13 Reviews

This salad was very good. The next time I make it, I think I'll double the amount of dressing to give it z bit more zing. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janem123 January 19, 2011

Very good for a black bean salad I think! DD1 (5 years old) and DD2 (15 months) liked it as well. I made double the amount of dressing as another reviewer indicated they would do next time.I used freshly squeezed lemon juice, organic garlic cloves, sea salt, to taste, freshly cracked pepper, organic light tasting extra virgin olive oil, Eden black beans, organic tomatoes chopped to size, organic scallions, no bell pepper, double organic cilantro or more! Plus the rest of the ingredients. I will make this again the same way. Made for Healthy Choices Tag Game 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat March 08, 2013

This is a terrific recipe! I had one pound of home cooked black beans to use up, so I tripled the ingredients and increased the dressing x 6 (I used lime juice). It turned out awesome!! I did add a packet of stevia and a bit of agave syrup for a touch of sweetness. It was great as a filling for tortillas (I warmed a flour tortilla, put the bean mix inside with some Mexican cheese) and it made a great, fast meal. When it got down to the nibs, I cooked a small amount of miniature fusilli pasta and it made superb pasta salad! If you are going to use it for pasta salad, I would increase the dressing even further. It would also be great as a side dish or dip for tortilla chips. Little-wing, thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose May 12, 2011

Great side dish with Fajitas! I added a little chopped Mango and it was even more awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoneStar*Lori July 17, 2010

I chose this recipe on a whim. I needed a side dish and I wanted something with tomato, but something cold because it's SO HOT right now. I'm not a big fan of beans, but decided why not... why not indeed! This was a huge huge hit. Even my kids loved this. We did end up adding 3 tsp of lime on top of the lemon because we all felt lime tonight. We also used both cilantro and parsley. This was so good. Just so amazingly good. Even my kids ate it. We had it over some Peruvian Rice and... ahh... made for ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX June 30, 2008

YUMMY! I LOVE cumin and lemon in cold salads. I used grape tomatoes and cilantro. I also only used 1 can of beans but all else the full amount. Made for the ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed June 30, 2008

This was a yummy simple meal. I added thawed frozen corn to mine and ate it with some rice. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MC Baker June 29, 2008

We LOVED this salad like everyone else that reviewed it did. It was wonderful! We were a little adventurous and added plaintain and mango and some hot chili pepper. I had half a lemon and half a lime so I used both!! Also we I used cilantro rather than parsley as it's so traditional. OH! and we added some fresh corn from the market! Absolutely wonderful! ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassafrasnanc June 26, 2008

Our family LOVED this flavorful bean salad! Very healthy and the smell was making us ready to devour it. I love anything with fresh cilantro, so I used that instead of parsley. Next time I might add some green chilies to it, but tasted great as is also. Thanks Little Wing! Made for ZWT4 - Los Jefes de la Cocina!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam June 25, 2008

We loved this bean salad! I served it with shrimp and it made a nice summer time meal. I didn't have any cherry tomatoes so I had to sub with some canned tomatoes which had a different texture. I added a serrano chile for a bit of heat. Viva los Jefes! made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog June 22, 2008
Black Bean Salad