Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Black Bean & Salsa Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean & Salsa Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2013

      I love this soup. It's so quick to make and has great flavor. I make my salsa using Mrs. Wages Classic Salsa Instant Mix and it gave the soup a little kick of heat. I topped mine with the sour cream and also with a little shredded cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      Definitely easy to make. The recipe rides on how good the quality of your salsa is. I added one chopped onion and garlic. Next time I would add some cilantro and a little cayenne pepper. I blended most of the soup but still left some chunkiness for texture. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      It had really good flavor and my family gobbled it up. However, I think that next time I make it I will only process about 1/2 the beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Made this tonight and it was SOOOO good. I didn't have any beef boulloin on hand so I used chicken broth instead and it was still great. I doubled the cans of black beans, used one cup of broth, 1 cup of chunky fresh salsa, and 1 tsp salsa. I served it with extra salsa on the top. Even my picky 3 and 4 year old sons loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      This is a really yummy soup that my whole family loves. I made a few adjustments for my family because we like it really thick. I used two cans of black beans, 1 cup of vegetable broth, and 1 cup of salsa. Oh, and 1 tsp of cumin. I served it with organic black tortilla chips. It was so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      Very tasty and easy. I'll be making this soup again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      Went back and forth on how to best rate this. Is it the best black bean soup I've ever had? Probably not. But it was certainly delicious and better than one would imagine given the ease in putting it together. When coming in after a late night in the office, this is a far more tasty option than a frozen dinner or cold cuts. I used a chipotle salsa so it was quite spicy and a little smoky as well. No need for those extra chilis. Also added a little extra water as I like soupy soups. A little nonfat sour cream and some scallions and I was one satisfied customer. Will certainly be making this often. Thanks EE. Update 2/07: I continue to make this often and have done some interesting variations based on this recipe. On a couple of occasions, I've started with can fat-free refried black beans and used a little more or less water. No processing time needed there. My other favorite addition is 1/2 to 1 cup frozen yellow corn along with a 1/4 chopped scallion. Yummo. Again, thanks echo for keeping me nourished and happy on some busy late nights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      It was cold and I was hungry for lunch. I used vegan vegetarian broth and it was super easy and fast to make. I left out the scallions but enjoyed the dollop of fat free sour cream. Loved the tang of the salsa. A yummy quick healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      This was very easy to put together and tasty. The soup was not as thick as I would have liked it, make sure to use a very thick and chunky salsa. Served with sour cream, cilantro, and tortilla chips. Also, adding kielbasa would be a good thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      Great soup. Very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean & Salsa Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.5
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    12%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 6.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 630.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 14.5 g
    58%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites