Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2011

      Wonderful soup. It was a hit with my 88 year old FIL. I did cut back on the spices for him a bit, but added a pince of chipotle chili to my own bowl. I added some celery & frozen corn, frozen black beans, some chicken broth, yellow & orange peppers as that was what I had, and then realized I was out of diced tomatoes so used a bit of V8 juice. I didn't puree any of it to thicken at the end as you can tell by the pictures. Leftovers are packaged and frozen for future lunches. Thanks for posting this recipe ratherbeswimmin, it has gone into my file of make again soups.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      My favorite BBS recipe! Very light. I make it in a pot to simmer on the stove and it still tastes delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      I found this recipe in a veggie slow cooker book I have and made several changes (omitted carrot, bay leaves and thyme, and added extra cumin and minced jalapeno). Cooked it on high for 4 hours in my crockpot, and it was still good! I also added 3 cups of cooked seasoned rice with peas toward the end of cooking for a heartier meal, and garnished with chopped cilantro. I love that I can vary the veggies based on what I have in my fridge. Next time I may try adding zucchini, celery, spinach, or corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      I love just about anything with black beans so this was great. I did it on the stove also. Served with sour cream and a mexican blend shredded cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      I actually only tasted a bite of this soup as I made it for another family, but they loved it and when my husband tried it he said it tasted "healthy but really good". :) I doubled the recipe with a few extra beans I had on hand and used lime instead of lemon and garnished with cilantro. Oh, and I chopped up a few cherry tomatoes I had in place of the canned tomatoes. I will have to make this again so our family can enjoy it too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      Oh my, this is really excellent. (Even my cats wouldn't leave the kitchen when it was cooking.) I did it on the stove and I added an extra can of black beans (just to use them up)and a dash of wine vinegar. Delicious, nutritious and calorie wise....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      Mmmm....this is good. The directions mention adding tomatoes, but there are none in the ingredient list. Since I don't like 'chunks' of tomatoes, I used my judgement and just added some tomato sauce. Next time I will cut back just a little on the cayenne, as I used the high end of the range, and that was a little too much for me.....my face is glowing red from the heat...lol. Also, since I don't like 'pasty' bean soup I did not do any thickening...I like it like this! thanks for a great lunch for me on this cold snowy day

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

      This soup was wonderful. I made a batch in the crockpot and froze it in individual portions for my lunches and for quick dinners. I made it as directed and used just a bit of cayenne, so the soup had a small bite, but that's how I like it. DH, assuming he gets to have some of this great soup, will add a lot more zing to his. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      Loved the flavor of this soup and it's sooo healthy. A great use of the crockpot, NurseDi. I removed some of the broth before thickening the soup and Dh topped his portion with thickened yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    14%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 18.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 16.3 g
    65%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites