipe and we have it for three days. I Like to keep it simmering for a few hours so it gets a little thicker, and I've omitted the chicken broth to expedite the process, and we eat this without spoons, but with tortilla chips and sour cream and make it a fantastic weeknight snack-like dinner. It's absolutely fantastic. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      I wish I could rate this higher. An easy, great tasting hearty soup. My sister took a sample and the recipe to the chef she works for. I highly recommend that if you like black bean soup this is the recipe for you. Like PanNan said look at the fat content and also look at the fibre in this. Thanks for a great recipe. MaryL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      I chose this recipe for Photoswap #5, and I couldn't be happier about the choice. I loved it. I made it exactly according to the directions, and it's perfect as is. I used a jar of On the Border salsa, which has a medium heat level. For those who don't care for spicy foods, I recommend you use a mild salsa, and perhaps reduce the red pepper flakes, because it is quite spicy, but the spice didn't overpower the wonderful flavor of this soup. And look at the low fat content! You'd never know it from the taste. I was amazed at the flavor this had using canned pantry items. Wonderful weeknight or lunch time treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (382 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.6
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    60%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 702.7 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 16.5 g
    66%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites